Forum Thread
An idea I've been kicking about for UT2004 (Forums : Ideas & Concepts : An idea I've been kicking about for UT2004) Locked
Thread Options
Aug 13 2004 Anchor

A mod based around the mechwarrior/battletech universe. With Unreal's excellent engine allowing you to get in and out of vehicles it always struck me that it would make an excellent basis for this kind of mod. Problem is I have literally zero mod making skills. Am hoping someone will take an interest in this!
The gameplay could reflect UT's assualy mod, where you have to take (and maybe hold) certain objectives in order to win the map.
Spawning as a powered armour infantryman you could get in and out of mechs to accomplish the objectives.
If anyone thinks its a worthy idea let me know :)

Aug 13 2004 Anchor

Well, probably one of the worst thing to start off with on zero mod-making skills is a mod based around mechs. They are real tough to make, and even design in the first place. You should first start off making minor modifications to engines, then grow into a TC. That way, you have the experience to know what goes into a mod and how to lead one.

But, if you have any luck finding members that'd be willing to work with a noob.... Cheers.

--

"He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster."
- Friedrich Nietzsche, Beyond Good and Evil, Aphorism 146

Aug 13 2004 Anchor

I'm not saying I'll make it, I'm just suprised no one has attempted to yet considring the large fan base. I'm not a noob, that implies I can actually do something with mods :p
I'm just pitching the idea thats all.

Aug 13 2004 Anchor

Well, there aren't any for UT2k4, but there are sure mech games for other engines: Moddb.com

--

"He who fights with monsters might take care lest he thereby become a monster."
- Friedrich Nietzsche, Beyond Good and Evil, Aphorism 146

arvey-Haynos
arvey-Haynos ModDB Wickerman
Aug 13 2004 Anchor

It's a good idea though.

--

User Posted Image

Lust