This mod continues the story where Half-Life 2 finished and offers one possible scenario. After the big explosion you fall to the ground and are very badly injured. Some people find you and take you home to a small village outside the city where the citadel was built. After 3 months you’re strong again and want to fight on. You have never seen Alyx or any of the others since the explosion. But you try to find new people that will fight with you against Breen. Nobody wants to help, some are afraid, others think that Breen has learned his lesson and won’t start again. It also seems that most of his organisation was lost in the explosion. Then you hear that along the coast Breen is starting again and trying to take control again. So you decide to go to the coast. There you take a little boat and go along the coast so the Combine won’t notice you coming.

Review RSS Feed xXdraky says
7 xXdraky

Sep 2nd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Similar to the mod "Strider Mountain", Coastline to Atmosphere struggles to entertain after playing the first few chapters of the game. While the beginning is very entertaining with dynamic combine fights and jeep chases, the rest of the game becomes mediocre as the same repetitive gameplay takes over. The environments, while appealing at first, start to become lackluster, and the gameplay on all fronts begins to fall short. This was also caused by very confusing, tedious, mission objectives, that proved more aggravating than fun. Despite all of its flaws, Coastline to Atmosphere is still a decent Half Life 2 mod, so long as you play it for its beginning. The devs should stick with the concept they started with "Strider Mountain" and recreate the same gameplay from the beginning of that mod into a full length game. That would seriously make the game a whole lot better, as I absolutely loved the first couple chapters of "Strider Mountain". In the end, good effort to the devs for making such lengthy mods, but you guys need to work on the quality of the entire experience, not just the beginning. Final verdict for Coastline to Atmosphere: 7.2/10

0b1der says
5 0b1der

Mar 15th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

this man should have waited until the episodes were released, then he can make a Half-Life 3 mod for Half-Life 2: Episode 2 using this games info

jcczika says
10 jcczika

Jan 20th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Loved this mod. Definitely one of my favorites.

Pro-Bones says
7 Pro-Bones

Sep 13th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Not Bad. Many moments liked.

fortismilites says
8 fortismilites

Sep 6th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good clean mod, no bugs fun to play.

DarkShift says
8 DarkShift

Aug 20th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very long mod with many many fights against countless headcrabs and combine, and an explosive final part.

The parts with the buggy were complete crap so I won't give it a 9, but it was still great.

Demolishun says
9 Demolishun

Apr 1st, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

If you could get the 360controller working with a newer Source engine then I will give 10/10.

Theevina says
9 Theevina

Mar 3rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Really varied and creative. However, like his other mods, it's much longer than your average. I don't know what else to say about it other than it was great.

ElitesamuraI26 says
10 ElitesamuraI26

Nov 7th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Got a good story but really short.

diediedie765 says
6 diediedie765

Jul 7th, 2011 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

I have to say, I wasn't very impressed with this. The story was uninteresting, the fact that I had to lug the jeep around was annoying, the writing was sub-par (I mean, seriously, nobody in the HL2 universe actually called G-Man "G-Man", so why would Gordon know?), and keycard missions are just boring.

However, it did get good during the hallucination sequence. I really enjoyed what you did for that part, and I think that if you guys put yourselves to it you could make an entire game out of that, and it would be glorious because it actually was creepy, unexpected and weird.

All-in-all, a sub-par little adventure with an above average section towards the end.

Community Rating

Average

7.6

187 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.