In Anodyne, you explore and fight your way through nature, urban and abstract themed areas in the human Young's subconscious, evoked by a 16-bit-era visual style and a moody, dream-like soundtrack. The player moves between rooms 160x160 pixels in size, an intended constraint that we used to create the monster-filled dungeons you will navigate and the set of nature-based (and sometimes stranger) places you will explore. Anodyne is on Steam Greenlight, please vote for it.

Review RSS Feed jdeuel says
10 jdeuel

Feb 4th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

It plays like a wonderful gameboy zelda clone, we need more indies like this.

skatahazed says
10 skatahazed

Dec 5th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

I became totally engrossed in the game from the start. Great graphics and the music - my God, the music - really gave it a unique edge that I hadn't felt with a game in a while. Pondering map might have been enough for me given those two aspects of the atmosphere, but I did thoroughly enjoy the gameplay. At first, caught off guard, I wondered how difficult the game would be given the ease in exterminating the red blobs and the shielded brains. Not only did the puzzling aspects of it disabuse me of that presentiment, but the boss (in the demo) ended up being quite fun to take on, and just challenging enough in figuring out its weaknesses. Time flied while I ran through the temple, and by the time the demo ended I really wished that the entire game had been released. I can't wait now. It's wholehearted fun just like the kind that the best videogames can inspire.

Grgur says
10 Grgur

Aug 29th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A very well crafted game and an experience I'm thankful for.

ACWraith says
8 ACWraith

Apr 21st, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Anodyne is an action game with lock and key puzzles. Put your Zelda franchise preconceptions aside. The keys are not weapons. When they're not literal keys, they're a set amount of collectible cards. Your actions are limited.

That said, the combat is solid. The variation of the world and the wonderful soundtrack helped maintain my interest. While the story felt fractured, the dreamlike atmosphere worked well with the overall nostalgia. Me likey.

I finished the game with 37 cards and earned a 100% achievement. I don't know if I'll ever go back to get all of the post-game cards and items. At that point, the play begins to reference glitches as might by used by Zelda speedrunners. It's mildly interesting, but that's the sort of thing I tend to see in a YouTube video and then never bother with again. The main game is enough for me for now.

Kuznetsovsky says
10 Kuznetsovsky

Sep 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

You can pretty much read the rest of reviews to justify this rating.

Awesome art + simple yet addictive and straight-forward gameplay + puzzle solving in zelda-like dungeons = total win for me.

Toyotame says
9 Toyotame

Apr 7th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Is it Zelda: Link to the past? No...but...is looks like!
Anodyne features great 16-but art, nice sprites, a lot of exploration and all with charming soundtrack. Controls is ok, especially with gamepad support.
Plot, unfortunately, is pretty weak, and numerous time you tends to suck in game since you dont know that to do overall.
Traps and puzzles comes from fairly easy to hard at some areas, but overall its ok.
Lot of exploration. lot of secrets. Its very good classic-esque game.

CarstenVania says
9 CarstenVania

Apr 7th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Absolutely great game! Nice Zelda-style gameplay combined with a great atmosphere, but the most unique part of the game awaits you after you finished it ;D

bigcow200 says
10 bigcow200

Apr 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Just an awesome zelda clone

MrHanMan says
10 MrHanMan

Mar 9th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Incredible game! Truly amazing!

OgreJungle says
9 OgreJungle

Mar 8th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Like many of you, I am a massive Legend of Zelda fan. So when I heard that an indie title called Anodyne was being released and that it follows the same formula as the classic Nintendo franchise, my curiosity got the better of me. After giving the game an unexpected nostalgic filled playthrough, I can say with confidence that Anodyne truly delivers, and it does it with a bit of satire mixed in.... ( Continue review at - Ogrejungle.com )

Community Rating

Average

8.9

96 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.