In the remote mountains of Colorado, horrors wait inside Mount Massive Asylum. A long-abandoned home for the mentally ill, recently re-opened by the “research and charity” branch of the transnational Murkoff Corporation, has been operating in strict secrecy… until now. Acting on a tip from an inside source, independent journalist Miles Upshur breaks into the facility, and what he discovers walks a terrifying line between science and religion, nature and something else entirely. Once inside, his only hope of escape lies with the terrible truth at the heart of Mount Massive.

Review RSS Feed amirreza7878 says
10 amirreza7878

Dec 20th, 2013 3 people agree 2 people don't

One of the best horror games ever!

ScreamScreen says
9 ScreamScreen

Oct 5th, 2013 3 people agree 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I chose 9 out of 10 because of 5 things I focus on when reviewing horror games, it's Quality, Scares, Lag, Story and Length! (Atmosphere and stuff like that is included in the Quality!)

Quality: The Quality was amazing, I absolutely think the graphics looked incredible! But the graphics isn't what's most important for a horror game, it needs a good story and quite a few not cheap scares :D Other than that, the voice-acting was very well made, graphics was amazing, I loved the idea with night-vision camera, and the ambience is also very good, but the dramatic music in scares/chasing turned it down a bit for me! Scares: Awesome scares, with the Walrider ghost attacking you out of nowhere just spread fear into my body, cus I am absolutely terrified by ghosts and demons in games! Also the animations for when the fat guy kills you is also good and that the body might land in the view of the camera so you see a headless body laying there! Lag: I experinced a little lag but that was probably my computer and my recording program's fault :P Story: I really liked the story being held inside the asylum at all times and the mixed feelings in the notes about the Walrider and the patients everything kind of links to eachother and the storyline very well :) Length: I thaught 15 episodes for a game like this was pretty fine, just fine for my taste not too long, not too short, just absolutely fine :)

Quality: BIG 9 - Scares: BIG 9 - Lag: 9 - Story: BIG 9 - Length: 10 - An amazing game with awesome music, scares, ambience, voice-acting, graphics, etc. everything was incredibly well made, I really enjoyed this game alot and I wish it didn't end this quick! A well deserved 9!

TheUnbeholden says
9 TheUnbeholden

Sep 23rd, 2013 3 people agree 2 people don't

I found the story pieced together and it never really gave you any real way to fight the threat, so instead your character was thrust into the danger. Because logically your character would not try and stop the evil spirit if they have no idea how to stop it. I found this rather odd decision. 95% of players would obviously choose to run away when they get the chance. I don't see why our character can't... for dramatic purposes it does make for a sadder, more violent ending though.

+ Atmosphere is so thick you can feel it from the first few moments of the game
+ Jumpscares, eventhough a fair few are predictable. Theres a few that aren't though.
+ It feels like a evolution of Amnesia. You can hide underneath tables and beds, and in lockers. Enemies actually try and look through lockers though if they see you go in the room.
+ Story keeps you intrigued.
+ The enemies are humanlike and disturbed ugly individuals. Suffice to say, you are frightened. The fact that some of them are friendly it seems is quite

- I found the story to be a bit lacking after its all said and done. I felt like there could have been a bit more to it. Keeping you intrigued works to a certain point.
- The horror is a bit to focused on jump scares, it does shake it up a bit every now and then though.
- Game lost its fear factor in the last 40 minutes but thats ok, I was thoroughly satisfied by that point, at this point you merely want to the story to be resolved.
- Batteries (and therefore Nightvision) was quite plentiful with some bare minimum exploration but luckily I used it only when I absolutely needed to.

MR.yokerclown says
7 MR.yokerclown

Dec 2nd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Showing "new level" of fear, what also forgetting about the "old level" and by that, losting it's "value"!..

PortalPlayerSteam says
9 PortalPlayerSteam

Sep 27th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

It A Fun Game But Its Not 10/10 Because One Theres No Good Hack Tools I Know Why Hacking? But I Beaten The Game Two SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER At The End You Die So Thats Sad

BadcatDoesAmnesia says
10 BadcatDoesAmnesia

Sep 8th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

A ******* Brilliant game, just my most favorite horror types of games!

I hope there will be more games like this. I can't believe minecraft has more votes than this masterpiece! Pathetic, this is a real ype of fun.

I'm not a hater of minecraft, I play minecraft but I just find it boring sometimes, but outlast never gets boring. :)

themosinmaster says
4 themosinmaster

Sep 6th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Garbage strait up garbage

Haley76 says
10 Haley76

Jun 13th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

AWESOME HORROR GAME !!! This game shows players the true meaning of horror and its atmosphere is very very fantastic during doing normal objectives (like finding keys, powering up generators and stuff)I would like to see from the developers to make more dlc stories because it would be awesome than only a story-line and one dlc,but still its attractive of overplaying it over and over again.

GameSomniac™ says
9 GameSomniac™

Jun 4th, 2014 0 people agree 2 people don't

Say goodbye to your innocence, you'll never be the same after playing this game again. Outlast is a highly controversial survival horror game that isn't afraid to cross some boundaries. In fact this game rapes boundaries while you're forced to watch. (Remember the goodbye innocence part?) You play as a journalist infiltrating the wicked Murkoff Corporation after receiving word from a whistleblower that the company is up to no good. Like all journalists to stupid for their own good, you trespass your way right into the middle of all hell breaking loose. From there on you're attacked mercilessly, chased endlessly through out the corroding hallways, forced to hide under tables and inside of lockers, defenseless in every sense of the word. This game feeds on fear, it thrives on it. Have fun...

TheUnknownMan says
10 TheUnknownMan

May 18th, 2014 0 people agree 2 people don't

Very great and realistic graphics,audio, really scary atmosphere, level desing,amazing story, animations and parkour moves. My favourite game.WOW 10\10

Community Rating

Average

9

67 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.