A Deus Ex advancement mod designed primarily for Immersive Sim enthusiasts and Deus Ex fans.

Review RSS Feed Marvin42 says
10 Marvin42

Apr 23rd, 2014 2 people agree 0 people don't

GMDX retouches and refines a large part of the game, gets rid of most of its annoyances and inconsistencies, and provides a fresh new experience for fans of the game (newcomers are still welcome). The mod's authors did not go through the levels with a sledgehammer - like Revision - or completely change the gameplay - see Shifter. It's still the same old Deus Ex but with hundreds of small changes.
GMDX's crowning achievement is probably the revamped skill system. To put it simple: Every skill is viable now (yes, even swimming!) and they are much better balanced. Not just by shifting a few numbers here and there but by changing how a skill impacts the gameplay.
How you pick your training has much more impact now and there are no must-have or dump skills anymore. Being untrained at lockpicks means you might as well throw them away now, same with melee. Swimming is important as a lot of useful stuff has been moved to underwater areas and respirators have been removed. Medicine is very viable as it increases your maximum health, also having an impact on if you really want to get Regeneration now or not. Rifles is not the be-all-end-all weapon skill anymore as they have been nerfed where other weapons improved. Again, not just by making weapon x deal 50% less damage, but by redistributing ammunition, adding new weapons, changing weapon behaviour and so on.
This style of design permeates throughout and the skill system is just one of many examples, the feature list speaks for itself.
Edit: About version 6.3: v5 had some problems with the level design, all of them have been addressed by now. Due to a number of additional improvements, especially to AI and camera, I'll upgrade the score to a 10.
Keep it up, and to the rest of the userbase: Download and play, you will not regret it.

phillon says
10 phillon

Apr 8th, 2014 2 people agree 0 people don't

I truly think this mod deserves a 10. What it does, it does exceptionally well. The mod makes a number of very cool changes to the base game (with HDTP). First is the overall increase of challenge via various mechanisms such as improved ai, less resources and some nice map alterations. Other very cool features include additional options for role playing at certain parts of the game. There are also conservative (for the sake of balance), but noticeable improvements (in my opinion) to various augmentations, weapons as well as skills. Cloaking ability has also been given to a few enemies, which is cool and makes it more realistic to me. Fights against augmented enemies have also been beefed up; again realistic and fitting with the game.

Overall GMDX is an excellent mod that adds quite a few new features, but nothing that detracts from the core DX experience. I highly recommend it.

WildcatPhoenix says
10 WildcatPhoenix

Aug 30th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

GMDX is a comprehensive "advancement" modification which aims to improve upon almost every aspect of the Deus Ex experience. Gameplay mechanics have been painstakingly tweaked and revised in order to provide far better balance between skills, augmentations, and expendable items. NPC and enemy AI has been altered to behave more realistically and challenge the player to a far greater degree than ever before. Meanwhile, each level has been retouched and/or expanded with a number of graphical, decorative, and architectural enhancements which add an extra layer of discovery for veteran DX players. When combined with the New Vision and HDTP mod packages, this “fresh coat of paint” does an outstanding job of remaining faithful to the original artistic vision of Deus Ex while improving the graphical fidelity of the game.

Augmentations, in particular, have been enormously improved. Health Regeneration and Ballistic Resistance no longer throw the difficulty curve out of balance, while the much maligned Aqualung and Microfibral Muscle systems are now significantly more useful and worthy of consideration. Meanwhile, a revamped skills system (which includes new abilities such as Stealth) yields far more variety and actually forces the player to think hard about how to allocate his or her XP.

There is no denying that GMDX is a far more challenging experience than the original game. The Hardcore difficulty mode in particular is a punishing experience which will test even the most experienced of DX experts. In almost every circumstance, however, I found that the increased difficulty forced me to think outside my familiar approaches to the game’s obstacles. This approach managed to breathe brand new life into a 14 year old classic, and I can honestly say that GMDX represents the definitive Deus Ex experience.

A must-play for DX newcomers and veterans alike.

thebronzemex says
9 thebronzemex

Aug 7th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I've been an avid Deus Ex fan since it came out in 2000. The problem with playing a game over numerous times, while it's still interesting and I'm still finding new things about it, it begins to lose it's challenge.

Thankfully, Cybernetic Pig's came along and has put some fresh air into the game with GMDX. Before I get into the main aim of the mod, I have to point out the simply fantastic skill system configuration that is provided. They are, frankly, the best I've ever seen in any Deus Ex mod. He's made some minor changes to what each skill actually does and makes all of them much more useful and has altered the cost of each skill. The mod, instead of replacing the swimming skill, actually makes it useful.

Now on to the increased challenge that the mod gives, and oh Jesus Christ in heaven does it provide one. Don't kid yourself people, this mod WILL kick your ***. I decided to jump right into the hardcore mode, which among other changes removes the ability to save at your on will. This, added with the improved AI and toughness will require players to use their head a lot more not only in terms of combat, but in the choices that the player will have to make. Veterans of the game will have to prepare to resort to tactics such as barricading using crates for example, among other unorthodox tactics. That being said, I cannot recommend this to newcomers of the game (which is the case with all mods, let's be honest.). This mod is aimed at people who are familiar with the game.

Cybernetic Pig has done a fantastic job at making the game extremely challenging, but fair at the same time; something that is very difficult to do. That said, it's not perfect; there are some instances where the enemies are overpowered (I'm looking at you, Grays.) but overall the difficulty balance is superb. Among other critiques is that the Dragon's Tooth's range is ridiculously long.

So if you're a Deus Ex veteran, get this mod. Now. Do it. Go.

Themcguireman says
10 Themcguireman

Dec 7th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod is great. The great attention to Deus Ex's gameplay design is the whole reason that this is done so well, and I gotta say, it made me replay Deus Ex twice already.

Plus, as a bonus, it comes with HDTP!

dady977 says
10 dady977

Dec 5th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing project with amazing modders, the work done on this piece of art is flawless, this makes the game more entertaining than it already it, such a perfection!

vardarac says
9 vardarac

Nov 29th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This litany of suggestions, I mean review, is for version 6.3. I haven't even played the whole thing so far and yet have been quite impressed.

Pros:
+ AI is definitely fiercer and not brick-stupid like most of original/Shifter DX
+ Difficulty is bumped up nicely, with ammo and upgrades more scattered
+ Mods to resource availability and difficulty increase the value of skill upgrades and make the game feel more rewarding
+ Terrific and appropriate powerups to nonlethal weapons like baton and crossbow
+ New secret areas and rewards for exploring are welcome and exciting additions in the spirit of the game

Cons:
- AI is still pretty dumb
- Stealth skill is useless, especially for seasoned players
- Hardcore still doesn't feel difficult enough, especially for seasoned players
- Occasional animation/AI quirks

The short: If you're coming from Shifter, it's more than worth a look. There is no excuse for not installing this if you've only played vanilla DX. The mod shows a lot of promise; I look forward to future development.

Suggestions:
- Death of unconscious npcs
- Bleeding out
- Rubber bullets
- In hardcore, allow a permadeath option (must restart from beginning if dead) and let guns be far more lethal to the player - one shot to the head or a vital organ from a pistol should be all it takes to put the player down
- Scrap the Stealth skill and let the player's skill determine that
- Change Swimming to Athletics to let large levels like Hong Kong or Liberty Island feel like less of a chore to traverse with a little training
- Decrease number of biocells and prod chargers
- Make AI smarter (setting traps for the player and doing away with action music except when they player can "see" or "hear" that he's being engaged would be a huge help; so would AI knowing that the player has "no place to go" once they've hidden behind a particular area)
- AI should react to unconscious bodies or random objects that they haven't seen before
- AI should react to moving doors and objects; their sounds and appearance
- Make AI more lethally accurate (and at range) with weapons
- Make AI react faster to player sightings and more curious (likely to investigate on a sighting if they haven't decided they are fighting someone)
- Make AI more sensitive and prone to confrontations (especially after firefights or seeing bodies); the sound of drawing weapons or objects should also make sounds they want to investigate
- Make AI much more mobile; the speed of NPCs like Hermann or Paul is terrific, but the AI being able to use ramps, ducks, ladders, and jumps would be outstanding
- AI should recognize things like freshly hit knives or throwing darts and react by investigating the area from which they appear to have been cast
- Stealth and AI: Contrast between player's appearance and rear environment, and appearance of accepted troops should count more than light/dark; how the player reacts to being noticed (running? that's suspicious), how the player moves (Oh, he's just walking toward something, like he's supposed to be here) and location/distance of being noticed should also affect this.
- Explosions should destroy darts and throwing knives; darts should probably not be able to set off a box of TNT
- Held TNT boxes, held bodies, and planted explosives should freak out NPCs like guns do
- Dropped bodies should make sounds
- Non-lethal gases should not alarm friendly NPCs (I had a contingent of UNATCO troops fill me full of lead for destroying a fire extinguisher with a baton).
- Troops, friend or foe, should not run wholesale into combat bots that are firing rockets and machine cannons at them
- Enemies that have been pepper sprayed should run away until they have cleared their eyes
- Thrown objects should have a nonlethal option; otherwise the MM aug is next to useless for nonlethal players
- Withdrawing from an account in one part of a hub should affect its balance in the others
- Stun prod, gas paralysis, or flinch should interrupt melee attacks

Zombiestubble says
10 Zombiestubble

Nov 15th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Hardcore mode: Hard as ****, but fun as hell.

Overall, the game adds a fresh take on Deus Ex. The features alone might not be enough to grab your attention, but the re-balance of weapons, limited use machines, and more intelligent AI does really add a lot of depth.

My only gripe with the mod is that it doesn't really improve the aiming mechanic, of the crosshair starting very large and then getting smaller after ten seconds. I wish that they had improved this, maybe with the inclusion of a "steady" button or a faster shrink.

Everything is absolutely top-notch though!

ElectricAntagonist says
10 ElectricAntagonist

Nov 13th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I just started replaying this game on v6.3. The improvements on v6.2 were great but this takes it to a whole new level. This game remains faithful to the original while improving on it's gameplay and AI in many ways. It adds new weapons like the USP, which has differences from the Regular Pistol. It also improves the Skill system and overall Stealth. It gives a much needed gameplay overhaul to what is my favourite game of all time and I can't thank the developer of this mod more.

Rob12772 says
10 Rob12772

Nov 10th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

A true, remastered edition of the original Deus Ex. From small things such as breakable, sensitive objects like in Human Revolution to significant, enhanced changes to the gameplay and graphics. Also, yes, lots of bugs and issues are fixed in this mod.

Community Rating

Average

9.5

33 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.