Life’s End is a Half-Life 1 mod I released in 2005. I’ve made this page for it now because some one else tried to take credit for my creation, and I want it clear that I am the guy behind it. Thanks to all those who stood up for me! Life’s End was my first release and quite a learning experience. It looks a little crude, and I’ve improved a hundredfold since then, but I’m still immensely proud of it ;-) In Life’s End you play as Luther Johnson, late to work on what will be the worst day of your life - because Luther works at Black Mesa. And it’s the day Gordon Freeman’s experiment goes wrong… You’ll visit new and familiar areas of Black Mesa, and go far beyond.

Review RSS Feed Wolfer255 says
10 Wolfer255

Aug 26th, 2012 6 people agree 0 people don't

It's always nice to see a perfect mod out there. And this is one of them.
There is absolutely nothing wrong with it.

The game has its own new character, set during the incident at black mesa. It's fun to see G-Man and Gordon Freeman pop-up in the story once in a while. And the story has a nice twist in the end.

The fighting is nice and balanced. The maps are easy to navigate and not too big and maze-like. The puzzles are simple and not to difficult (usually it's just a 'go fetch this' quest).

The game has some hilarious moments, caused by "gas-induced hallucinations", a wonderful parody on Star Trek and a good sense of humor overall.

The game is a bit on the short side, maybe 3-4 hours. But I feel it's the perfect length for this mod, if it were longer it would've dragged itself on with more random locations. If it were shorter the story would have been wrapped up to fast.

The AI works great, well as great as it can get with half life, there's still the one or two AI resets but it's not much of a problem.

Overall this mod works perfectly in what it does, it's still a simple expansion to the half-life universe and not some complicated overhaul which is bound to give problems.

But for what it is, this mod is an excellent choice to play if you want more of half-life, a good campaign or just a good laugh. 10/10 no doubt.

Briggsman says
10 Briggsman

Feb 15th, 2012 5 people agree 0 people don't

Lengthy and has excellent mapping

coolskitz says
9 coolskitz

Jan 1st, 2012 4 people agree 0 people don't

I loved this mod I only wish I discovered it sooner. It was quite entertaining after the first chapter, and I can't wait for times end
9/10 simply because nothing is ever perfect

I_am_skum says
10 I_am_skum

Jan 9th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

Utterly fantastic in every way. I have played at least a hundred other HL1 mods and, in IMO, this is the best one by far. Can't wait for the sequel.

DarkShift says
10 DarkShift

Aug 22nd, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Insane mod.

Auzie2k13 says
10 Auzie2k13

Aug 12th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

This was the first mod I've ever played, and the best one I've played. This is just simply amazing, everything about it. It's very original and contains a lot of humor. I love it and would recommend it to anybody that plays Half-Life. The idea of Luther Johnson is very creative. The storyline is well executed in this mod. It's just an overall awesome mod. Play it NOW.

poshgaloo says
10 poshgaloo

Jun 1st, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing mod! One of the very first mods that i played.
Pros:
Amazing moments! (Not gonna spoil)
Funny moments!
Great level design!
Overall, a great mod!
Cons:
NONE! IMO!

Alberto309 says
10 Alberto309

May 28th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod! I have downloaded it every time I change my computer! :P
10/10

Keep it up! :D

Captain_Hell_Knight says
10 Captain_Hell_Knight

Aug 14th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Very well-made mod, I say.

Cskiller1337 says
6 Cskiller1337

Dec 22nd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Hi!
today I'm going to teach you how to make "Life's End".

Take Half-Life and break it into small bits

Throw these small bits into a blendtec blender

Now take two or three microscopic bits of creativity from the developer's mind and throw them
in the blender with those half-life bits.

IT BLENDS.

Now let's take a sip of the slugde that came out of the blender

ew it does not tastes very well, ok let me see: it tastes like unoriginal and generic and bland

I think it would taste a lot better if the developer reduced the amount of bits of half-life
and incresed the size and amount of creativity bits.

This sludge actually tastes good in the parts where the crativity bits are, the crativity bits
are the three parts from the game (from the begginning and near the end) that actually looked
and felt original and were a lot different from the original half-life.

This is just my opinion and a suggestion.

Community Rating

Average

9.4

144 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.