The Great War mod is a total conversion modification for Napoleon: Total War. It creates an authentic representation of World War 1-era tactics, strategies and general warfare within the game. Including stunning new visuals that include entirely new models and textures for equipment, vehicles and more, the mod immerses you into the era with brand new gameplay unlike anything you've experienced in Total War before.

Review RSS Feed Eliminator96 says
10 Eliminator96

Aug 11th, 2013 35 people agree 5 people don't

I am giving this mod a 10, not just because I know it will be amazing. But because of the hard work and determination that the developers have put into this mod. 3 Years of incredible work.

Not just that. But also with the troubles on release day they have worked all day and night trying to get it working. For this they have my utter most thanks and gratitude.

Thank you. For all your hard work.

calicoyoda says
10 calicoyoda

Aug 12th, 2013 13 people agree 2 people don't

I do give this mod a 10/10. I waited 2 1/2 years for this mod to reach this stage, and boy was it worth the wait. Many said that WWI would not work for Total War. This proves them wrong.

Everything is modeled well after the tactics of the war, new units, everything. It doesn't feel like a mod, it doesn't feel like Napoleonic Era warfare. Serious props to the dev team.

After overcoming so much that was thought to be a roadblock, they have done the impossible. It really does deserve a 10/10

poot101 says
10 poot101

Aug 11th, 2013 11 people agree 3 people don't

My fav NTW mod!

Love playing older versions and the new one seems amazing.
Can't wait and keep up the great work!

bobunknown says
8 bobunknown

Aug 12th, 2013 6 people agree 1 person doesn't

So far i have to say I am a little disappointed in this MOD and that is not to say that I do not appreciate or understand all the hard work that the developers have gone to in order to get it to this point and all the hard work that they are still doing to try and fix all the bugs and crash issues.

However it is the fact that the MOD was released in this state that means I wont give it a higher rating but, because I can see the potential for the MOD once all the major issues with it have been sorted out I can comfortably say that it is worth and 8/10 at the moment however, that is likely to rise to 10/10 in the near future!

Commissar_Delta says
9 Commissar_Delta

Aug 12th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

Pretty awesome. Didn't disappoint me once I figured out how to correctly install. There were a few texture bugs, glitches and historical inaccuracies (Wilhelm II is a Kaiser not a Koenig for one)

Aliah says
9 Aliah

Aug 18th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

I'd like to give it an eight for what we have at present, but the mod promises much and has delivered quite a bit for what it has to work with, and for this, it deserves a nine.
Combat is far different from traditional Total War games with muskets, tanks work pretty good and look promising, and I really can't wait for period naval warfare in the WW1-era.

Looking forward to what may come next, keep up the great work.

random258 says
10 random258

Aug 17th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

amazing! thanks for the dedication and quick response to the bugs!

The_Byzantine says
8 The_Byzantine

May 27th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Well this mod is the best thing ever, I've been playing it for quite some several months now, and I'm still enjoying it. However sometimes it still seems to have problems, not anything game breaking really, but just simple features or lack of in many cases. One thing that has continued to peeve me non-stop is the AI's being stuck in Napoleonic mode, as in it is entirely incompetent, and even more so with the many options of varying units, weapons and technology in general.You will very often see the enemy AI slowly march a tightly grouped division of infantry right into a path of machinegun fire until they get into what looks to be the range of the muskets of vanilla. Early on in the game when technology is not so much a factor the AI performs well, but by the time you invent machineguns and mortars, the enemy becomes little more than target practice. Another thing that bothers me much less is the models, and although this really doesn't affect the game whatsoever, I still feel that the modelling should have been finished proper before the beta's release, so that the team could emphasize updating the gameplay and other bugs, and at this point I feel that the aesthetics should not be taking priority over ensuring that the AI understands trench warfare, or fixing the crashing problems that everyone seems to be reporting. I know that once this mod is in full swing it will be amazing, and I understand it is somewhat early in development, but until it is finished, or at least further in development, it still feels somewhat like a patchwork of ideas that have yet to receive the single direct focus of the team. In the future I truly hope to see this mod entirely reshape the game, and I cannot wait to get my hands on the next big update, hopefully with real trenches, improved models, smart AI and more atmosphere.

Mennano says
10 Mennano

Aug 17th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Simply awesome !

Zman563 says
10 Zman563

Aug 16th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The 3 years it took to come this far is absolutely amazing, everything about this mod is great. So it has a few bugs, it doesn't keep me from enjoying the hard work the entire team put into this project. Thanks!

Community Rating

Average

8.9

416 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.