Story: Under certain radiation exposure this artifact opens a portal. Presumably the portal will lead to another artifact in the parallel world. Mission: Enter the portal and find the artifact in the parallel world. You will receive our new development, a suit that will allow you to safely get through the portal, and theoretically protect you from possible dangers in the parallel world. Once you have found the artifact, press this button on your suit and you will get teleported back to the Black Mesa laboratory.

Review RSS Feed Captain_Hell_Knight says
2 Captain_Hell_Knight

Dec 14th, 2013 7 people agree 0 people don't

Why did this mod got Greenlit on Steam? Seriously? There are tons of amazing mods out there, and this gets the spotlight?

Auzie2k13 says
2 Auzie2k13

Dec 29th, 2013 4 people agree 0 people don't

This has got to be one of the worst mods I've played yet. The level of creativity displayed in this mod amounts to zero. You play as Andrew Winner, which is ironic because this mod is anything but a winner. Infact, it's a complete miserable pile of garbage. Story? There is no story. You just click 'New Game' and a boring cinematic is supposed to give you little to no idea what is going on, leaving you to guess the rest. There isn't many custom things included, either, which makes me wonder how this mod manages to add up to a whole 65MB. The only redeeming quality is the custom textures, which are barely noticable. It isn't even redeeming when it comes to this rubbish, now that I think of it. The level design looks like it was done by a twelve year old, who just started using the Hammer Editor and threw together three poorly crafted maps and called it a mod. The weapons are just the default over-used HD models from Half-Life. There's a custom pistol, but you won't actually really use it. There's only one instance of voice acting in this mod, and it isn't the best either. The subtitles look like they were typed up by somebody who doesn't even actually know English, and most likely typed it up using a keyboard they found in the trash - because that's all this mod is, I'm afraid. I'll save your time and I won't even comment on anything else, especially the gameplay, because there isn't anything to comment about regarding such. It's just point and click shooting. Bland, is all I can say for this.

poshgaloo says
5 poshgaloo

Jun 7th, 2014 3 people agree 0 people don't

It's not good or bad, but why did Steam have to take this? Why didn't they take They Hunger, USS Darkstar, Sven Coop, Afraid of Monsters: DC, or CRY OF FEAR?!

smoke_th says
1 smoke_th

Jan 12th, 2014 3 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Really? you push this crap to steam?
I remember when back in the day, "spiritual successor" of half life were fully fleshed out episodes with 15+ maps, done with good level design at hand and tricky (sometimes) puzzles.
And what is this ♥♥♥♥? You run down the ship, you run back, you kill so called "boss". That's all. 8-10 minutes worth of time at max.
And you push this short-♥♥♥ map as "official" steam release, supported by trailer? Like seriously?
Hell even today Doom community has fully fleshed episodes, even with cutscenes, (thanks to Zdoom engines and their deviraives like Zandronum (ex Skulltag)), some with dialogue routine (thanks to Strife dialog system), and modded up the butt with custom graphics, weaponry and sometimes game mechanics. Those worth far more.
Why does those don't get blowed up steam release? Is it perhaps that there's such thing as humble-ness and authors don't want to ♥♥♥♥♥ themselves up by such mediocre means?
Now, don't get me wrong - if something done good and it has it's potential - i'm fine with that - Action Doom 2 was a fantastic total conversion, and it deserved that large fame and spotlights.
This thing does not.
Because Half-Life: before is a short, regular, mediocre and boring half life map which wrapped in stand-alone "build" with loud words like "spiritual successor".
Ha. haha. hahahahahahahahah. Funny.

P.S. come to think of it, i should probably revive my Total conversion idea of turning hl:s into contra force sequel, if steam gives such mediocre projects spotlight - maybe i have a good chance too...or maybe, just maybe I need to think about consequences of such time-waste and concentrate on delivering real entertainment products which have better features standing for them.

medve says
2 medve

Dec 4th, 2013 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

short and buggy

Parad0x_33 says
8 Parad0x_33

Nov 3rd, 2013 4 people agree 2 people don't

Very short mod, but still fun to play!

flippedoutkyrii says
3 flippedoutkyrii

Jun 7th, 2011 4 people agree 2 people don't

I would have given this a higher score if it was just one level.

Once I got down to the second level, I was driven to madness fighting the boss. Did it REALLY need to follow you at a million miles an hour?

It was just absurd fighting the boss since everytime I died I had to reload a save from the first level and watch a painfully long cut-scene before I got killed again D:

It's probably me just complaining, but I've never gotten so angry at a half-life mod before.

jeremydog says
6 jeremydog

May 17th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

funny review:

an absolutely amazing game! so much work has been put in (to the credits sequence) that it would have taken me 5 whole minutes to do it myself! this amazing mod (it's so amazing it should be standalone) features:

mega high-def models for 1 gun taken straight off of someone else's work!
no storyline!
a record of ONE map!
30+ hours campaign!
magic horizontally teleporting water!
the ability to get all the weapons within 5 minutes of playing!
pearfect speling!
a magic man with the abilities to: communicate words telepathically into your mind while talking, open futuristic boxes and address critical injuries just by poking, and teleport by loudly screaming!
and crashes the game for you!

this is a must have for anyone who has chronic bad decision making!

serious review:

not very good. i mean, its good-ish for a russian mod, but overall pretty bad. you get nearly all the weapons straight away, there is only one map, and no story. the download for the steam version is somehow 12x bigger than the moddb download. the boss requires little skill to defeat. you just go in circles and shoot it. and the credits look much more interesting than the game! i want to play the credits instead! i give it a six because it's not bad like some other mods, but still not very good. it's worth giving it a shot though, you might like it.

TheUnbeholden says
1 TheUnbeholden

Aug 11th, 2011 4 people agree 3 people don't

Very very short.
The ugliest lamest boss I've ever seen, a buggy trip mine that hard to destroy, this mod just looks like someone started out modding for the first time and somehow decided that this was worth releasing...
2 levels that have had barely any work done, and barely any testing for it.
The combat was, well what little of it there was, isn't worth mentioning.
As a ship this is possibly one of the most plain renditions I've seen.

gamefreak42 says
5 gamefreak42

May 26th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

too short

Community Rating

Average

5.9

93 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.