Salvation Prophecy is a space epic. Four warring factions battle over control of the known galaxy. Space stations and planet colonies endure constant assault. You begin your journey as a soldier recruit. Through intense planet and space battle, your combat skills will be put to a grim test. Success is rewarded with powerful skills, combat gear, and ship upgrades, and you may rise in rank to become commander of your faction. Lurking in the dark recesses of the universe is a threat foreseen by an apocalyptic prophecy. A danger far greater than mankind's endless battles. The pursuit of the prophecy leads through distant alien worlds with deadly creatures and untold secrets. A chance for redemption, if only we find our way through that dark hour.

Review RSS Feed Ysengrim says
9 Ysengrim

Aug 3rd, 2012 8 people agree 0 people don't

I've played through the game once, and I have to say it really exceeded my expectations. Although the game suffers a bit from repetition, I feel like it's really got a good tempo; let me explain what I mean by tempo. There's always something to do, and you're (until near the end) always getting stronger in some way. The best way I could describe it is to draw comparisons to Pirates!.

New mission types are introduced at a reasonable pace and keep the game interesting. Maybe you'll start out doing a planetary invasion, and when you get back "Quick! Scramble the fighters" because an enemy fleet has jumped in! Then after fighting off the invaders you get a mission to attack their space station. And then you take a moment to upgrade your skills. And then after that, you get a mission to explore a new wormhole. And when you get back, you decide to go bounty hunting. And then you decide to upgrade a few of your weapons. And so on.

There's always something to do. But the best part? You're never really FORCED (until near the end) to do any one particular thing. Don't like space missions? Tell your commander you're not interested, and then wait for a planetary invasion mission to come up.

Plus, there's lots of nice little details. When you walk around a base, you can see the soldiers wandering around, see colony and space station statistics on the monitors in the Mission Control room, and you can watch fighters actually scramble when invasion fleets are detected.

On the down side, the galaxy is fairly small and one space battle is much like another. The plot is mostly there to keep things moving along. Planets, although sometimes pretty (especially the first wormhole one), always feel rather empty.

Really, the TL;DR of it is that if you liked Pirates! and are a fan of sci-fi games then you'll definitely enjoy this solid game. Otherwise, you might be turned off by the repetition (especially by the time you reach commander) and the bare bones plot.

Ilevus says
9 Ilevus

Aug 5th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

After hearing of and trying the demo, I knew I HAD to get this game. And after a complete playthrough, while far from perfect, this game did exceed my already high expectations.

By far the best feature of the game is increase in gameplay as the game progresses. Without giving away too many spoilers, the continous rise in rank of the player opens up new game mechanics that keep the game fresh and interesting, not to mention the way the overall story greatly effects how you play the game (particularly towards the end).

Combat itself is rather enjoyable, but can get repetitive after some time, although progression through ranks does allow for more vaired gameplay as the game progresses.

In terms of space and space combat, THIS is the ideal way to do it. Large, visually stunning space battles, amazing space backgrounds and itneresting and varied-looking planets. The explorable planets in other galaxies were especially fun to play and explore through and had a very (for the lack of a better word) alien feel to them, something which is ironically lacking in most sci-fi games.

The four factions themselves are quite interesting and unique, if only in appearance and background. While they have some slight variation in weapons and equipment, they all more or less fight the sameway, while I was expecting more vaired fighting styles for each faction. There are some unique aspects though, such as the Salvation's Reflection Shield and the Wyr's turret building.

The overall plot, while original, does feel a little simple at times. Iit does seem like it needs to be fleshed out a bit more, rather than just serving as the background to the gameplay. The story does seem too short and since that there is no option to continue once finished, that can be a problem. The game feels like there needs to be more in it; like the game has not realised its true potential.

Overall although, the game is great for what it is, even though it feels like there could be more. 9/10

dirtbag007 says
10 dirtbag007

Aug 2nd, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Superb gameplay, good graphics (especially for an indie game) and a good storyline.

I'd surely recommend this game!

phatmillips says
9 phatmillips

Feb 26th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This game is fantastic, more or less a persistant universe where you take on missions to advance your stake in the galaxy. Very Risk and Civilization like, great source of upgrades and both ground and space combat. Well worth it

drakcothedark says
10 drakcothedark

Feb 7th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Just finished this game and I must say, I really love it!
Story had a very nice flow and pacing to it, (Along with great faction backgrounds. For the Wry, the Hitchhikers Guide reference was genius!) You never really feel like you're just "killing time" til the next Intel report. (Always advancing towards something.) Getting rune powerups was very badass, as well as the challenges to get them. (Loved the riddles!) I can tell the makers wanted to do much more with this game, but the pieces that are there, are very well implemented, enjoyable, and fit together nicely. (Becoming faction leader doesn’t feel gimmicky, i.e. Spore.)

But above all, the way the story unfolds it what sold it for me. From the start your perception of the universe is confined to just one space station, til the end when you have transcended time and space itself. When the aliens invade, you watch in silent horror as the enemies you once fought get cut down, one by one. (Conveys a feeling of helplessness without being frustrating very well.)

All this to say, thanks for the love you put into Salvation Prophecy Jabberwocky (And everyone else)! And I would love to see a sequel of sorts one day!

theflamingskunk says
10 theflamingskunk

Dec 19th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Holy crap is this game amazing. Features an amazing breadth of Gameplay everywhere from Troop missions, spaceships to Dinosaurs! What else can you ask for.

elijah520 says
10 elijah520

Aug 5th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

awsome but i hope the devs add new stuff to it like updates that add new weopons,fractions,bases ect but besides that its a good game keep working on it devs plese

hemebond says
5 hemebond

Oct 13th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Overall a fun game. Glad I bought it.

The good:
* Some very good ideas.
* Art assets are nicely done.
* The progression and change in available gameplay is nice.
* Story is okay.

The not so good:
* Slow and unnecessary interactions and activities between real action.
* Not all art assets are appropriate for the entities they're representing.
* Insufficient feedback during FPS combat.
* Not all keys can be bound within the game.
* Poor performance in some areas.
* UI is cumbersome for most tasks.
* The various gameplay modes (FPS, RTS, space sim) do not feel finished or polished.
* Only a 32-bit executable.

ddabrahim says
5 ddabrahim

Oct 9th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I have played only the demo. Personally I found very boring the battle ground, the fight on the battle ground, also the space. Everything is boring so far. The visuals also including animations very poor. I rate this 5\10 only because the idea behind the game is great and as far as I know, only one person developing the game which is laudable. A bigger development team with bigger budget could make this game epic. The developer should hire some people, make something playable or even a pre rendered animation would do and start a quickstarter project. Once the game is playable, release an alpha version on steam. Maybe also worth to use a different engine that could fast things up, for exampe Leadwerks, UDK, Unity.

Xovan says
10 Xovan

Jun 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This is a fantastic game! I'm currently enjoying a game as the droid unity. While I'm not very far yet I'm already collecting runes and have gained rank and skill points quickly. Now I've found the game to be really easy early on. As time progresses the battles become far more intense. Lately I've been doing invasions where I have to destroy big ol mechs, these bombers that if I don't remove early always cause trouble, buildings shooting big ol lasers at me and my guys, and worst of all I'm losing guys left and right because the enemy is just so good at obliterating them. Perhaps they just suck now. I remember when I started off that I could be a dumb noob and the game would be forgiving of me, now I'm dealing with being one of two survivors (if any others) of most difficult battles. However the feeling of being a war hero by using a tech level 5 rocket to blow several baddies to smithereens and stopping time to claw the remainder to death is just too fun. The space battles are awesome. It is definitely worth buying this game just to fly in space. I enjoy the thrill of unstable wormholes and jumping around the area dodging the plasma arcs as I go. I get to have so much fun chasing down an enemy who has only 20% health left only to see him start recharging and having to fight his sheilds back down and finishing him with a missle. Or better yet closing in real tight with him and using my emp to drop his sheilds. I have to say, this game is not realistic in the slightest. But to hell with that I'm having too much fun blowing **** up and feeling awesome. I don't need multiplayer for such a game. It honestly wouldn't add much to what is there. The battles are great because *I* am the hero. I'm the one getting all the medals and honors. It really is a great game and worth $20. If you want the best damn space battles you've had in a long while and feel a need to blow crap up while your buddies are dropping like flies against a ruthless enemy this is your game.

Community Rating

Average

8.7

90 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.