Realism: Invictus is the Beyond the Sword version of the Civilization 4 mod that was formerly known “Total Realism” when it was being developed for Warlords expansion pack of Civilization 4. Our mod has been with Civ since the earliest days; it was, back when it was called just “Realism”, among the first comprehensive modpacks seeking to rebalance the game. For many years now, the mod continues its life and its evolution. For detailed statistics on what the mod adds, please check the features section.

Review RSS Feed _Jinz_ says
10 _Jinz_

Apr 10th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great mod! Glad I could help by getting my dad's voice to voice act those research tech quotes (not all finished yet, you can only hear 4 or 5 of them in the mod at the moment).

danmarkpe says
10 danmarkpe

Nov 24th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

A very well balance mod that makes the game more diverse in your choices. Everytime that I start a game I get different challenges.
It always one more turn ..., that it is never enough .... I always want more.

Lord_Baal says
10 Lord_Baal

Oct 30th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Nice.

Why the duck do I need to be force to write a review? Can't I just say it's a good mod and be on my way?

Darn it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And not only that, it has to have more than 150 in length? That's stupid.

Ok, then, IT'S A REALLY GOOD MOD!
IT'S A REALLY GOOD MOD!
IT'S A REALLY GOOD MOD!
IT'S A REALLY GOOD MOD!
IT'S A REALLY GOOD MOD!
IT'S A REALLY GOOD MOD!

Fine? Are we done here?

Soof49 says
10 Soof49

Apr 8th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod is very well balanced. Not too much, like C2C, but not too little like vanilla civ. It doesn't bog down the game too much, so you aren't sitting there looking at a spinning circle for ages. I appreciate that. One thing though, which isn't enough to justify a 9/10, it seems like it goes OOS quite often, so multiplayer isn't an option with much more than 3 people. Other than that, I like pretty much EVERYTHING about this mod.

Oh, and the goddamn barbarians are too hard. Pls nerf so they only attack once every 100 turns, with warriors.

.../s

MeklordAporia says
10 MeklordAporia

Nov 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

At first, I thought this mod took itself too seriously, what with leader weaknesses and almost complete lack of alternate tech paths. But then I started playing it again. It's the largest mod to not include future-era stuff, which on second examination is a strength because it doesn't overexert itself. Most importantly, Invictus has the deepest combat system of ANY Civ game before or since. If we're lucky, Firaxis takes notes for Civ VI.

And War Elephants. Woe to whoever has to fight them off.

anto-shturmovik says
10 anto-shturmovik

Jul 22nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Perfect. In any way. Hope to see further patches and improvements.

Freakwave says
10 Freakwave

Jan 9th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

The Best Civ4 mod out there that is close to history while still being true to gameplay.

Eegah says
10 Eegah

Nov 28th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Greatly thorough mod and great commitment to the game.

SergeantoftheRangers says
10 SergeantoftheRangers

Jul 24th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great mod this is the best one i have played for Civ IV. Keep up the great work!

sheaperd says
1 sheaperd

Oct 27th, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9.7

37 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.