Alpha Project is a Battlefield 2 modification which goals are to bring back all the features that were left out in the retail game. The gameplay style of the mod is a mixture of arcade and realism and features shown on the first trailers and screenshots of Battlefield 2

Review RSS Feed Theta.Sigma says
9 Theta.Sigma

Aug 16th, 2011 35 people agree 4 people don't

This mod is a perfect little thing - it changes the game so that it is far more playable and enjoyable than vanilla BF2.

Proper damage and accuracy in this mod are nicely balanced so that you actually can kill things if you aim and shoot - in vanilla BF2, you're lucky if you can get 2 shots on an enemy with a rifle when prone, sometimes even the first flies off elsewhere; and when it takes 5-6 shots to bring an enemy down, it's horrific. This mod fixes this nicely; not so realistic that everyone is dying all the time, but balanced almost perfectly so that guns are deadly and accurate.

The 3D ironsights are a lovely touch, as are the mounted weapons on both vehicles and defensive emplacements - these are now actually USEFUL!

Only major thing I've picked up on so far is the UH60's minigun controls are painful; almost impossible to use.

If only more people played this - not a mod that changes your game too much, but much more like how vanilla BF2 should be!

Lt.Dann says
10 Lt.Dann

Sep 11th, 2011 27 people agree 5 people don't

The first version of this mod was kind of just a cluster of new and improved content but the second version blew my mind. The new version has added both new content and gameplay making this mod one of the funnest mods I've played! :)

MugiSNK says
10 MugiSNK

Aug 1st, 2011 20 people agree 2 people don't

This mod has almost everything I've always wished to have from Battlefield 2. Epic teamwork, a wide array of weapons, amazing sounds, new effects like the sandstorm, improved gameplay, this mod features it all.

I have only played it with bots yet, but I'm sure multiplayer will be even more fun!

Pro's:
-Great teamwork
-Super exciting (to me then)
-Right selection of weapons
-Epic sound effects
-You adapt more to the environment than vanilla BF2
-1p hands
-Pickup kits are nice
-Right selection of maps
-I could state some more, but I'm too lazy actually.

Con's
-At highest settings this mod forces me to run it in a window with my low/medium settings account. But this is a problem with almost every conversion mod.

Conclusion:
I feel the same amount of fun as playing BF2 for the first time.
This definitely belongs in my list of best BF2 mods, along with Project Reality and Forgotten Hope 2.

Sgt_Prof says
10 Sgt_Prof

Aug 1st, 2011 14 people agree 0 people don't

I could call it best arcade mod for BF2.

New vehicles, new maps, new HD textures and weapon customisation ? does any other mod could beat this ?

Gameplay is realy fun and unique. This bf2 improvement make me back to bf2 again !

This mod could have a little more improved animations and that's only one missing thing.

Thumbs up ! 10/10.

Blizzard. says
10 Blizzard.

Aug 1st, 2011 11 people agree 2 people don't

This is a new level of quality

h4wk99 says
10 h4wk99

Aug 1st, 2011 9 people agree 1 person doesn't

just amazingly good

EITY10 says
10 EITY10

Aug 1st, 2011 9 people agree 1 person doesn't

good work jones!no words!

[TZP]LoNer1 says
10 [TZP]LoNer1

Feb 22nd, 2012 8 people agree 1 person doesn't

The beta was stunning already, im sure the next version with the customisation will be even better! Im really glad with this mod! super stable, HQ content and fun gameplay! 10/10

one thing though, the snipers could have more of a pack-n-punch, but thats personal preferences, so its not making my rates down ;)

SpetsnazVDV says
9 SpetsnazVDV

Jan 13th, 2012 8 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

This mod is really great, awesome work!
Just wish that crosshairs were re-implemented

Kotov9 says
10 Kotov9

Jul 31st, 2011 6 people agree 0 people don't

This is gooood!! :D

Community Rating

Average

9.4

499 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.