a Full Conversion MOD for "Amnesia: The Dark Descent" - "Welcome back Brian". You've returned to "Mental Memorial Hospital", and you must solve the mystery behind it! This thrilling horror mod will leave you at the edge of your seat! We've added a LOT of new elements to the game, including custom entities/static_objects, music, sounds, HUD elements, voice-acting, and MUCH MORE!

Review RSS Feed fuckthisusername says
10 fuckthisusername

Aug 24th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

it's awesome it's just the type of custom story i like long terrefying, with some jump scares and it has a really good gameplay i loved it :D

St.Member says
10 St.Member

May 21st, 2013 4 people agree 2 people don't

Nice sir,

This cs was so good..
I dont care what people said critically..

Make more cs.. :)

TheAmnesiaLover says
1 TheAmnesiaLover

Mar 24th, 2013 8 people agree 6 people don't

Downloaded it and it's not working!

☣Kaernk☣ says
7 ☣Kaernk☣

Feb 12th, 2013 8 people agree 6 people don't

The story line is intresting, but not very unique. Level design is the same. It's intresting, but could have been much better. It includes annoying lamps (I found like 30 flickering lamps, wich was annoying for my eyes), blue boxy fog in one of the bathrooms with a boxy, unrealistic water square on the floor and some honestly lame things, like the gas can part. Just putting a couple of gas cans on the floor is helping me in what way exactly? It also has a few bugs, glitches and very predictable scares. I'm normally scared, but I was not scared at all to be honest except for a few parts, like the monster chasing parts.

The technical part of the story is working just fine and the lenght and custom materials in it are all good.

In conclusion: It's very good and it's working great in overall, but I did expect much more from a Full Conversion. This is a regular custom story with some custom materials and voice actings for me. Not like a new game.

7/10 - Good

felipaogamer says
9 felipaogamer

Feb 17th, 2015 1 person agrees 0 people don't

excellent mod , knew mess with the psychological and cause plenty of unexpected scares, excellent customization of scenery and great additions objects. Throughout the entire game the weather is voltage. The story reminded me a little White Night and some parts of the TBM game ; the story is good , but it is not original , but still got me sastisfazer . A few notes found and the plot of understanding is by the voices of gameplay . Scenarios very well-crafted and detailed , I particularly like that very much . Another important aspect was the choices that can be made , a great mod

Kreekakon says
7 Kreekakon

Feb 10th, 2013 5 people agree 4 people don't

Mapping/Setting: For the most part I enjoyed this section quite a lot. There were a lot of brilliantly used set pieces, and most of it was structured very nicely. I especially like some of the sewer levels as they were done brilliantly in the mapping section.

Scares/Atmosphere: Sadly the actual scares is when this review might start taking a nose-dive. Many of the scares are jumpscares, and while several others are not, some just have cool concepts which are poorly executed in way that causes them to lose their intended purposes. Actual scares were definitely a weak point in the mod. There were a handful of decent ones though. Just more bad than good.

The atmosphere on the other hand was in my opinion done great. Not masterful, but it was done very good.

Storytelling: Unfortunately this is another low point of the mod. The whole mod is basically a "Wake up in an unknown place" except in a hospital. The story is largely absent in the mod, and you barely have any interactions with the plot, or any hints towards it. While I'd say the whole story is "resolved" at the end, the entire story was still extremely poorly executed in my opinion.

Gameplay/Puzzles: I like the addition of a few interesting gameplay mechanics such as the flashlight re-charging one. I do have to be puzzled at why there seems to be a few extra ones like a phone, and choice making at the start of the game, but later simply vanish. Did you think that they weren't worth it or something?

As for the puzzles, I think you should've given the player a bit more hints, and nudges as to where such things you need might be located so they aren't lost all the time.

Verdict: A lot of interesting settings, and new gameplay mechanics is brought down by confusing gameplay as well as a poor execution of story. 6.5/10

Full un-abridged review here: Frictionalgames.com

MODLOVER43 says
9 MODLOVER43

May 23rd, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

I did not expect something so good out of this, but with the exception of a somewhat confusing story, and some lag, this mod was a great combination of unique elements and scares. Although many of the scares were cheap, they are in context with the story and the atmosphere did a great job at building up to them so they do not bring down the score for me. The level design was also very good and there was a lot of custom content. Overall this was a very good, scary mod. The only thing that I thought could have made it better would be if the story was a bit less vague.

Humeba says
8 Humeba

Aug 10th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is my second time to play this story. I really liked the overall feel of it but it did lack some good scares. Very few of the monster encounters were scary but the ones that were really scred the crap out of me.

Sampo12 says
10 Sampo12

Jul 30th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

hi

Ratchet198 says
10 Ratchet198

Feb 23rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Good atmosphere, good music and sounds, everything is greatly done! Jumpscares are well placed in maps and in story, because Brian is MENTAL! Respect for you.

Community Rating

Average

8.2

100 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.