Victor Ryland, the head priest of the local church, is on his way home after a particularly tiring day. Hearing cries of anguish in the distance, he rushes to see what is happening. When he arrives at the crossroads, he finds nothing but a pool of blood. Hearing a noise, he spins around, only to see talons lash out at him. The power of the blow causes him to crumple to the ground. As the world darkens around him, he can hear the sounds of battle as his kinsmen battle against this unknown adversary.

Review RSS Feed The_Furfather says
9 The_Furfather

Mar 30th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Awesome stuff. I really love the non-linear portion. The only issue I have with that is the optional paths need to be a lot longer. Not only will this enhance the feeling of choosing your own path, but it allows the user to play the mod several times over and be happy to do so.

The multiple endings really added to it, as well.

I'm really happy to see someone show this kind of creativity in these mods. If you ever plan to make another map, please abuse the crap out of the alternative paths, to the point where it feels like you can play the custom story over and over again without repetition.

Excellent work.

chattenoire says
8 chattenoire

Mar 2nd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

A nice custom story with interesting puzzles and a good storyline. There are some minor scripting glitches, but the overall gameplay is quite enjoyable.

Humeba says
10 Humeba

May 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Very nice. I thought the monster locked in the cell was great but it was even better when he was gone when I came back up the ladder. I kept expecting him to come after me. I like the good/bad endings. I love how certain choices effect the ending of the game like this one did.

KingOstrava says
10 KingOstrava

Sep 3rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

It's a nice game, decent story and the monsters oh how they scary the living hell out of me. Good job

Zaffre says
4 Zaffre

Aug 13th, 2012 0 people agree 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

The story was okay, to say it optimistically. I understand this was your first story, but it definitely could've been better. For one, you gave Sanity Potions. This is fine, but it tells the player "There are jumpscares in this story. Take these." and there was certainly jumpscares.

The door was bugged and wouldn't open with hammer or key, as people have said. I literally had to go into the level editor and unlock the door manually. And with the extinguishing torches, it was easy to expect the Alexander scare.

Overall, you could've done better. It seemed okay at first, but quickly went downhill. Obliviator, you get a four out of ten.

Gwweri says
8 Gwweri

Jul 31st, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

In spite of being your first custom story, it was pretty nice.
Mechanisms you used were good and interesting (but sometimes it was hard to find out what to do or where to go and even harder if your lantern was totally empty - large rooms whithout posibility to use your tinderboxes). I´ve also found some logical inconsistencies.
The atmosphere wasn´t bad at all, but i think that it could be even more scary.
However, the scripting was nice and the storyline was gripping and suprising.

Story 9/10
Gameplay 7/10
Atmosphere 7/10

Total: 8/10

Dragonogh says
6 Dragonogh

Jul 21st, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Good, but neither the hammer NOR the key work in the room after you blow a hole in the wooden wall (after you crawl through the "narrow passage"). I would have rated it better if that situation would work correctly.

freakmajor says
10 freakmajor

Jul 18th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Nice map. I like the start. Jump of the window.
Items are not to many but not to little.
10/10 :D

RailgunSpoon says
5 RailgunSpoon

May 30th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

The door you have to hammer open after the key breaks is bugged for me. I couldn't open it no matter what I did.

RaumaGoogle says
10 RaumaGoogle

May 30th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

"This is my first story"????+ Cant be!! :D

Community Rating

Average

8.7

60 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.