Scale down the treacherous rooms and hallways of this creepy mansion as you find the true meaning of Phengophobia!

Review RSS Feed SolomonSkywalker says
4 SolomonSkywalker

Jun 5th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I thought that most (nearly all) of the jumpscares were weak, the only thign that scared me was the teleporting naked guy in the library, and the monster that you have to get past in the library, also all the books were not on the bookshelves.

Spaghetti7 says
6 Spaghetti7

Jun 5th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Hey, nice to see you had the guts to actually make a custom story out of the devilish editor, just a few things you need to improve on.
The mapping and lighting were nice, but the main problem was the lack of scares to go with them.
The scares were, almost without exception, all jumps in this short map. However, even some of these weren't very scary at all. I think the maker needs to play some of the more popular stories to get a feel for how to create a creepy atmosphere and good scares. Also, the flying naked guys are a bit clich├ęd now, I think people need to find other things to throw at unsuspecting Amnesia players.
Finally, although I realise this map wasn't meant to have a story, it could have benefited from even a tiny bit of backstory. I also don't understand the relevance of the title, but perhaps that's just me being a derp.
Overall, promising features but needs a bit more attention to scares.

DnALANGE says
1 DnALANGE

Jun 4th, 2012 4 people agree 2 people don't

toooo ugly!!!

sigvess says
5 sigvess

Nov 20th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

It had an okay start and build-up, but the ending was pure lazy... Try again and work a little more on it. No where near a 10/10 sorry. Trying to be fair here...

diablo1675 says
7 diablo1675

Jul 14th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

A good custom story that has lots of potential.

But due to misplaced/not placed/ or non-linear furniture/models this is getting quite annoying.

Playthrough of it:
Youtube.com

obscurimity says
5 obscurimity

Jun 8th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I never truly got scared. The maps were nice, even with the odd books on the floor. There were also texture errors.
-spoiler-
I only was somewhat scared when the last monster in the wardrobe popped out.
:3 Keep on truckin'

power898666 says
10 power898666

Jul 4th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great Mod!

basham says
1 basham

Jun 14th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I'm sorry... this did not make sense, there were so many glitches, so many cheap scares. The Grunt got stuck in the doorway, and it's way too short. Plus, if someone doesn't take 30 minutes looking for a key they're lost.

WWEdeadman says
2 WWEdeadman

May 30th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

OK, a couple of things. The floor textures glitch in the last room. It looks like they're twitching. The wall on the second to last door is seethrough from in between the doors. The teleporting naked guys and flying jesus didn't scare me at all, only the poofer that came out of the closet at the end was well placed and quite good. The other grunt was easy to dodge, and wasn't all that scary.
And I played through this in like 10 minutes. So really way too short.

So if you do another project, or improve this one I'd say:
1. ADD AMBIENCE MUSIC! Costum stories without ambience are always kinda dull and feel less scary.
2. WAY longer playtime. And maybe some more puzzles than just finding hidden keys.
3. try to figure out the texture glitches.
4. Better scares.

gewoontomas says
1 gewoontomas

May 18th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

******* terrible jumpscares

Community Rating

Average

5.9

58 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.