It is the 41st Millennium in Sub-Sector Aurelia, a cluster of worlds on the edge of the Galaxy, and a battle of epic proportions is about to begin. Ancient races will clash across the planets that dot this section of space, battling for the greatest of stakes - not only the claim to the land and its bounty, but the fate of each race.

Review RSS Feed OrangeNero says
10 OrangeNero

Aug 24th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

Where should i start, played it through 3 times so good it is. guiding my small squad through the levels, looking for cover, using special powers. The brutality in battle, when smashing through orks got me an adrenaline kick close to an FPS. The classes so well done.

with the sniper cyrus for example, scouting out the enemy and calling in artillery barrages and/or taking out key enemies with the sharpshooting ability. or setting up devastators with their huge *** MG or plasma gun, suppressing hordes.

selectable missions with rewards, unit customization in a variety close to rpg.

only downside (which isn't really one) is that you have to sign in too steam and LIVE to play, and that its often hard to choose your squad members for wanting them all.

the campaign savegames are coupled to your LIVE account so be careful not to mix/mess the accounts up.

ToothlessBeast says
1 ToothlessBeast

Feb 24th, 2013 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

graphics are good but other things are bad. If it would have gameplay like dawn of war soulstorm then it would be amazing, AMAZING!!

Angel_of_Death2 says
10 Angel_of_Death2

Aug 4th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Epic!

JX6 says
9 JX6

May 29th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Best RTS ever.

Kaonis says
7 Kaonis

May 18th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Well done, but i wanted the Necrons!

CaptainIstvan says
10 CaptainIstvan

Oct 3rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

The first was good but te second one is better.

Lord_Cylarne says
6 Lord_Cylarne

Sep 3rd, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

The squeal to Dawn of War was indeed very interesting in many aspects, but some aspects are perhaps a disappointment.

9/10 campaign, story line

9/10 Last stand

3/10 skirmish gameplay

6/10 replayability

8/10 AI

6/10 Graphics/function of graphics

3/10 base building

8/10 RPG element

Worth the buy? 4/10

Other than the requirement of a needed and optimal computer, on top of it, the game killing my Motherboard, the game is... not as good as DOW I.

The campaign is PHENOMENAL. Last Stand mode is PHENOMENAL! Replayability because of the new RPG element, on top of your characters getting new wargear and leveling up = best idea, ever. However, why in the gods names did you remove base building, extract the best of the best features of DOW I out from DOW II and make this game a load of disappointment in the most prolonged gaming, skirmish?

Campaigns are great, beauties, great story lines and fantastic missions, but they do not last forever. The Last Stand mode makes up for the lack of skirmish, but gameplay went down hill overall from DOW I to this.

The tactics are a lot more advanced, however. But the need to reinforce at your HQ from a long distance away from the battlefield, things too expensive and remarkably difficult to protect is just an annoying immersion killer. Unable to build stuff, the maps too small, my god what have you done?

Campaign has some stiff stuff about it, too. The missions take a long time to complete, you are mostly walking around healing your troops, and it is downright a shame that there are no massive battles anywhere. Stealth, abilities, cover, all that is much better than DOW I, but what the developers took out from DOW II is down right disappointing. Along with the need of a new computer.

Combine this with DOW I, though, best graphics, best gameplay, and you have a major hit. THE all time game all Warhammer 40k lovers will dream to get. Like, screw DOW III?

Game is great, it's just the big stuff that makes DOW so great, absent.

Rohan15 says
9 Rohan15

Jan 13th, 2013 0 people agree 2 people don't

A vast improvement over the first game, AND you can play as the Tyranids! :D

WAABOOSHI says
5 WAABOOSHI

Dec 17th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

(Hellishly boring and long fights. More squad-focused game-play, slightly RPG-ish instead of Dow1 RTS game-play).

5 for the models, and that's all. Some may like the slightly RPG, squad-focused game-play. But me being a RTS lover doesn't. At all!
BIG DISAPPOINTMENT!

auel2667 says
6 auel2667

Oct 4th, 2012 0 people agree 2 people don't

I'll give it OPTIMAL value>6/10.
Dow 2/Retribution is a good game in terms of Graphics and engine.Aslo destroyable enviroment was cool. BUT there are several problems that truly ARE an eyesore for DOW fans.

1-DOW2 has ONLY 6 races > wtf RELIC where did Necrons/Tau/Sisters/Dark Eldar/IDH go????? Ah half of Mother F*cking game is MISSING here!!!

2-Really really limited unit choice for any fraction usually up to 10 units ONLY!! WTF again Relic??? DOW Apocalypse has 11 units FOR Space marines only in BARRACKS!!! And overall over 35!!!

3-Relic removed all buildings and left ONLY 1- HQ. Now that is stupid.

4-MOST annoying feature relic added in Dow 2 /retribution (i really want to kill all those motherf*uckers for this) it is TADAAAAAH the RETREAT BUTTON/Ability. Man that is simply idiocy.(Facepalm)If you want to retreat just move your forces back and forth. But with this 'Magick' button squad starts to run so fast no one can catch them LOL and long range fire form enemy units is decreased times 2.I know that melee also increases times 2 but man its the dumbest idea of them all. I cant imagine SM say : FOR DA EMPERROR!!! and next second retreat >_> total bullsh*t.SM could never ever retreat.

Community Rating

Average

8.5

139 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.