The Swine are Rising! In 2010 Frictional Games terrified the world with the cult horror Amnesia: A Dark Descent. Now they bring you a new nightmare. Created by The Chinese Room, the studio behind Dear Esther, Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs is an intense and terrifying journey into the heart of darkness that lurks within us all. The year is 1899. Wealthy industrialist Oswald Mandus awakes in his bed, wracked with fever and haunted by dreams of a dark and hellish engine. Tortured by visions of a disastrous expedition to Mexico, broken on the failing dreams of an industrial utopia, wracked with guilt and tropical disease, he wakes into a nightmare. The house is silent, the ground beneath him shaking at the will of some infernal machine: all he knows is that his children are in grave peril, and it is up to him to save them. Step back into the horror.

Review RSS Feed KiraImmortal says
8 KiraImmortal

Sep 17th, 2013 4 people agree 0 people don't

i'm too tired to write a full review. all in all i liked it, the story was well written, there were good moments and ideas, but the lack of challenge, collectables, and complex puzzles made me very sad during the playthrough.. i've waited so much more from this release, it took 3 years to complete and still it's just a half-game, 4 hours of gameplay and no custom stories.. i hope there will be DLCs or something because this is not enough for a great sequel.. 8/10 still, i'm a huge fan of the previous game, and i enjoyed this one also even if it has this many negative features :)

Kasumi-G says
7 Kasumi-G

Sep 11th, 2013 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

I enjoyed this game quite a lot. I personally think that handing this to thechineseroom was not too much of the greatest idea, rather, Frictional Games should have done all the work, ALL, and they should have said NO DON'T DO THAT! AND THAT! BAD BAD! Removing elements (Yes I'M GONNA BRAG ABOUT IT BALHBVALH, I'LL TELL YOU WHY:) such as the sanity was something TDD was special for, because it created tension, and so did running out of oil, and what the hell am I gonna do with my life after it depletes, or what if I pass out next to that monster and he sees me and comes towards me then I just shut the computer off instantly, go to my bed and weep and cry ALONE AND FEEL MISERA-....*AHEM*.... that kind of tension is truly important, at least to me, and what created The Dark Descent a true horror game, because you wouldn't know what to do in that situation, you'd just panic and feel uneasy.

Thou the staggering amount of effort given in this game, and the interesting story kept me going and going. As suppose to the first one, the sound effects are very well done and much more vibrant, and I could say a little about how the game looks, as I felt it was a slight improvement, but that's it. I felt like I was still apart of the game, and not what some people say "a walking narrator". I am easily scared, VERY easily, so the monsters did their job just fine, and so did the lights flickering as the monsters got near and I panicked and cried and screamed for my life. So in a way the fear also kept me going as well and it scared me just fine. The atmosphere was just brilliant, and BRILLIANTLY brilliant!

In the end, I enjoyed it, and had fun, and cried in fear. Thou comparing this to our predecessor, The Dark Descent, it falls and doesn't deliver the same fear and tension, and could have been MUCH much better.

Big_Shield says
4 Big_Shield

Sep 10th, 2013 10 people agree 6 people don't

Compared to Amnesia: The Dark Descent I can only give 4 out of 10 points because it is not as scary and I miss the looting for laudanum and oil and the influence of the sanity. Also I miss the fear of running out of oil or walking in the dark.

gegoxaren says
8 gegoxaren

Sep 14th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

It was a good game, it had its scary moments. But it did not have the same sense of fear that was in The Dark Decent.

It was very emotional, I cried two times, but that is probably just me.

ehovda321 says
9 ehovda321

Sep 13th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

"Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs" was a great game! I thought the atmosphere was amazing and the ambience was very intense! The storyline could have been explained a little better- but I suppose that's what keeps fans more interested. Anyways, Great Job!

Bottlecappizza says
8 Bottlecappizza

Sep 18th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

I LOVE AAMFP! I ALMOST **** MY PANTS AND NOW I AM DOING A YOUTUBE SERIES ABOUT IT! The reason I rated it 8/10 is cause I am a new member and cannot rate above 8. BUT I WOULD LIKE TO GIVE IT A 10!

vikaniss says
8 vikaniss

Sep 13th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

I'll tackle this review as a game that has nothing to do with Amnesia the Dark Desent, because not only is that a hard title to live up to (and it was just under the bar) I very much give credit to a game that holds its own. Before I do though, it did irk me that they took the name Amnesia without adding the classic amnesia traits such as insanity, tinderboxes, oil, picking up random objects and OPENABLE CLOESTS (my favourite hidding place!!) which gave the original game its extra "survival" feel.
The story definetly kept me enterained, unpredictable in its plot twists enough to keep me curious but not enough to get me annoyed and lost. The monsters were admittedly very scary (I will never hear a pig's squeal in the same way ever again. 0_0 ) the puzzles were easy enough for the detailer misser like me to get but didn't make it stupidly obvious and although I did find the machenery sound effects to be very garbled in layers and sometimes too much for me to listen for monsters properly, the soundtrack could be very pretty (and creepy as hell)
Overall, I do believe that Frictional games should have taken charge of its own sequal completely and although mfp had a tricky time living up to it's precessor, I can give a hats off for the Chinese Room for making an horror game which still embeds fear into those who play it.

MR_Souza says
6 MR_Souza

Sep 21st, 2013 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Good game, great story, great musics... but no fear no surival horror like TDD... some scary jumps yes 2 or 3 scary jumps no more than this... Amnesia: The Dark descent is a awesome survival horror game that wins a
9 out 10, but A machine for pigs own a 6, 3 of story, 3 of musics nothing more.

Jerejoe says
7 Jerejoe

Sep 14th, 2013 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

I enjoyed this game, I really did! But to me it seemed like they went for a Bioshock type story line. The whole time I played the game I felt like it was reminding me of another video game, that was not amnesia the dark decent, and it was Bioshock. The game sort of guides you through everything where as in the first one it felt as if you were on your own. I still enjoyed the game, don't get me wrong. I just felt as if it sort of tried too hard for this epic plot twisting story line which in the end was, sadly, predictable and kind of short. The game did get me a few times with some scares but most of the time I felt safe, not crapping my pants, and just relaxed like I could run along. Even with the "big boss" at the end I did not feel that threatened by him because he just walked and couldn't even break down stuff. Hope you guys let there be custom stories in this one soon, that would be awesome cause I love seeing all the creativity from indie developers with your games!

alldatcheese says
7 alldatcheese

Feb 1st, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Good, but it doesn't feel like Amnesia.

Community Rating

Average

7.9

227 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.