Caught by the remaining Combine, Gordon Freeman must escape to rescue his imprisoned rebel allies. Aided by the resourceful Dawn and her insurgents, you are sprung from captivity in order to spearhead a staged breakout from the notorious Port Halen Prison. But before you can get there you must loose your Combine pursuers and make your way through a wilderness long since overrun by the zombified. Welcome to the hour of Dawn… Written, designed, and developed by Rage Crew, based on Valve’s excellent design. Half Life 2: Dawn was developed as a student project on the IT-University of Copenhagen in 2006. It took us, a group of five game and level designers, around two months to get it all together, bringing you around one hour of game play. Enjoy! Download here!

Review RSS Feed mistercoughy says
9 mistercoughy

Nov 9th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Extremely well done.

Maverick_25 says
10 Maverick_25

Mar 19th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Short, but long for your average mod. I had no complaints, and the swamp/scary hospital scenes were amazing.

belbear says
1 belbear

Sep 27th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

it crashes on startup

grifoelmes says
10 grifoelmes

Sep 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

DAmn Short
Damn Easy
Damn Good
Dem maps
Dem lighting effects
Dem voice acting
c: <<3

TheDarkSecret says
7 TheDarkSecret

Aug 13th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very good surroundings.
Great atmosphere. no complaint on the Cast (sound)
Perhaps not the most original mod, But
basically cool :D
So Yes, I have to admit that this was much fun to play...

MoterCrozz says
7 MoterCrozz

Aug 6th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

While I enjoyed this mod untill the end, I feel as if the mod could benefit from some changes and patches.Allow me to clarify.

The mod seems to have problems with the types of resolutions resolutions.In order for it to work properly I had to put it on the lowest one available, otherwise it wouldn't start.Some sort of patch fixing this problem would be well appreciated.

I was pleased to see that there was voice acting in this mod albeit a little.But how much there was of it is beside the point, what matters is the quality.For the most part it seems that the voice actress has put a lot of effort into her performance.I liked how she acted.As for the redneck black guy, he wasn't that up to par, however I found his voice pretty amusing.

The level design is too predictable.You almost know what will attack you and when.It relies too much on massive hordes.And there is no build up.Normally in these types of mods/games you'd start out in an inclosed area, gradually passing through more wide places till you arrive at an arena.Half the mod is an arena with almost no build up.

I liked the second part of the mod more.It was done excellently.With a couple of twists I actually didn't see coming.Though, I doubt slow-motion is going to stop Gordon.

All and all I liked the mod: 7/10

pieisablessing2me says
5 pieisablessing2me

May 27th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

It was an OK mod, very short though. The best parts I would say, were at the opening, and during the sewers. A problem was that there was way to much ammo, and the voice acting's volume was to low. But it did have voice acting, and I have heard worse.

Royal.Arch says
7 Royal.Arch

Apr 14th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

flippedoutkyrii says
7 flippedoutkyrii

Nov 23rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Short and lacking anything that makes it stand out, Dawn is still a decent venture into the half-life world and has some nice locals and zombie combat to keep those looking for a decent challenge on harder settings something to eat up :)

mistercool38 says
5 mistercool38

Oct 3rd, 2012 0 people agree 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

At first the level design was extremely poor, then I was dumped on an island filled with zombies with an odd number of conveniently placed explosive barrels and traps, I could not find my way out and eventually went over one board only to find it took me to the edge of the map I could not get back, very dissapointing 5/10.

Community Rating

Average

7.5

161 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.