The Gate is a single player modifcation with a difference, featuring a 30 plus strong team of voice actors, and authentic WWII weaponry and heart pumping classical music It has a feel of no other mod out there. There is a MP3 player coded into the Gate engine and we have genuine german voice actors playing the parts of the Soldiers. It is staged in Egypt and Northern Europe during wartime, and incorperates new teqniques for stealth and sneaking around which was thought inpossible with the Halflife engine. Coded into the Engine also is new kill characteristics such as one shot head kills etc. The Gate has been 16 months in the making so far and keeps growing and growing...

Review RSS Feed poisonheadcrab says
4 poisonheadcrab

Jan 15th, 2011 5 people agree 2 people don't

This mod may have an alright concept and game play, there are some good fight scenes although I felt like the difficulty was rather unbalanced at times and the stealth missions were just trial and error. The voice acting ranges from bad to just awful. Such little effort was put into the voice work its pathetic. The main character is just annoying and delivers his lines in such a cheesy manner. Poor quality mics and no lip-syncing didn't really help either.

Conclusion:
This isn't a mod that I really recommend. If you've got nothing else to do and want to kill some Nazi's than sure give it a try, but overall I think your better off avoiding this one.

Elitesse says
5 Elitesse

Dec 27th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

I hate this mod! It's full of bugs, it's extremely hard and confusing!
Let's start with the bad points of this mod: the characters mouths don't move, there are no subtitles and many people like me can't understand the briefings, the voice acting isn't very good, there are lots of annoying puzzles where you had to backtrack too!, the mapping is very confusing, the stealth missions are impossible to complete, enemies are extremely strong, there is a terrible damage system, the weapons HUD needs to be fixed, weapons animations needs to be fixed too, there is an armor HUD while there is no armor in The Gate and you can't switch maps with the console! The only good thing of this mod is the mapping: the locations are amazing! You visit Military Bases, Houses in the mountains, Egyptian Towns, Trenches, French Cities, Resistance Bases, Naval Yards and a big Battleship in the middle of the ocean! I gave this mod a 5/10 only because of the mapping. This mods needs lots of improvements.

Swaggletooth says
1 Swaggletooth

Aug 21st, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The mod suffers from a variety of problems, but the most apparent is the poor level design. Progression rarely makes sense, cheap tricks are used to kill the player and worst of all - the whole thing is HGrunt mania.

There is only one single enemy in the game and it's a badly modelled HGrunt with an SMG. That's it. If they had used varied HGrunts that might have helped a little, but really it's a very tedious experience.

The low point of the mod (and the part that tested my patience most of all) was a stealth section that causes the game to end whenever you're "seen". As if that wasn't frustrating enough in retail games, here it makes no sense at all as to why you get spotted so you're left 'best guessing' as to whether you're OK.

The game assets are a weird mix of things from CS, DOD and Opposing Force. It's very odd to have an inconsistent set of weapons from DOD and OP4; sadly these too are just basic replacements for the stock HL arsenal and you're limited with what you can use. NPC models are an ugly set borrowed from CS and various other mods, and sadly the NPCs don't speak themselves (so their mouths never move) but rather an audio file plays next to where they're standing which is rather... lazy.

Laziness is probably the best way to sum up the mod. Clearly work has gone into it, but with all the corner cutting and the overall lack of fun I can't respect it.

martinschoeler08 says
1 martinschoeler08

Mar 12th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

...

poshgaloo says
6 poshgaloo

Jul 3rd, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I WISH THIS MOD JUST GOT TO THE POINT! Instead of having so much cut scenes man. Passable mod overall due to clunky game play, glitches everywhere; and why couldn't the mod creator(s) make the guy(that you see at the beginning) talk and move his mouth?!

DragonNOR says
6 DragonNOR

Apr 7th, 2012 3 people agree 2 people don't

I'll try and keep this short.

Immediately I was awestruck with the level of detail this mod provided. The general thought through the mod really intruiged me and I was hoping that the mod would become a blast to play. One of the legendary HL mods that you remember for a long time and even talk about when you meet other modders.

The story too is great, but there are some logical holes that degraded an otherwise nice story. For example, [SPOILER WARNING]

After getting to egypt he says he needs to find a weapon. 20 metres later you come across a perfectly good axe standing in a piece of wood. But you're not using that, instead you have to find a combatknife that is hidden inside a sarcophagus with no hints of it being there.

And not to mention the German resistance movement being in Egypt. Not wholly impossible, but weird strange them operate in Egypt on a rumor.

I'm also not a very big fan of 'trial and error' puzzles where every error means instant death like the spiked floor.

The biggest beef I have is with the difficulty and the Voice acting.

The difficulty is so unforgiving it's one of the things that made me quit before I got to the end. I felt that in my case it wasn't worth the frustration to make it to the credits. In particular I hated the Stealth section. The viewlength of the enemy plus the blink of an eye they spend to see you made that section hell to pass.

The voice acting. For one the technical quality difference could be smaller. Almost all the microphones used were of varying quality, and the colonel in particular used a VERY bad microphone.
The main character sounds like a cheery WW2 commercial announcer with almost no emotion or development stirring behind his shell at all.
In general the voice actors sound wooden and non-immersed with their character or situation.

I know for a fact that the quality on voice actors here on moddb has increased by tenfold if this was the most professional cast you could get back then.

DarkShift says
9 DarkShift

Aug 19th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Just finished the Gate 1, wanted to play it, before doing the 2nd...

Well, it was a cool adventure IMHO, I really liked the setting and the story, even if it's the kind "so bad it's good", I mean that whole story with agent X (why that guy from the future send us to destroy bunkers, anyways, in exchange for help?? I really thought he would turn as a bad guy in the end) was cheesy, I don't mind the voice acting but overall it was very funny (but not voluntary, you know). The ending was very satisfying, however. Killing THAT guy and then that ship going boom, and also a good cliffhanger.

About the difficulty... Well, it was truly horrible, every fight turned as die and retry battles, the enemies were overcheated as hell, they could take one grenade and one rocket and still stand, for god sake. There is even one point where, without any ammo for the sniper rifle, I had to cheat, to kill one turret shooting me from a high point. But even if it was very hard, in the end I managed to survive 99% of them, and never really getting so much frustrated (I've survived so much crap in other mods before...)

In the end, Gate1 was a good mod, a good TC, very entertaining, sometimes very frustrating. Overall, in one word, it was a little hermetic for the average player.

Looking for part 2 now.

Qwertyus says
9 Qwertyus

Apr 29th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Love this mod!

wamingo232 says
1 wamingo232

Feb 4th, 2013 3 people agree 3 people don't

**** this mod !!!

flippedoutkyrii says
9 flippedoutkyrii

Jan 7th, 2012 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

I will admit that the story is weird and that the voice acting isn't the best, the level design and gameplay are very satisfying.

The levels have diverse objectives and while there is an obnoxious stealth mission, much of the levels are fun to navigate.

Not suited for everyone, but the amount of details are enough to give the modder some props for his perceptive eye in design :)

Community Rating

Average

6.7

85 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.