The Protectors is a stand-alone mod of the game Warlords Battlecry 3 (i.e. it can be run without having the original game installed - 100% free full mod). It is an improved RTS/RPG game with new campaigns, quests, terrain, units, items, heroes, modding features and more. Beta versions available for download!

Review RSS Feed eSPee says
6 eSPee

Nov 29th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

I like the hero changes you made, but that's about it.

I really dislike the changes on the races. I dislike that some units are only accessible through the campaign. The races are too simple and have up to 5 units max.

The hero system is good, but the gameplay goes far beyond that.

I understand that the mod is not complete yet, but I dislike the way you are trying to balance the game and simplify the strategy part.

MCDT says
10 MCDT

Jan 11th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I've been a huge fan of Warlords Battlecry II and III. The protectors is a mod for WBC III which brings some nice ideas to the original game such as an improved hero leveling-system, balance changes (in the first skirmish I played to try this mod out, I ran into barbarian war hounds which were strong and pretty useful, compared to their weaksauce-version in WBC III) and the re-introduction of bronze and zinman-mode.

The new perk system brings an interesting twist to alter your playstyle. You can, for example, choose to produce units faster but for a higher cost (and vice versa).

I haven't tried the chapters yet, so I won't comment on that.

NaarReh says
10 NaarReh

Mar 10th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I think you guys doing great job. Just dont give up. I want to see version 1.0 and play it.

Windic says
3 Windic

Aug 21st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

-Less units.
-Less buildings.
-Imho worse balancing
-Remade heroes leveling makes them even more OP = You get to the point where you own everything with only hero even sooner.
-Boring chapters.
-What the hell was with campaign? I don't even know.
-Addtional options to heroes (like extrovert-introvert) not interesting

+Better descriptions.
+More items
+Spell trees

For me this mod is ruining original game rather then improving

LordofGilneas says
8 LordofGilneas

Aug 21st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

A promising mod, I'd rate more but moddb wouldn't let me, keep up the good work man. although I rather wish there was a custom char chapter, so you could play as whatever hero you wanted. Also, could you do something to make some of the classes more enticing? I feel like dragonslayer daemonhunter and inquisitor are rather wanting... maybe give em a special sphere of magic they alone can use? And maybe some more voice-banks for chars? They are mega ridiculous.

Darkenneko says
10 Darkenneko

Aug 10th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

The Protectors is a standalone mod/sequel to what I believe is one of the best RPG/RTS hybrids in a long time. It expands on the ideas and brings balance to all the different modes of play to the game. I'm looking forward to further releases and can only hope for the best. Thank You for all your hard work!

Extorias says
10 Extorias

Aug 8th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

The game is becoming more strategic it has lots of sides quests and items.

RAA! says
10 RAA!

Jul 15th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

No I don't want to write a review I just want to give it 10/10 because it is just that great!

k4vl4r says
7 k4vl4r

Jun 29th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is an epic game i ve been a big fan of..
I liked the idea of balancing the races, but come on man..no need to delete buildings or creatures! nerf or boost some..i hate the fact that i can no longer morph slayer knights to doom knights....this is the biggest drawback imo...coz i love the undead...
anyways.. its the best lvl up system and i strongly agree with this modification.
I enjoyed the chapters a lot!
Plz hurry up and give us the campaign...!
keep up the good work!

ps: give us back doom knights! :P

BlackeyeVuk says
10 BlackeyeVuk

May 2nd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I'll be damn. This is hidden jewel in sea of mods.

Community Rating

Average

9.2

27 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.