The prequel to the Half-Life mod called Rebellion.

Review RSS Feed flippedoutkyrii says
5 flippedoutkyrii

Aug 14th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Rather clunky level design, but this mod is rather old, so it's faults can be forgiven.

But is in enjoyable? That can vary from person to person. At times, playing this felt like a chore, with some interesting set pieces and even a few entertaining elements amongst long and sometimes confusing and downright challenging levels.

Give this a try for some good old fashioned Half-life Community content, but players expecting top-quality entertainment should stay clear.

kellyX says
5 kellyX

Mar 27th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

yeah

vozmonsoon says
9 vozmonsoon

Mar 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

When I originally decided to get this mod, I thought it looked promising despite the main brunt of the reviews. Now that I have played it, I can't help but differ in my opinion.

I'm currently playing the original Half-Life 1 at the same time as some of its mods. I agree that level design there is certainly more detailed- because the workers in Valve put all their effort into it. To expect a degree of quality from a public fan-modder rivalling that of what people come to expect from HL1 is unreasonable.
Honestly, there could have been a bit less of a linear path towards the end of HL:Vengeance, but for what it's wrth it's fine- in my opinion great.

The things like sparse ammunition were never a problem for me (medium difficulty), and if it feels like a drag to play it then it should be played as a rainy-day item, or something to do when you've got nothing else. To play it with high expectations is alright if you're willing to think along the lines "This mod isn't spectacular, but how well did it do what it set out to do?" Then appreciation for it comes easier, and it encourages further effort towards tailoring and perfecting future mods for the public.

This mod has offered to me everything I have come to expect from a Half-Life mod, and I give it a nine because of its result, save for the length of the cutscenes (which is a personal opinion).

TheUnbeholden says
5 TheUnbeholden

Jul 31st, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod is one of the more mediocre ones. At the beginning the warning signs already show. French announcer so you can’t understand whats going on, HEV suits in their compartments that I had to spend time trying to open.

It does have some nice rooms and tank testing grounds but the game did not make it clear where to go… which makes no sense considering things haven’t gone wrong yet! no aliens or grunts anywhere so if things aren’t blowing up or losing power than how is it possible that the mod could makes it so difficult to know where to go?

After the initial levels things head downwards fast, (no pun intended) you have to traverse a long cavern with blue lighting. But the level of details falls (which wasn’t that great to begin with) and you are forced through some simple levels (one nice outdoor scene) and fighting enemies with almost no ammunition. While I like the concept, they made ammunition way to sparse.

The only thing redeeming things about this is the huge rocket, and ending cinematic is a madness!!

poshgaloo says
6 poshgaloo

Jun 9th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

This was okay. It is just my pet peeve when there is no DIRECTIONS ON WHAT TO DO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

nitric says
8 nitric

Jun 2nd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very good mod, if you'd like another sequel for Hl1 than Hl2 you should download this. The reason this is not 10/10 is because of the level design that could be improveded...

Negan says
10 Negan

Mar 15th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

PAINAS

felipe1355 says
10 felipe1355

Feb 17th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

wow!!!!!!!
this game is good and cool
and is better

ThatMercenarySnake says
6 ThatMercenarySnake

Jan 22nd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

for 1999 we had the best FPS ever put out and many mods came from it..

Vengance is is well respected mod...you got a very good storyline and and the standard half life weapons

Excellent Mod

Underet says
9 Underet

Jan 16th, 2015

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

6.3

19 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.