Lambda Wars (formerly Half-Life 2: Wars) brings the struggle between the human resistance and their Combine overlords to a multiplayer real-time strategy setting. The Lambda Wars beta only requires Alien Swarm installed to play. It features 3 multiplayer game modes: Sandbox, Annihilation and Overrun, showcasing the Rebels and Combine playable factions and a full-fledged RTS interface and HUD. There is also a singleplayer tutorial and a handful of singleplayer missions.

Review RSS Feed Heroman117 says
10 Heroman117

Nov 27th, 2010 14 people agree 0 people don't

Very original, very fun, and i see a LOT of great potential for this mod in the long run.

SIR_halyavshik says
10 SIR_halyavshik

Mar 9th, 2011 12 people agree 1 person doesn't

pretty uniqe modification for a fps game
enough said

sasasa says
10 sasasa

May 28th, 2011 7 people agree 0 people don't

Played the Beta and i have to say this mod is pure great! Everything in this mod look very nice, impressed me alot even for a beta mod. Hope the future updates will make this mod even better, custom UI, layouts, settings, now Let's compare the graphics, this mod uses original and un-modified textures and models, meaning they're really high-quality, compared to Starcraft 2, this mod has some potential to beat that game, it just lack of some fancy shading that limited by Source

:) keep it up guys, great work

MikeTheS.Soldier says
10 MikeTheS.Soldier

Jan 2nd, 2011 7 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod with great expectations.

DragonStick says
10 DragonStick

Nov 23rd, 2010 6 people agree 0 people don't

Good

Vorlox says
6 Vorlox

Apr 24th, 2013 4 people agree 0 people don't

Being as honest as I can here, this game clearly takes ideas from some modern RTS games and that's okay, the best things in the world are copied. But unfortunately after 3 years of absence from the game, I'm still suffering from the same problems as I was back then, #1. The A.I are damnright unfair, they are too aggressive, more than 90% of the time their first move is to build 10 pistol units and rush to your base, before I've even got a barracks set up, forcing me to try my hardest to build more pistol units than the A.I, cause they'd wipe out my base before I can even capture a resource point, This is a big problem as it makes practicing a new RTS VERY difficult for new users, You can't rely on a glooming fan base to get you going, so ease of use should be your number 1 priority, #2 There are still no vehicles, none at all, even if you added vehicles, the maps seem to small to support them.
#3 Starcraft, Command and Conquer and Company of hero's are all different games for a reason, This mod basically squishes them all into one with a half life theme and it leads to some serious balancing issues as the mechanics of each game don't go together well, BUT it's not all bad, the sound assets are excellently used, the game retains a half life 2 theme throughout and never swings away from it, The unit's look fantastic and the graphics are solid/on par with HL2.

Overall this is a satisfying game to play, but It's plagued with balancing issues, Lack of content and broken A.I, The addition of a horde mode is nice, but never really does anything new and doesn't give me the "WoW" that I got when I first heard of it's announcement.

So, Is this worth a try? Yes, VERY YES. It's not great, but it's free and made by a small dev, with that in mind, this is a good title, but not something i'd play over C and C 3 or Starcraft 2.

cvernay says
10 cvernay

May 23rd, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

this mod is epic

Stuntcrab says
9 Stuntcrab

Dec 10th, 2010 3 people agree 0 people don't

Its a great mod, the entire mod is perfect, its like its own game. I can't imagine how you ever did this.

Firesprayer says
9 Firesprayer

Nov 27th, 2010 3 people agree 0 people don't

Good game overall, can use touch ups but since it is in a very old beta phase. I can't judge much.

bairdout says
10 bairdout

Jun 2nd, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Its make me feel like im playing halo wars

Community Rating

Average

9.3

1172 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.