This is a custom campaign for freelancer. It tells the story of the Orin Federation's newest conflict.

Review RSS Feed Domi-Nation says
1 Domi-Nation

Mar 29th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

First off, this is meant as constructive criticism (I'm not trying to be an *** :). When I first started playing this mod I had high hopes for it, due to the positive reviews it had gotten. I don't know where those came from. The combat quickly got repetitively infuriating, the more I played it. There are just TOO MANY DAMN MISSILES! By the time one realizes that they have to have their cm dropper switched on to have the slightest chance of living, their dead. I ended up getting so frustrated by it, that I didn't even finish playing the mod! I don't mean this to sound rude at all, but you do understand that the player is supposed to win right? If I kept going on, this review would be too long, so I'll condense it for you. Oh, and don't even get me started on the voice acting.

Things I Hated: Too many missiles, too many mines, very poor voice
acting, repetitive gameplay, infuriating gameplay,
lack of loadout/ship customization, fair system
designs.

Things I Liked: Blowing stuff up & flying the Anubis.

Rakayz_18 says
9 Rakayz_18

Feb 13th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Super mod.

chenheilong says
9 chenheilong

Jan 14th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

campaign always nice

Son_of_Ares800 says
8 Son_of_Ares800

Dec 17th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

At first look, Wings of the Federation was a great surprise to the Freelancer modding community. While Singleplayer campaign changes have been done before, no one had done so much to it like masternerdguy has. Completely new sector, new factions, new storyline (not related at all to the vanilla campaign) even voiceovers, this mod brought a whole new form of modification to Freelancer.

Playability: 7.5
Starting a new game in Wings of the Federation, you are instantly jumped into action, fighting groups of enemies with small breaks in the action, allowing the player to refresh, before jumping them back into the fight. This proved to be one hell of a gamble in a game built for small periods of action with lots of travelling, one which turned out to be a rather great change.

However, this is also the biggest downfall of the mod. Removing the feature of which the game thrives on, freedom. Freedom which allows you to do just about whatever you want. This alone removes any form of replayability, which unfortunatly brings the score down.

Balance: 8
The difficulty scale on this is pretty consistant. All ships will always have the same loadout, your opponents will always have the same ships. The only real difficulty changes is the type of ship you will fight against, which is not often, and the amount of ships that you will fight.

Creativity: 8.5
This mod is full of creativity. No system is based in vanilla systems, factions have nothing to do with vanilla factions. Even the infocards of the ships are different from Vanilla. The only thing that is the same is environment colours and ships designs.

Map Design: 9
As stated before, all systems are different. The only real beef is that almost everywhere you fly is crowded with asteroids or other small space areas.

Story/Instructions: 9
Completely seperate from Vanilla, nothing to do with aliens. Only problem is replayability, which is very small

This is a great mod, different but great! I give it: 8.4 (Rounded to 8)

SuperCooper64 says
10 SuperCooper64

Nov 21st, 2010 0 people agree 0 people don't

It was incredible, filled with total sci-fi action, it needs a sequel and a higher rating!!! (Mod of the Year)

bigbangnet says
10 bigbangnet

Nov 18th, 2010 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

All I can say is this is good work. Can't say anything bad about it especially since that guy did a hell of a good job...and probably lost many hours at this. I had fun playing it.

jusefd says
10 jusefd

Nov 16th, 2010 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

its a very fun campaign

link01742 says
10 link01742

May 25th, 2014

No review provided

Crocodile_Jonesy says
10 Crocodile_Jonesy

Jul 18th, 2011

No review provided

Odanan says
10 Odanan

Apr 2nd, 2011

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.7

22 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.