Mount and Blade: Warband is the first sequel for the action role-playing video game Mount and Blade. First announced in January 2009, the game was developed by TaleWorlds and was published by Paradox Interactive on March 30, 2010. Warband expands on the original game by introducing a sixth faction, increasing the political options, allowing players to start their own faction, and incorporating multiplayer modes. Reveiws of the game were generally favourable, with the addition of multiplayer the most highly praised element.

Review RSS Feed TomiMaFox says
10 TomiMaFox

Nov 30th, 2010 47 people agree 3 people don't

One of the best games I ever played :D

X4VI3R says
10 X4VI3R

Dec 1st, 2010 29 people agree 6 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

A nearly FLAWLESS re-edition of an absolute epic cult classic game.
Greatly improved. Almost bug free. It's a shame that it took 5 years to come out.
The only downside that i can think of right now: The lack of new music and no improvements for siege artillery.

Parmo says
10 Parmo

Apr 29th, 2011 18 people agree 0 people don't

I absolutely love this game!
There is no more epic combat simulation game.
You get to be the fronline hero, and comander!
Absolutely EPIC!

A must have !

- Parmo

Jesusfreak says
8 Jesusfreak

Nov 15th, 2010 21 people agree 3 people don't

Mount and Blade is back with a complete overhaul of the graphics engine, and many other major improvements. BUT serious engine limitations still exist.

Multiplayer is one of these big improvements, and the end result is an even more addicting game than the first M&B. You'll also find an "instant action" mode within the main menu; great for quick fun battles or just practice. Singleplayer is where I spend most of my time, it's mostly the same as the first game, so don't expect to much. But some new features like party morale affecting battles, and being able to finally rule over your own kingdom, are really great additions.

Combat is, by far, the best thing M&B Warband includes. A very dynamic combat system allows for the most realistic medieval battles online and offline. Archery is also present, and is very fun and precise.

Overall:

Gameplay- A great combat system allows for hours of fun.

Sound- Soldiers' warcries are repetitive and annoying, everything else is decent or absent.

Graphics- An okay looking game, and highly customizable graphics options make this game playable by almost any PC.

BongoBongo2 says
10 BongoBongo2

Mar 16th, 2011 15 people agree 0 people don't

Beautiful game, a must have purchase for anybody interested in medieval combat.

br49 says
10 br49

Mar 2nd, 2012 13 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best games I know. The combat mechanic is plain awesome, I don't know a single title that even comes close to the sword fighting or horseback simulation that Mount&Blade: Warband offers. Which is actually a shame, I would love to play a Skyrim or Gothic with Mount & Blades swordfight combat system.

I bought the game years ago, shortly after it was released, but I still come back now and then to mow down (slightly stupid) enemy AI hordes from horseback or to spend some hours on a duel server.

The singleplayer part is an open world game with no story at all. You can accept missions, you can level up yourself and your army until you can afford to conquer your own kingdom, but there is no story driving you there, you have to set your own goals.

The multiplayer is basically a team deathmatch game, with swords, bows and horses instead of the usual assault rifles. There are a lot of game modes, for example sieges (one team has to defend a castle, the other one has to take it), battle mode (like team deathmatch, but when you die you stay dead for the rest
of the round) or duels (1 vs 1 player, usually with large swords).

The netcode of this game is impressive, I have played on siege servers with 256(!) player slots.
Gameplay-wise I consider this 256 player matches to be a huge clusterfuck, I prefer the smaller setups with no more than 64 players, but there was nothing technically wrong with the 256 player games - no lags or performance issues.

There are tons of great mods for the game, both for singleplayer and multiplayer.

The graphic is ok. The characters, horses and weapons look good, however the landscape is poorly textured and poorly detailed. There are some graphic mods that can at least improve the single player part, but don't excpect wonders.

flavio871 says
10 flavio871

Apr 24th, 2011 13 people agree 0 people don't

cool!

alex722 says
10 alex722

Apr 26th, 2011 12 people agree 0 people don't

epic game with unbelievable re-playability because of the HUGE mod community.
The best melee combat gamae ever in my opinion. TRY IT!!

emirden12 says
10 emirden12

Nov 23rd, 2010 11 people agree 0 people don't

This A good game

gransoporo says
9 gransoporo

Dec 2nd, 2010 10 people agree 0 people don't

One of the most original and new game experience. We waited for it for so long time. 2010 is The year. Warbands is different from everything tried before. It is a democratic game, because there are thousands of modifications. Fantastic. Try it on multiplayer! It's very difficult, but when you kill a knight you feel yourself a real mediaeval hero!

Community Rating

Average

9.4

1892 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.