An extensively updated version of HPL1 engine. Uses industry standard technologies such as OpenGL, OpenAL and Newton Game Dynamics.

Review RSS Feed linseXpie says
10 linseXpie

May 28th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

FREAKIN AWESOME ENGINE

nowac2645 says
6 nowac2645

Dec 12th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The editor is okay but it has many problems with it. For example just today, I put down a ladder area and the Player wouldn't climb it. At first I realized I didn't even save my map so I tried again and he still wouldn't climb it. Next, the editor crashes a bunch. To be honest, I have no idea how you were able to create amnesia the dark descent, penumbra, all that stuff not that they're bad games, they are amazing games! Third, I type something in the .hps file and it doesn't work. It's written specifically in the in the .hps file and the game should follow it but, no (that's actually not really a problem with the level editor, just a problem with the game). In general, the level editor is so fricken aggravating. I don't know if it's just my luck but almost every single time I want to do something new, I run into a new problem. Once, I put a script and I added a chemistry pot and no matter what I did, the player wouldn't pick it up (WTF?!?!) I get fed up with the editor almost all the time it's unbelievable. That's not all I have to say. Scripting is fun to do and it's awesome that you have given people the rights to create custom maps! Using the level editor is quite easy apart from the problems I've been having but yeah, that's what I have to say for the editor.

lazz3r says
10 lazz3r

Mar 15th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

HPL 2 is the best engine I was ever working on. It gives you some awesome features and it's very easy to work on it, the Level Editor is just placing already done assets like walls, floor, ceilings and then filling it up with entities (there are lots of them) so you don't have to be worried about "where can I find something". The Level Editor shows you already how the map is going to look like in game so you don't have to worry about how it is going to look like.

The scripting part may be a little harder, though there are lots of tutorials on YouTube about how to do something. With some experience you will be fully ready to start working on your custom story.

Highly reccomended to everyone who loves Amnesia series and who wants to start his adventure in creating games.

10/10 - Flawless

daortir says
10 daortir

Feb 4th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Exactly the engine I need. Allows easy modding, overall incredibly handy for a whole bunch of amateur modders.

todden99 says
9 todden99

Dec 22nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

it's a litle buggy, but the objekt and the player rendering is just great!

Maxleyo says
10 Maxleyo

Oct 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

good gameplay, regular graphics, nice history!

PerikiyoXD says
10 PerikiyoXD

Jul 31st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

FREAKIN AWESOME ENGINE

nbranthom says
10 nbranthom

May 6th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very nice engine.

Docex says
10 Docex

Apr 27th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

S√úPER..

willrae1998 says
10 willrae1998

Dec 27th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

I Have Found Very Few Bugs In This Engine And It Has Served Me Well. I Strongly Reccomend It.

Community Rating

Average

9.5

70 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.