String is a short little custom story made for Amnesia the Dark Decent. You play as Henry, an old king who returns to his once underground fortress. But he soon finds out that those he left behind have been waiting for him all these years. If he succeeds he might be forgiven.

Review RSS Feed endosine says
9 endosine

Apr 22nd, 2014 2 people agree 0 people don't

Ok here it goes...

Positives:
Astonishing Level Design
Brilliant Voice Acting
Disturbing Story
Quite Scary and can be very unnerving at times.

Negatives:
None!

Outcome:
String was an amazing experience with astonishing level design and with amazing detailing put into the maps from start to finish.
I Loved every minute of that CS and I'll replay it again if I have to.
The atmosphere of the mod was purely unnerving and felt unforgiving in certain parts. The Scares were well executed and were really well placed.
The voice acting was superb and the story was very chilling.

In the end, it was an amazing modification and I really want to see another mod from these guys!

9/10 = Astonishing Masterpiece!

impala-of-mayfair says
8 impala-of-mayfair

Apr 21st, 2014 2 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I'd like to start off by saying holy crap, your mapping is gorgeous. The atmospheres are beautiful and unique and provided for a new experience. I took a few minutes in the beginning just to gaze at the scene of the waterfall.

Those sounds coming from outside the closet were terrifying. I loved the fact that Richard could talk. However, I did not understand why he was a Brute. There wasn't any reason for Richard to be a monster, unless he'd been brought back from the dead...?

I feel, though, that the story left way too many questions unanswered. What was Henry trying to cover up? Was it the fact that he killed Christine? How is Christine alive and dead at the same time? Was the ghost of his past self literal, or just a figment of his imagination? Why was Henry always closing the gates (paranoia)? Why was Henry initially cruel to Philip - was it just the alcohol or was there another reason? Is Philip even still alive? What on Earth was the floating body bag in the end? Was that the statue of Henry? If not, what did it represent? If Christine really did forgive him, then why does Henry die? Why does the story end so suddenly? Why is it always the same ending despite different paths taken? In the left door of the maze, what was the purpose of the water-stairs sequence?

Perhaps it's just the writer in me, but I felt that the story was lacking lots in detail. I feel like a bit of mystery is good, but you can still leave an open ending to a story even if it is finely detailed.

Overall, I thought it was a great mod, but it could use a bit of story-work, in my opinion. Keep working hard, you've got a lot of talent!

-Amnesia- says
10 -Amnesia-

Apr 22nd, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This custom story is simply amazing,the level designe is gorgeus,really detailed suggestive,the music is truly good,the jumpscares well placed(a really horrifing experience),the story deep,what can i just say?Excellent,really excellent!

Staminist says
10 Staminist

Apr 22nd, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Man, I wish every CS is this detailed and well made! From basics building up to little details. The monster talking to himself, the voice acting, the choices you have. Though it is short, I didn't mind, because I played it 4 times in a row, just to see "What if I go there or there the next time"

10/10

Boss-DOS says
8 Boss-DOS

Apr 21st, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Another short one, but I kind of liked it.

I enjoyed the maps and atmosphere, as well as the story. However, the story didn't flow very well for me. I saw where it was going but it felt like it skipped a lot of information. This may have been to try to save time but it made it a little confusing to play through and hard to understand. It has potential to become something deep and great, though.

I also had a really hard time understanding the voice acting. I understood the woman, but then men had so much noise in their audio recordings I couldn't understand a lot of what they were saying and there weren't any subtitles to relay on. The voicer for Henry also didn't sound very natural, it sounded like he struggled to keep up the voice for him and it was a little awkward to listen too. His mic also freaked out when he started shouting which really didn't help in understanding what he was saying.

I really loved the music, the music was great and fit perfectly. The 3D audio was a really nice touch too for when the woman whispered. I also enjoyed the concept of an underground castle. There weren't any glitches or anything like that, I can tell a lot of time went into this and I greatly appreciate that.

I feel like a lot had gone unsaid so hopefully there will be more to the story in the future.

HumiliatoR says
8 HumiliatoR

Apr 20th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

What an amazing little mod.

I truly enjoyed almost everything what this mod contains, mapping is just phenomenal, well designed, atmospheric enviroments, really terrifying some times, not boring stuff at all, really enjoyable to play when you progress on the maps. Still little disappointed when the endings comes and all of sudden it ended with really intense scene.
Noticed couple errors and floor flickerings, but that was pretty much for the errors and bugs or noticing things.

Pos:

- Creepy sounds
- Terrifying atmosphere
- Mapping (one of the best mapping design I seen a while)
- Couple unique scares, events were really scary
- Story, really intesen and well made
- Detailing on every map

Neg:

- Too short for my taste
- Too easy to figure out what to do (lacks of good and complex puzzles)
- Default music

Overall, really good job with mapping and putting few terrifying scares, whole experience was worth to play to the end!

MODLOVER43 says
10 MODLOVER43

Jul 29th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Short and sweet is the best way to describe this mod. For such a short story the detail put into everything and the quality of this mod was amazing. The voice acting was excellent and the story was immersive as well as having a element of mystery to it. It wasn't that scary but this was a more story driven mod like white night and that was all it needed to make this a very good mod

Definitely give it a try

Mixx_89 says
10 Mixx_89

Jul 15th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great CS, I really enjoyed playing!
Everything in this CS was perfect (mapping, atmosphere, scares, etc.).
Keep up the good work ;)

HypocritesAnonymous says
9 HypocritesAnonymous

Jul 14th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Let's start off with

THANK YOU for having a well designed custom story with a good story behind it with some exceptional scares but overall an AMAZING story. This is by far my favorite out of the couple I have played.

I want to say this though: the atmosphere is really the only this that gave me the heebie-jeebies. I'd have expected something more like a chase. You used water really effectively, so why not throw in a Kaernk or something to chase you around. Just monster jumpscares didn't exactly cut it for me. That's mostly why this is a 9 not a 10

So, basic overview
Average: 9
Storyline: 9
Design: 10
Lighting: 10
Scares: 8
Atmosphere: 10

Loved this story from the minute it started playing (:

RabzZ says
9 RabzZ

Jul 11th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is a superb custom story! One of the best for sure! Why not 10/10 is the ending that was great but it felt it came to fast. The level desing and the audio/sound effects were the best. Good ideas and well created.

Thanks for making this!

Community Rating

Average

8.7

48 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.