Experience all the sights and sounds of fabulous New Vegas, brought to you by Vault-Tec, America's First Choice in Post Nuclear Simulation. Explore the treacherous wastes of the Great Southwest from the safety and comfort of your very own vault: Meet new people, confront terrifying creatures, and arm yourself with the latest high-tech weaponry as you make a name for yourself on a thrilling new journey across the Mojave wasteland.

Review RSS Feed SlayerX3 says
10 SlayerX3

Nov 16th, 2010 9 people agree 0 people don't

Interesting plot
The return of the companion system is great specially making their related quests.
Better developed environment compared to FO3.
The Karma and reputation being separated makes the player decisions more simple when facing relationship and moral issues.
Hardcore mode for the win.
Weapons, lots and lots of them.
Consistent fluff with previous FO games, unlike FO3 (eg. NCR expansionism and BoS being the dicks they always were).
Combat armor is awesome once again.

Akalonor says
10 Akalonor

Aug 19th, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

War. War never changes.

Although this game has its drawbacks, and many bugs, it is still an excellent piece. Even more choices, more guns, more ammo, more factions, better combat (DT instead of DR, ADS) this game is bloody brilliant.

TheZealot says
10 TheZealot

Feb 4th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A very accurate depiction of what life in Southwestern America is really like.

Kaveli says
10 Kaveli

Jan 4th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Epic game like Fallout 3. One of the best ever.

Orzie says
8 Orzie

Nov 25th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This game served as a small excuse for the work of modern developers and their products. Many of us know that in the present time the majority of games are made and sold with the use of standard business model.

FNV was a really nice dive into the old retro-scifi atmosphere of classic Fallout series. The return to orange gamma after FO3 (which does not fit to Fallout IMO), old Fallout OSTs by Mark Morgan, new vaults with horrible and nevertheless exciting settings, dialog options with similar variety of humor in some cases...

However, as we sometimes say in Russia, if you want to make good for a person, make bad things to him/her instead, and then return the things in the previous state.
When you proceed to the very end, the game tends to be more and more like a post-apocalyptic FPS. The turn-based mode (named VATS here) is suitable and convenient only for fighting with Deathclaws. I even did not manage to complete the game, because I figured out that my biggest interest was in completing side quests, not finishing the main storyline.

The four addons coming in Special Edition can give some more hours of gameplay, but they don't save the game either.

And when I completed them all, and discovered all the locations on the map, I even was not able to start the game from the beginning again, because everything is learned by heart.

Still, I think that this direction for the modern Fallouts is more suitable than this of the Fallout 3.

Too bad we will not ever see Van Buren.

Marcurios says
10 Marcurios

Aug 11th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

i'm just a Fallout nerd, that's why i give it a 10.

poshgaloo says
9 poshgaloo

Jul 1st, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A bit to lighter than fallout 3. Fallout 3 was better because of how dark it was. New Vegas however just was too happy and non dark. Overall, it is still astounding but FO3 was funner.

JX6 says
9 JX6

May 29th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Sandstorms are really impressive, and world feels like it could be (almost) real. And I still hate NCR.

Kastrenzo says
10 Kastrenzo

Feb 11th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Pure Zany fun, With a lot of replayability even without modding.

Timulika says
9 Timulika

Dec 7th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

LOVE this game. I would give it a 10 if it weren't for the stutter bugs and CTDs that we, players, have to fix ourselves.
Let's pray that Fallout 4 or Fallout: Philadelphia, or what ever it will be called is as good or better MINUS the bugs.

Community Rating

Average

9.3

193 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.