Operation Flashpoint takes place in the 1980's. Player must fight soviet forces on 3 large 100km islands as an American NATO soldier. Man vehicles such as aircraft, cars, tanks, and boats are driveable and commandable. A mission editor and other tools are also available or already built into the game itself.

Review RSS Feed Craig_VG says
10 Craig_VG

Oct 16th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best, let it live on forever.

PastTime says
10 PastTime

Dec 8th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

Game that I will remember for lifetime. Realistic simulator where you have to use your brain and luck, even if everything is fictional, or seems like it. It is really cool in any other way, although the vanilla game doesn't give you maximum feeling of simulator, the modifications make it dozens of times better, like new models, animations. You can go in this game from a spear to a space marine from Warhammer 40k.
And the thing that I should mention comes now : The maps are really huge, it takes lots of time to travel with a car from one town to another that is placed on the other side of the island.

λpone says
10 λpone

Aug 17th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Game is amazing!
Real fun realism and gameplay
Love the ingame mission editor!

Waddlesticks says
9 Waddlesticks

Jul 16th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is one of the top notch Military-Sim games out there! And it is a great classic! From single-player/multi-player to map editing it gives you a lot of time to waste! Sure now the graphics is out-dated, but seriously. Why play a game because of its graphics? Some of the best games out there aren't about graphics!

But this is a really great game, for its time and today! Worth a shot, this original is a lot different to its follow ups!

dadey60 says
9 dadey60

Jul 6th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

GREAT GAME! FUN TO PLAY

EvilJack says
10 EvilJack

Jun 5th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

this game is way ahead of it's time compared to other game that was released in 2001. the fine attention to detail is what staggers me the most, time cycle between day and night depends on the time of day,month and year, randomly generated number plates, the church bell set to go off a few seconds later than others to add realism and the lot.. At that time no game could even come close to this revolutionary to open world game.

when i was a child my dad borrow this game from his friend and me being a 6 year old boy who really love to play army men, i saw my dad played this game and i asked "can i try it?" and he let me tried it and instantly fell in love with this game. after fiddling around in the single player mission and failed horribly i accidently stumbled across the Mission Editor, i completely baffled by the UI because i couldn't understand a thing and what it does at the time,then i try messing around with it and finally figured out how to place soldiers and vehicles then starting to put waypoints to a unit and create my very first mission. even though the mission itself didn't have any objective i imagined the soldier have their own quest and conversations between each other and having a blast on making it as well as playing it.

since i grow old enough to understand this game i can really felt the struggle, the emotion and fear that the soldier have through out the campaign and made a lot of single player missions by the time i was 13. eventually i finished the game and boy i never felt as close to a real war playing any games other than this.

thank you Bohemia and Codemaster for this incredible game, but mostly a huge thanks to Bohemia Interactive Studio to made a sequel to this as we all know today as the ARMA series

10/10

Tony51 says
10 Tony51

May 17th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Operaton Flashpoint or ArmA cold war assault is better than ArmA II and even ArmA III

Knez says
10 Knez

Aug 18th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This game has a great story

Genghis91 says
9 Genghis91

Sep 9th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Go get it...

Download Finnish Defence Force :)

Sn4rk says
10 Sn4rk

May 10th, 2015

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.6

112 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.