Decay is the story of a human life. From the second a human being is born, they are in a perpetual state of Decay. This game explores that concept, taking you through a surreal version of our own world. Decay was made by a group of 5 students at Champlain College as an out of class project on their own time. It was an expirement in a lot of ways for the designer, writer, and artists. There are a few rough edges to be ironed out before the games actual release, but it will be along shortly for anyone to play.

Review RSS Feed Sirr_John says
9 Sirr_John

Jan 27th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Perfect mod. Perfect maps... everything in this game is perfect

But...

Don't we get old and die? Because the game finish in a work place and not in a cemitery (or something like that)

{KS69}shadowhunter says
10 {KS69}shadowhunter

Jul 20th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

very good mod

MrBaman says
10 MrBaman

Jul 4th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I loved this mod. It kind of makes me wonder what happens to fun overtime. You start out life and you are playing with toys and having fun. Then school comes and for many years you feel like you're in prison. Then it's time to get a job in order to get money, and for the rest of your life you will be working.

dudenic35 says
10 dudenic35

Jun 30th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is Probably one of the most Meaningful....Game i have ever played.

thedeadcamper says
7 thedeadcamper

Nov 14th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I'm not really sure why so many people are giving this a ten out of ten, but it was an okay game. It's one of those art games that focuses more on giving a message to the player over entertaining them. While the message it's telling is life-affirming and motivational, it comes on a little heavy handed for me in this game.

This is basically one of those 'walking' games, where the player has little else to do beyond walk from point A to B, every so often picking up an object and solving a puzzle. That's fine and all, but here it's kind of too short, like it's really eager to give the player that message it wants to tell.

While I think other games and mods handle this mechanic better than this one did (The Stanley Parable), this is at least short, and definitely not dreadful or boring to play (Dear Esther)

*Spoilers*

Decay deals with the abstracted story of someone's life, going from metaphorical birth to childhood to school to the prison of corporate life. I use the term 'prison' because the mod sort of presents life in that way, becoming less colorful, gray, and boxed in as the person goes through the stages in their life. There's a subtle genius there that I missed while playing, but partly because it's not as fun for the player to experience (the boxed in part)

I like the concept at play here, particularly the various fun quotes throughout ("ignorance is knowledge"), but on the whole it doesn't feel as polished as I would have liked. I think if the mod wasn't so quick to play through, or if it was a bit more challenging, the message would have had more impact. (Like the impact of the concrete that SHOULD have happened if you choose the suicide path)

Ma1ice says
1 Ma1ice

Oct 3rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Decay is hl1 mod, why you take this name?!

Xelosfff says
10 Xelosfff

Jul 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Simply a masterpiece.

Brilliantly portraice how fast the human life flys by as we just watch. I simply couldn't help but shed a tear while playing this masterpiece.

Thank you many times for making this. I would MUCH appreciate it if you'd have the courtecy to make another one like this just from a different perspective or so.

again: Thank you. 10/10 from me.

epicraul123 says
8 epicraul123

Jun 24th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This mod, is just surprinsingly good!
This might not have fully detailed maps or a fully dynamic experience of playing, it doesn't have any shooting or fighting with others enemys... it is peaceful and makes you explore the map you are at, following the story of life since you are doing your first steps and learning as a baby to work in a bored job where most of your freedom is lost.
It just make me think how growing is the biggest challenge you have and at the same time is impossible to avoid... but this also tells you that you still have a way of going a step back, i just like the way this mod explains you a half of your life you can even say "Is not just a mod..."

But well not every mod has a 100% of chance to be the best because a thing this is missing is the 3rd age, when you are old and you are near death and also should have had some atmospheric music to give it a better experience.

Still can recommend it to people! it doesn't matter is short, it has it's purpose.

Starvation says
10 Starvation

Jun 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

That was deep!

GioHAUS0n says
10 GioHAUS0n

Jun 5th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

WOW, Bizarre mods, EVE!

Community Rating

Average

8.4

128 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.