Double Action is about diving, flipping, and sliding your way into 90’s action movie-inspired multiplayer mayhem. The game is completely free (no hats!), runs on Valve’s Source engine, and has been in development for about 3 years.

Review RSS Feed Res1 says
9 Res1

Feb 17th, 2014 4 people agree 0 people don't

I'm kinda... disturbed that there hasn't been a review as of yet. But here's one I guess.

This mod basically decided to bring the fun of games like Max Payne and Stranglehold into the magic of a first person multiplayer shooter and executes this surprisingly perfectly within a limited engine like Source.

Even with the lack of players, when using bots I can have an absolute blast for hours on end just flying around and blowing everything up with doves going everywhere.

Really the only problem I can say about this mod is just the depressing lack of a community, which I really don't understand.

thegregster101 says
10 thegregster101

Apr 8th, 2014 3 people agree 0 people don't

Its just awesome!

Springem says
10 Springem

Feb 18th, 2014 3 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best Source mod ever made, and one of the funniest multiplayer game i've ever played !

The_Black95 says
10 The_Black95

Aug 26th, 2014 2 people agree 0 people don't

like max payne with fun

Black_Stormy says
10 Black_Stormy

Apr 13th, 2014 2 people agree 0 people don't

Divan, shootan, jumpan, splodan. Liked it so much I joined the team. Get on it.

LordIheanacho says
10 LordIheanacho

Apr 13th, 2014 2 people agree 0 people don't

DOUBLE ACTION MOTHER *******!

WOOO!!!

Omnicr○n says
8 Omnicr○n

Aug 4th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great game! Having a ton of fun with just messing around shooting bots. haha

Zombie_Source™ says
1 Zombie_Source™

Dec 11th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Terrible max payne clone









The review field must be at least 150 characters in length.

pfannkuchen_gesicht says
6 pfannkuchen_gesicht

Nov 18th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod can't compare to The Specialists, yet, but it has great potential and I hope the developers steer this project in the right direction and create a great end product! For now I think there is a lot of work to do. The maps use mostly HL2 stock assets which make them far less stylized, also they don't look great in particular. The famous Matrix-inspired map, which is called Rooftops here is vastly different from what we've seen in The Specialists, it's missing one of the most iconic sections, like the main hall, also destructions of the pillars is missing. It was always fun to jump through there, shooting while strafing behind the pillars and seeing them getting destroyed. I hope the map gets a major face-lift and that the main hall is re-added again. Another thing that is missing is the great weapon selection and especially the weapon cusomization, it was basically among the best features there was and is what made The Specialists so great. The movement is pretty good already, sometimes the player model starts to stutter around for no apparent issue, but otherwise it works pretty well. Sometimes the jump direction is suboptimal but it's not bad, I feel though that sometimes the players collision volume is to big, sometimes you're sure you can jump through a window but you just can't make it.

Also, please bring back the power-up system.

The new game modes are pretty neat and really make the gameplay interesting and refreshing. Instead of just constantly shooting around, stunt jumping and all that, you actually have some objectives you can complete, like delivering a money-case or doing a race across the map. Really a neat idea to keep a game session fresh.

The style point system is interesting but doesn't seem too useful yet.

Only-Dave says
6 Only-Dave

Oct 13th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

its fun game but the shooting in this game is terrible. i play a lot of shooter and i am pretty good at it, but in this game its so broken the shooting.

Community Rating

Average

8.4

40 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.