Paranoia - it is a our single-player modification for Half-life. You will play the role of a russian officer of the secret service. Your first impressions are that this mission will be just like any other, but you really have no idea what nightmares future events have in store for you...

RSS feed Gman(evil)X says
9 Gman(evil)X

Dec 14th, 2010 11 people agree 0 people don't

The Good
-Nice Graphics
-Lots of original content
-Interesting Story
-Gameplay is good
-Good attention to detail

The Bad
-Very Unreliable in Windows Vista Ultimate (at least my copy)
-Face mask blocks view (they don't in real life don't they?)

lgs says
9 lgs

Dec 11th, 2010 11 people agree 4 people don't

+ Awesome level design
+ First level is pure gold (bonus points if you are ex-USSR resident)
+ Quality custom content
- Somewhat average gameplay

headcrap says
9 headcrap

Dec 30th, 2010 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

Awesome game!
-character design

-short story
-random crashes everywhere

I hope there would be a sequel!

NinjaBunny says
9 NinjaBunny

Feb 21st, 2009 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

Very superb. This mod looks pretty, especially for GoldSRC, it has a amazing atmosphere, interesting story, great music, everything about it is amazing, aside from the fact that it is rather short and ends out of nowhere, only giving you a small cut scene. Some people may complain about it only having English subtitles, and everything else being in Russian, but I feel like it adds to the games style, and it's not like Spetsnaz troops will be speaking in English anyway.

Randomguy7 says
10 Randomguy7

Nov 14th, 2010 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Absolutely kick ***!

Awesome music, great graphics, lots of diverse settings and enemies for every level! I could not believe how awesome this mod is... try it and you'll love it!

great weapons, I love the face shield!

just freaking download it already!

sasasa says
10 sasasa

Jul 21st, 2010 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

This mod is one of the greatest, but not the best
The soundtracks fit well with the gameplay, I really enjoy that
The AI was a bit better than the original game, right? this mod also have a very nice, detailed mapping with high res textures make all things look very pretty, even a trash bin can make you surprise, and these guys really dedicated to this mod. Even an animation that was only used in first map, they still make it, for a better gaming experience

staffssuckshit says
9 staffssuckshit

Jan 5th, 2015 1 person agrees 0 people don't

"Paranoia" is a good mod, especially it is standalone, is awesome.

The Pros:
-Awesome graphics.
-Standard Ritual Entertainment's animation for NPCs.
-Fair storyline, I love the part where Major first time face zombies.
-The gameplay effect is awesome as well.

The Cons:
-Crashes ramdonly, but nevermind at it.
-I think the Face mask is kinda of blocking, doesn't it?
-Short story, it could be much better.

I very loved this mod, it is very fun.

jiso says
10 jiso

Nov 29th, 2010 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

This mod is absolutely magnificent. To just see what these guys did visually an experience in itself, not to mention storyline and game play. Mood, atmosphere, timing, execution - it's all there. This is an all-around masterpiece that made the absolute best of what they had to work with. I was astounded.

Argomir says
9 Argomir

Nov 2nd, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Such a cool thing on the old, antediluvian engine...9/10 - Just because it is too short. Great music!

Psycho_96 says
10 Psycho_96

Oct 30th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Quality and immersion are the best words I can think of to describe Paranoia.
From the beginning it is already obvious the attention put on the detail at all levels, from the historical references (such as an officer remembering with sadness the Soviet intervention in Afghanistan, or a diary entry describing the experiences lived by a Spetznaz operative during the Breslan school terrorist attack) to the scenario design. Every single second of this mod is worth to remember, it feels like it was created by real military or experts on the matter. The radio communications coordinating an assault were one of the many things that made me stick the face to the monitor and put the volume so high I almost couldnĀ“t hear anything after playing.

Community Rating



1028 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.