The year is 2054 and your old friend Sam has been murdered in Seattle. You’ve been hired to find the killers and bring them to justice, one way or another. Soon you’ll be embroiled in a mystery that expands from missing organs, an antagonistic detective and biker gangs all the way up to the dynastic control of one of the largest Megacorps.

Review RSS Feed feillyne says
10 feillyne

Jul 27th, 2013 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

It is a brilliant indie game, at almost every angle.

Has two huge downsides though:
- a horrible save system (neither proper autosaving/checkpoint saving nor actual manual saving - you copy "autosaves" to do that) - you cannot save at any point only the start of an area
- a lack of voiceovers/voiceacting which would spice dialogues up greatly

Metalspy says
5 Metalspy

Aug 18th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

If the game did not suffer from game breaking bugs I would have rated it 6/10. Unfortunately I was forces to load a previously saved game because the game stopped responding to input or I couldn't pick up a mission-critical item.

Other reasons why I gave Shadowrun Returns only a 5/10, even though I mostly enjoyed the playthrough:

- Lacking in depth. Class and race choice don't seem to matter. Very little use for skills of which the player can expect to open up alternative possibilities.

- Extremely linear game, both in dialogue and 'physical' routes. Alternative routes are offered only once in the whole game. To use them the player needs to have drones with him/her in the party, else he/she still has only one route to follow. Because of the linearity the game feels more like an interactive story instead of a game in which the player's actions have impact on the world.

- The levels, both indoor and outdoor, feel very empty. The NPCs are all static and there is no ambient sound.

- 'Hard' difficulty, on which I played the game, is not hard at all. I did not die once and actually never came really close.

I just started playing the Steam workshop entry 'Shadowrun Unlimited' and from what I have read this fixes quite a few of these problems. The mods may add (higher quality) replayability, so that's a pro for the game as user generated content platform.

SashaDarko says
10 SashaDarko

Sep 10th, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

At the first time it was quite dissapointing because of the some decisions the developer made, lack of normal save system and several bugs (which is understandable when you making a game in such... engine like unity).
But playing more and finishing it I can say it's an amazing game with excellent atmosphere and writing. Totally different from previous Shadowruns though.
p.s. Jake's comeback was totally unexpected :)

Romanul says
10 Romanul

Jul 27th, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

I gave a high mark and I need to explain a few things. Firstly, the game has its shortcomings like the checkpoint save system. You have some RL things and you have to close the game? Too bad, you're going to lose everything you played since the last check point. Secondly, the story is short (12 hours tops) and linear. That's not something to be excited about. Thirdly, there are a lot of things that are missing: a map(both mini map and realm map), a quest center where you can choose different missions (no such freedom in Shadowrun Returns). Still the game has its strong points: the universe is great, it's practically bug free, the combat is done well, the portraits are beautiful and the matrix implementation is really good. Above all, the game is highly modable and it's likely we're going to have user generated campaigns to keep us busy. All these considered, it wouldn't justify such a high mark unless you consider the price. I preordered the game( not kickstarter) and for ~13$ I'm satisfied with what I got and I recommend it to other fellow gamers. Just make sure you read about this game cons, if they trouble you too much then it's better not to buy it.

InvalidSpacebar says
10 InvalidSpacebar

Jul 25th, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

One of the most phenomenal games I will ever play, I was hooked when I first saw the kickstarter for this. May not be some peoples ideal game, but for me this is perfect, I love Mitch for going back to Shadowrun after 2007 and not disappointing this time. Anyone who has played the PnP will greatly love this game, seeing as it is very accurate to the PnP even though you can never fully re-create something like that.

nijbu says
6 nijbu

Aug 19th, 2014

No review provided

gamifi.cc says
10 gamifi.cc

Jun 22nd, 2014

No review provided

AnTi90d says
9 AnTi90d

Jun 19th, 2014

No review provided

DEAD_FiSH says
10 DEAD_FiSH

Jun 12th, 2014

No review provided

Lugoffo says
8 Lugoffo

Mar 12th, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9

20 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.