You are Gordon Freeman... It was a normal working day. Scattered Xen aliens were hiding even in the rear corners of the Black Mesa research facility. It slowly return normality in everyday work. The old not been destroyed buildings have been modernized slowly. You return from a normal disposal order, as in parts of the institution the power goes out. Power generators to keep running on the main equipment and and your mission is to restore the energy supply. On the half way you notice more and more Xen returnes to Black Mesa and the military is back ... Uncover a new, exciting plot in the Half-Life universe!

Review RSS Feed poshgaloo says
5 poshgaloo

Jan 27th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod could have been so much better! The demo was pleasing, so why must the full mod itself be so mediocre? I found the maps to be boring, dark, and just uninspiring. Sorry but this mod gets a 5/10. The level design was a good idea, but it could have been executed in a better way.

OffyGhost says
6 OffyGhost

Sep 12th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Sorry, just 6 / 10. I think constructive criticism:
1) Most of the maps are optimized badly: placed in a large box, to avoid leaks.
2) hard difficulty in the shootings (in this game with a great slaughter of the enemies were never interested).
3) Uncomfortable places for changelevels (stuck in the wall more than once)
4) Annoying voice. Voice acting is repeated at the beginning of the level.

flippedoutkyrii says
7 flippedoutkyrii

Nov 18th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

At the moment, there is a lot to improve on.

While the levels are much better detailed, paced and scripted then the last version, there are many problems with the mod.

For starters, the number of enemies are overwhelming. Not to mention the ammo and medkit placements are nearly nonexistent. These problems make the mod VERY difficult even on easy settings for veteran players.

There's a lot of potential here, and I hope the next release amps up the number of ammo and medkit placements.

TheUnbeholden says
5 TheUnbeholden

Mar 19th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I felt alot of the areas where very organic, although most of them are open areas which contribute greatly to the common criticism of this mod being to ‘blocky’. I did feel some areas where a little to bare and apart from some game breaking glitches (like the stuck in wall syndrome with 2 of the level transitions and some other bugs), it was a largely average mod.
There wasn’t much challenge which could be solved with just a few more grunts… there weren’t any surprises with a dead easy fight with a gargantua (probably the easiest I’ve seen in any mod).
There is a noticeable lack of detail to each area which along with occasional blockiness is a shame considering I like the general areas you go through (like the dam part which I’ve never seen in a mod before).

It feels like I or we are expecting something great to come from new mods, where expecting most people to treat half-life as a starting ground for modding but that doesn’t give modders an excuse to release something without first learning from the great mods already available. I mean yes you learn from feedback but can’t up coming modders play a few good mods first? Or even learn something from Half-Life itself?… It’s one of the best games out there for a reason, not just for having a friendly map creator.

Episode 2 suffers from some of the previous problems but overall a much better project. There are assets disappearing because the maps have been badly optimised, but there are lots of new textures, songs, and overall more levels than before.

SADICO says
9 SADICO

Dec 22nd, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very good mod

5n1p3 says
8 5n1p3

Dec 14th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

The mapping ranges from either really nice and interesting to boring and blocky, and some of the areas are way to big and i could just glock snipe the enermies which isnt to fun. Scripted seqences were really well done. On one level the draw distance was set to default so that the level would draw as i ran this doesnt look to good and brings down an other wise really nice map. The mod didnt seem like it was tested all that much which could of been really helpful. over all though i did have fun enermy encounters were fun and ammo and health placement was just right. 8/10 :D

P.S the end fight was excellent :)

DoctorAmazing says
8 DoctorAmazing

Dec 10th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Some of the Mapping was somewhat blocky but overall it was pretty good.

23-down says
10 23-down

Dec 5th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod - a story that's slowly developing and will get continued in Episode2 & great mapping what could we ask more for?

The levels are decent and there are several NPC scripts and surprises waiting for the player..

A mod well worth playing.

SandvichKing says
6 SandvichKing

Jan 22nd, 2014

No review provided

Magic_Nipples says
8 Magic_Nipples

Jan 4th, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

7.1

48 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.