After the Black Mesa incident... Save your own skin from the military and creatures warping in from Xen.

Review RSS Feed Schinchan56798 says
10 Schinchan56798

Feb 21st, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

This mod is very fun! It has nice mapping and it is very fast paced! I highly recomend it.

roster312 says
10 roster312

Mar 20th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Nice

HosséAKM says
10 HosséAKM

Apr 27th, 2010 2 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

It was a good mod. It had a interesting story actually, also it was the first mod I played that had male scientist in his lab coat as principal character. What is more, I liked the references to Half-Life: Decay.
Overall, it was an excellent mod (ignore what I said at first) and deserves my 10 points!

flippedoutkyrii says
9 flippedoutkyrii

Jun 11th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

After having beaten HLE years ago, I was astounded to learn there was a sequal.

Both mods capture the essence of Black Mesa perfectly and offer plenty of thrills throughout each campaign and great level design, with the second spicing up the combat with higher-def models and custom features that bring the firefights to life.

The ending was a bit of a downer, but unexpected and of epic proportions (On Gold Source, anyway)

So if your crazy for more Black Mesa content then hold on, because the Escape series will give you a ride you won't soon forget :D

Freezepond says
8 Freezepond

Mar 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

It was a really fun mod. It really captured the elements that the first Half-Life games were all about. I liked how in the end, when you were waiting for the portal to work, a robot came in and started shooting. This was one of the few mods I have played that have a real ending boss, and one of the VERY few I have played where the bosses made me feel intimidated. I was trying to hide from it most of the time. The voice acting is hard to understand, but that is one of the few things that are wrong with this mod.

165200 says
8 165200

Feb 6th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

not bad))

poshgaloo says
8 poshgaloo

Jul 4th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Yeah, fun old school mod.

DoctorAmazing says
8 DoctorAmazing

Jan 2nd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Not perfect but pretty damn good.

TheUnbeholden says
7 TheUnbeholden

Oct 25th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Its a short fun ride through some good level design, fast paced action, some nice areas and a ending boss that you're not expecting.
The levels are nothing special in the beginning, very normal textures, some headcrabs and zombies... its only until the tram ride where things start looking end, before quickly going back to drab.
I would have liked for there to have been something more to the mod in terms of storyline or something amazing gameplay wise, but it doesn't try to be anything more then just what Half-Life in terms of gameplay just without the big battles and vent crawling.
Its patch adds some human grunts which is where some of the good fights come from.
and while its not original (uses the blue shift ending) it's decent enough and stays true to what HL was the majority of the time.

The second one ups the ante and delivers some of the best level design I've seen in mods, its goes straight to the action one of the advantages of being a sequel and provides unique ending which gets its idea from what happened at the end of Opposing Force. There are some great set pieces and big fights.
Of course there where some parts that lacked detail but they where very few and far between.

XF-Alien says
10 XF-Alien

Aug 22nd, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Cool mod. Nice mapping + interesting gameplay.

Community Rating

Average

8.5

69 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.