Conquer, rule and manipulate the Roman Empire with the ultimate goal of being declared as the "Imperator" of Rome. Set in a time when the mighty Roman Empire emerged to conquer the known world against powerful enemies, when gladiators fought to a bloody death in the Coliseum; when Spartacus defied the might of the empire; when Hannibal led his invincible army and his war elephants across the Alps to strike fear into the very heart of Rome itself; and when Julius Caesar finally smashed the Barbarian Gauls. This was a time of brutal confrontation between civilisation and barbarism, and of civil war as the ancient world's only superpower turned on itself.

RSS feed Reviews  (0 - 10 of 262)

The game that made the TW saga a classic.

For someone that played a lot Shogun TW like me, playing RTW for the first time was absolutely stunning.
The vanilla game is superbly done. The battles, the strategy map, visual & sound effects, physics.... you name it.
What made this game even greater were it's excellent mods.

It's greatest flaw, however, was shared by it's successor, M2TW and it's expansion Kingdoms: The lack of naval battles on the battlemap. Which came only when Empires TW came out.

A literally EPIC classic.

Enjoyable for a short duration at playing Napoleonic period battles; however lacks graphics, a campaign and naturally quickly runs thin of entertainment,,, but still a decent bad game
Simply divine as one if not the best strategy Total War game ever made. Tons of exciting things and events to do, graphics a little out dated and inaccurate; however still a good game to this day.

Graphics (8.1/10)
Game play (8.2/10)
Narrative Story Telling: (7.1/10)
Maps: (4.9/10)
Skins (7.0/10)
Entertainment (9.3/10)
Modder's Efforts N/A
Historical Accuracy: (7.1/10)
Technical (6.9/10)

Overall result: 9.0/10 = 90% on DaggerClassStudio's Game Mod Rating
= An Excellent Game

~Christopher Carlisle James

Amazing RTS game which allows control of grand armies. Good economy and a wide variety of units allowing the player to have a great gaming experience.

Old is gold!

The best example of the perfect RTS/RTS mix game. A prime example of how a good game should be.

Great game, especially the campaign, which is turn-based with real-time tactical battles.

Squalor was my only problem really. Late campaign required some very strange actions to deal with it, such as leaving settlements to allow a rebellion, then killing the populace..

this is a very amasing game for is time since today i have play this game last year and that very nice like the first year of this game this is a very a very nice game :D

The game is complex, even if it is a bit dated - I've played for days on end on vacation, and though it may lull for a few turns, I have yet to be bored by it. I truly recommend it you like both RTS and turn based play

This is one of the best Total War games ever created. Its campaign and battle mechanics are great. You can build armies and cities and control thousands of men fight in battles. Each faction has a unique unit roster. However, its graphics and AI lacks. The AI in campaign can attack you for no reason and diplomacy does not work well. With overhaul mods, more factions and units are added and this game become amazing and can played for hundreds of hours.

This game is really good. It mixes tactical game play without leaving out those gamers who just like to fight with huge armies. One of my favorite features in this game is how the game gives perks to your character depending on how well, or poorly you play with them in battle. The game does well in many areas which makes it such a success. Very easy to learn tutorial, the army verse army engagements are great, understanding how to use military tactics matters/helps and is taught, Your army gains experience as well as your general. What i find upsetting is the diplomacy is unrealistically difficult. Politics is near impossible if your into that type of game style of play. I'm not talking about the Roman Senate.

Community Rating

Average

9.6

257 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.