Blade of Darkness holds true to the greatest of hack and slash legends, combining sorcery, knights, and swords with god forsaken enemies that deserve to have their arms slashed off with a broadsward. Blade of Darkness looked excellent in 2001, and still delivers its gore well today. Holding True to it's genre it offers modders both custom maps and scripts. Relevent Links Fansite Mod List Modding Community

Review RSS Feed Julez says
10 Julez

Nov 17th, 2010 5 people agree 0 people don't

Best game ever made imo, Hands down.

Cuthberth says
10 Cuthberth

Sep 19th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

this game brings you into a world of which never want to leave

Demfactory says
8 Demfactory

Jun 16th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers


Gameplay is good, but not the best. We fighting all the time slashing enemies like butter (making combos), but they can easily do the same with us.

Sad fact is, there is no other thing to do in the entire game, except solving simple puzzles, and ...slashing...

There is a plot, but honestly, after two levels of game I forgot, what is going on, slashing every enemy on my way. Nothing good...
Also NPCs seems like they not often appear in game. If they appear, They only say few words or they have nothing to say.

Graphics are nice even in these days. The effects of light and shadow are quite impressive. I wonder only, why developers also created the wonderful water effects, when game levels are simply empty. It's pity when we have only few miscellaneous objects on each level and a lot of crates, and other stuff that unnecessarily use phisics and consume memory.

Music is the best thing in game. Appear in right moments and builds the atmosphere. Simple and effective.

I should give 6 or 7 (bearing in mind the simple story and simple puzzles)but this is a slasher game, progenitor of eg. Dark Souls, so I do not expects too much from this type of game.

searinox010 says
10 searinox010

Apr 2nd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

a very cool game in his time, a good game for low-end users and lots of gore!

ragnar0627 says
10 ragnar0627

Oct 30th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Masterpiece of hack and slash

social_parasite says
10 social_parasite

Sep 10th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is an evergreen game! It deserves a remake!

Kaal979 says
8 Kaal979

Jul 27th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Secret tip first person melee
roleplay - absolute oldskool!

MatthiastheBloody says
10 MatthiastheBloody

Apr 21st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best fantasy games ever made. i found myself saying in my head on multiple occasions "holy **** this game is ******* awesome". play this game it's not one you will want to miss!

cibernetic9 says
10 cibernetic9

Feb 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Because yes.

SamVision says
1 SamVision

Jan 5th, 2013 0 people agree 2 people don't

Oh my god! This game is terrible. The controls are some of the worst I have ever experienced! Why does there need to be a lock-on feature? Why can't I just strafe left and right? Why don't any of the combos register? This game is borderline unplayable.

Community Rating

Average

9.5

57 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.