Across the continents of Auraxis, thousands of players come together in enormous battles to win control of critical territories and key resources for their Empire. With an extensive skill tree and free-form class-based system, players are able to customize their soldier, weapons and vehicles to match their play-style, as well as the needs of their squad, outfit or Empire. Battles can last for days or weeks, so players need to build alliances and specialized combat outfits to take on long-term strategic and tactical initiatives. With aircraft and ground vehicles, as well as infantry combat, the battles are larger and more intense than ever before.

Review RSS Feed Admiral_Skeybar says
7 Admiral_Skeybar

May 25th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

I'm going to go right ahead and say that this game is good but not great. Though normally when I say a game is good, it's already great by the definitions of an average gamer.

I did a review on this game earlier this year after it had been released, it can be found on my YouTube channel but don't bother since it's not really valid anymore.
Planetside 2 has changed a lot since it came out and sometimes for the worse. Overall improvements have been made but there are still little balance problems and graphical features that SOE seems to keep tweaking over and over again.

Right now (October 2013) the game is relatively stable once more though it should be mentioned I still get the occasional app-crash.

The general impressions this game may give are that the graphics are great, performance is an issue no matter how good your PC is and the gameplay varies between overly competitive and simply farming for XP. The fun to be had in this game lies somewhere in between those two.

On the subject of micro-transactions, is this game pay-to-win? Yes and no, if you're a dedicated player you will most likely find yourself spending roughly the cost of your average AAA title on in-game currency. After that there is no need to spend much more. Which I deem to be OK.

My current score for this game is 7.5/10 but this is only because I have played the game for over three hundred hours and I get what the developers are trying to do even though it's not quite there yet.

Kastrenzo says
7 Kastrenzo

Jun 3rd, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

It's an OK game when the developers don't **** it up, whether it be catering to whatever their weapons-grade stupid community is crying for the loudest, or coming up with their own cocaine bucket induced bad ideas.

MoterCrozz says
8 MoterCrozz

Aug 6th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

*LOYALTY UNTIL DEATH!STRENGTH IN UNITY!*

Is what I keep saying now after I played 5 months of this beast of a game as a Terran Republic soldier.This game has the best sense of scale I've ever experienced in a video game.
The game, for now, features three continents(With a fourth one coming soon).Contienents are the maps in the game, which are ridiculously huge.This is where epic battles take place between the three factions in the game.

These are the factions:
-The Terran Republic:They have the highest rate of fire and most ammuniton, but lack punch and stability.
-New Conglomerate:Very slow weapons with little ammuniton and have some sort of stability.They have the strongest weapons in the game.
-The Vanu Sovereignty:These guys have the most stable weapons and have a decent rate of fire and are just a bit more powerful than The TRs weapons.

:NOTE: The vehicles function the same way.

Each faction has it's own unique playstyle.At the core, however, despite having 1998 players on a single map, the game is basically a squad-based FPS game.You need teamwork to survive.

The lore behind this game is also quite intriguing.

Overall I give this game an 8/10 since there are still balancing issues and the optimisation of the game is still horrible.

Crazyb0b says
10 Crazyb0b

Dec 11th, 2013

No review provided

MaceMadunusus says
10 MaceMadunusus

Jul 27th, 2013

No review provided

Gamingroach says
8 Gamingroach

Jun 1st, 2013

No review provided

Maxen1416 says
8 Maxen1416

May 26th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.3

7 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.