The Protectors is a stand-alone mod of the game Warlords Battlecry 3 (i.e. it can be run without having the original game installed - 100% free full mod). It is an improved RTS/RPG game with new campaigns, quests, terrain, units, items, heroes, modding features and more. Beta versions available for download!

Review RSS Feed MCDT says
10 MCDT

Jan 11th, 2014 3 people agree 0 people don't

I've been a huge fan of Warlords Battlecry II and III. The protectors is a mod for WBC III which brings some nice ideas to the original game such as an improved hero leveling-system, balance changes (in the first skirmish I played to try this mod out, I ran into barbarian war hounds which were strong and pretty useful, compared to their weaksauce-version in WBC III) and the re-introduction of bronze and zinman-mode.

The new perk system brings an interesting twist to alter your playstyle. You can, for example, choose to produce units faster but for a higher cost (and vice versa).

I haven't tried the chapters yet, so I won't comment on that.

eSPee says
8 eSPee

Nov 29th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

I like the changes you have made and the effort put in.

But I don't really like the ballance changes and the direction it has gone.

NaarReh says
10 NaarReh

Mar 10th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

I think you guys doing great job. Just dont give up. I want to see version 1.0 and play it.

zet0rz says
8 zet0rz

Aug 20th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

I like new heroes leveling sytem, but now they are too strong now.

LordKorolev says
10 LordKorolev

Aug 11th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

I speack English very bad, but this site whants me to write somthing...
The mod is very good thing. It is a future of Warlords Battlecry III.

TheGamer90 says
10 TheGamer90

Aug 5th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Looks awesome. Great work....

blasterophos says
10 blasterophos

Mar 12th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

.

arcanum18 says
9 arcanum18

Dec 3rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

There is still unfinished campaign and a lot of bugs, also - those three new races are poorly designed. Otherwise, nice innovations like blink now teleports you where you want, better AI, etc. This has great potential also so - good luck!

Windic says
3 Windic

Aug 21st, 2014 0 people agree 2 people don't

-Less units.
-Less buildings.
-Imho worse balancing
-Remade heroes leveling makes them even more OP = You get to the point where you own everything with only hero even sooner.
-Boring chapters.
-What the hell was with campaign? I don't even know.
-Addtional options to heroes (like extrovert-introvert) not interesting

+Better descriptions.
+More items
+Spell trees

For me this mod is ruining original game rather then improving

LordofGilneas says
8 LordofGilneas

Aug 21st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

A promising mod, I'd rate more but moddb wouldn't let me, keep up the good work man. although I rather wish there was a custom char chapter, so you could play as whatever hero you wanted. Also, could you do something to make some of the classes more enticing? I feel like dragonslayer daemonhunter and inquisitor are rather wanting... maybe give em a special sphere of magic they alone can use? And maybe some more voice-banks for chars? They are mega ridiculous.

Community Rating

Average

9.3

35 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.