Just another try to escape from the Black Mesa. Can the nameless scientist save himself with your help?

Review RSS Feed MrGnang says
10 MrGnang

Mar 18th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Excellent mod. It is short, but this works in its' favour as it results in a thrilling, tightly paced adventure. Although it throws you into the action straight away, it really helps hammer home the theme. Would love to see more!

Luigibros51 says
10 Luigibros51

Jan 25th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

A very awesome mod! Mapping is classic ans very detailled, difficulty is challenging, I liked the little exporation style, find a special item to continu... classic but effective.

The mod use the Blue Shift "engine" and not a lot of mod use it.

Awesome work!

RichardGreenlambda says
9 RichardGreenlambda

Dec 24th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Forgot voting xD 1 year ago.. :D

They should remove that the review field must be at least 150 characters in length thing.

150 150 150 150 150 150 150 150 150 150 150

Elitesse says
7 Elitesse

Jun 8th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

It was good, but quite hard sometimes. The mapping was too generic and the same for the whole mod (the usual Black Mesa Lab style), but it had some nice gameplay and with an excellent feature: you can collect Flashlights, Kevlar Vests, Batteries for powering up Blast Doors, Rusty Keys and stuff like that!

poshgaloo says
8 poshgaloo

Jun 6th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Not bad. It is a bit generic tho with the abrupt ending. Even if the ending is just text on a screen, it's better than having mod end so quickly. Otherwise, Hopelessness was pretty good. I like the Black Mesa atmosphere.

Crypt says
8 Crypt

Mar 13th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Nice puzzles and level design. There were a few issues (the keypad was annoying to use, some vents were awkward to get into), and the action is a bit difficult from the get-go, but overall very fun. I only wish the ending wasn't so abrupt.

VladGuardian says
10 VladGuardian

Feb 3rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very interesting athmosphere (that not coincide with Original).

TheUnbeholden says
8 TheUnbeholden

Dec 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very well made. Gives the sense that you are just a scientist trying to survive. Some small yet welcome puzzles in this, some really tough action, and boy do they throw you into the thick of it early on, just before getting a decent weapon.

+Level design is terrif, gives for a very banged up Black Mesa, damaged panels, cracks, doors that you don't have clearance for, vents, dead guards and scientists ect
+some puzzles
+well placed enemies and just enough ammo to be able to take on all enemies
+Medium length, a sad but rather abrupt... yet somewhat fitting ending.

This mod makes me want more, and that the creator may wish to continue this at some point.

killller150 says
9 killller150

Oct 18th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

The worst thing I can say about this is the ending. It's quite sudden and a bit sad. And watch out at the beginning. Get the pistol on the ground ASAP.

Besides that, it was challenging and enjoyable. I liked the Morse Code puzzle and just wish it was a bit longer.

HLWATCHER says
7 HLWATCHER

Oct 9th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Well, this was a middle mod. And the Overall felling is like there was a bundle of maps with some good-ok puzzles but the whole thing just felt too much narrowed, you know there were no big spaces at all.

Also we have a mediocre and totally disappointing end, I guess that's why is called "hopelessness", but all in all the concept feels poor in here.

You know there were some pretty annoying things in this mod. Like the very poor ammo you find and then you can really get some low, low health points just because the weapons are very few, and you can even turn on the impulse 101 cheat....

I guess this mod overall deserved a better ending though is nice to have some HL1 maps to play in this days where mod production is decreasing badly.

Community Rating

Average

8.2

33 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.