This mod is set in Games Workshop's, great Warhammer 40,000 ( 40k ) universe. Each map pits Imperial Space Marines against the Tyranid swarm, competing in a series of mission objectives, culminating in a battle to decide the fate of the planet. Latest scheduled play times and list of servers: steamcommunity.com/groups/exterminatusgame

Review RSS Feed Ownagemuffin says
9 Ownagemuffin

Aug 5th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Fun :D
Must play for any 40k fans

GabbaGandalf says
10 GabbaGandalf

Mar 4th, 2012 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

40k is epic
this mod needs to be suported by all means necesary

SnakeTheFox says
1 SnakeTheFox

Nov 24th, 2013 7 people agree 6 people don't

Decent mod, but an unhelpful community who only open their mouths to troll and talk **** like it's a competitive shooter. Makes MOBAs and Youtube comment sections look civil. Avoid.

I simply asked how to get ammo for the Termies stormbolter and was told "to quit acting like it's CoD", whatever that was supposed to mean. I proceeded to ask again whether I was supposed to just let myself die or if there was an ammo point or something, and didn't get an answer. Then a match later, as I was lost on a map, I was derisively told by the same person to cap a point. After telling him that I was 15 minutes into the game, and that he could spare me the trash talk, I was told again to "quit acting like it's CoD"; again, a confusing insult, but the irony being that unsolicited putdowns and trolling being exactly what I would expect from a Call of Duty match, not a game among 40k fans.

I received no advice, and considering the lack of any sort of tutorial or training mode, the only way for any new player to learn specifics is to play, or receive help. But not knowing what you're doing and then being chastised by a troll for it, is not a good first impression of a community.

Usually I'd write that off as a single bad apple not indicative of the whole, but when two other players including the lead developer jump up to defend and encourage that players volatile attitude, it just makes someone not want to even bother sticking around, just to endure more dickish behavior.

So I'll repeat what I said earlier to anyone reading this: avoid this mod, unless you want shitheel groupies at your throat for not having innate knowledge of the game before downloading it, and then have the mods creators defend them. There's no shortage of games out there more welcoming to new players.

Crighton says
10 Crighton

Jul 30th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Amazing mod! One of the few 40k fps mods out, a definite good time.

BlooDONER says
9 BlooDONER

May 7th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Nice mod ! Warhammer EPIC ! But very easely beta

Segeus says
10 Segeus

Apr 20th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Better than "Spacemarine"!11 Thank you guys for this mod (it's one of the best w40k games). Also I like, that you accept any advise of other players and never forget about team balance.

CptMold says
10 CptMold

Feb 8th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I don't care that it's still in beta. It works well, it plays well. It's honestly amazing... at first I questioned why it wasn't chaos vs space marines, but then again, that would be kind of generic. I mean, this way it's actually different, since you're instead fighting tyrannids, which are pretty much these dead space alien mega-insects.

At first I couldn't actually play the mod, but it turned out in the end that my SDK base 2007 was broken, and I just verified the files for the base to fix it. After that, the mod gave me no trouble.

I really wish more people played it, honestly. It's an amazing mod, but there aren't many servers running. On the bright side, it works with 2007 dedicated server, and it still has enough to be fun, but really, if you're thinking of getting it, just get it.

jmrem1 says
10 jmrem1

Jan 11th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

When i downloaded this mod, i was already hoping for an amazing experience and that is just what i got, the community small as it is at the present time, is friendly and helpful to myself and other new players.
the mod itself is well made and is a great portrayal of 40k warfare, i have had and will continue to have a great time playing this mod.

Deadpudding says
9 Deadpudding

Sep 28th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I hear a lot of good things about this but But all i got was hl2 exe has stopped working I have all the sorces but just didn't work for me

[Tox(sic)] says
9 [Tox(sic)]

Sep 21st, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

This mod really is great fun, a bit more variety in objectives and a more active player base would benefit this mod greatly. I played for about 2 hours with a group of 6, so i can only imagine how amazing a 16 vs 16 match would go!

Community Rating

Average

8.9

262 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.