A man is trapped within indistinct time frames. At the end of each, a blinding flash of light puts a stop to all efforts of physical escape. As he tries to come to terms with his situation, he slowly begins to realize the utterly hopeless - and truly paradoxical - predicament that he is in. This custom story has a non-linear gameplay style and emphasizes exploration and story. It features custom music and about 1-1.5 hours of gameplay. Thanks everybody for the reviews!

Review RSS Feed ShiningBlader says
10 ShiningBlader

Dec 26th, 2013 5 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Loved the story/lore behind this CS. A Orb gathering vitae through the perpetual imprisonment of someone? GENIUS!

The map design as also good, although I found myself stuck in many stairs some times

I only wished there would be MORE enemies because I didn't find more than 2

And I feel sorry for the character. Couldn't find a better use of that cry from the original amnesia (from one of the prisoners) when he finds out that he can't escape no matter what.

Very Well done :D

☣Kaernk☣ says
8 ☣Kaernk☣

Dec 28th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Positives:

- Huge creativity
- Well written story

Negatives:

- No real intro
- The objects you need could have been a bit harder to find
- Mapping can be improved
- Not really scary at all
- Glitch with the mushroom (if you throw something on it, the gland is not there)

Neutrals: (Does not affect the score)

- The "going back to the bedroom" thing is a nice idea and I understand it's an important part of the story. Still, it could be a bit annoying in lenght.

Conclusion:

The mapping is not a "wow" factor and it offers a low challange. Although, the story is very well written and that is a huge plus from me (since few people focus on the story nowdays), I found very few bugs and I enjoyed playing it. A lot of things can be improved for future stories/patches, but it easily deserves a 8/10 anyway. Good job!

8/10 - Very good

impala-of-mayfair says
8 impala-of-mayfair

Dec 25th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Beautiful job with this! Creative storyline, and winding, non-linear gameplay. Reminded me a lot of "Cycles" by DamnNoHtml.
Excellent. Very well done!

DarkDaemon says
10 DarkDaemon

Jan 2nd, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I just loved the emotional and creative storyline! I felt a real empathic connection to the man. This mod was a real break from most, focusing on terror stemming from the hopelessness of a situation rather than single monsters and encounters. Overall, this mod showed incredible creativity and potential.

DnALANGE says
6 DnALANGE

Jan 2nd, 2014 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

A good idea,
Just seems te be rushed.
If you made so much more details and lot od more scripts \ scares \ events.
Wow, this could be amazing!
Now i just felt i run and search and walk around..
Not really scary imo.
Overall good job.

Painfull says
9 Painfull

Jan 2nd, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The game's concept and general idea is extremely disturbing, but I believe that if it would have been longer it would have been more effective. Otherwise the idea is fantastic and as a matter of fact I believe that this is one of the few Amnesia custom stories that has moved me anyhow.

The_Chronbro says
10 The_Chronbro

Jan 2nd, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

12:01 PM ;)

Killermark says
9 Killermark

Jan 1st, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This cs is a bit strange.I mean strange story.It's strange but good.

I like that not only the notes say i always gettng teleported back to my bedroom but it happens in-game too.

The music made me feel more like I'am playing zelda than amnesia, but thoose were good.Exept one.The worst.It's still in my mind.The music in the flooded dungeons.Oh my god.It was horrible.That msic made me rate this level 9/10 instead of 10/10.

By the way, i liked the ending, cause in other stories i would escape, but in this the loop starts again.

daortir says
7 daortir

Dec 25th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

EDIT : Increased the note I gave : ). Now that I think about it, a 6/10 was rough, considering the creativity you have shown. I still believe your next Custom Story should have more work in it, especially when it comes to mapping : ).

I just finished it, so it's time for a review. Let's start with the good stuff, because there are good things in this mod, in my humble opinion. First of all, you had a real story ! The part where you mentioned the Orb extracting your Vitae was interesting and creative. The notes are pretty well-written as well, it was enjoyable to read through that. Gameplay was pretty original as well, that's always good.

Then let's jump to the things you can improve, because you can still do a lot better I believe. First of all, mapping is not very good. It's not bad at all, but the maps are not yet pretty to watch. It's static objects , some furniture and details. Architecture is not original, you did not work on lighting or billboards a lot either, and it really hurts your CS visually. The horror element was very weak as well, I had to face two monsters during the mod, and 2 or 3 self-opening doors. That is not a lot of things to be honest. Your mod lacks scripted events, like an intro sequence, more scares...

Some usual problems were in the mod as well, such as the useless tinderboxes, the missing Stair Welders, static objects not connecting correctly, the level design is pretty weird as well with the different maps not having much logical connection I think.

That's still something I enjoyed playing and I congratulate you on that. I hope you will make other mods, because you have a story-related approach that I like to see. If you keep improving we might see some great mods from you soon !

Humeba says
9 Humeba

Nov 24th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very good story idea. It could have used a few more monsters but it was still scary. It was unique and the music was nerve racking.

150 characters? Most of the time I don't say 150 characters in a day, lol.

Community Rating

Average

8.1

28 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.