Your name is Henry Smith. Your house burns down for mysterious reasons after a long night. You escape the burning house and gets lost in the forest. After a couple of hours you eventually find a small house. The only thing you can do is to get help. What you don't know, is that the house keeps a secret. A huge secret. A secret which only leads to Oblivion... As the theme of hell is in focus, the memories of your dead wife and child haunts you... After they got murdered two months ago, you moved away from civilization, to isolate yourself from humanity. Maybe you should have stayed where you were.

Review RSS Feed Staminist says
9 Staminist

Nov 9th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

For me, this was an EPIC adventure! No cheap jumpscares, the gameplay is smooth, even though the maps can be big at times it's not a problem because every room is specific with details.

I give it a 9/10 EVEN if I really missed voice acting!! I think that would make it even more interesting and appealing to the public.

draelic says
10 draelic

Aug 28th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

amazing custom story. suspenseful, lots of custom monsters unique endings and boss battles. i would rate higher if i could really is a must play

blackdragon121 says
8 blackdragon121

May 4th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

good CS but you can do better

Humeba says
10 Humeba

May 3rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Awesome mod. A few minor glitches in the textures. A couple of unnecessary items that were never used, for example the ladder and 2 rusty keys. Could have used more notes to let you know what to do. But all in all I really loved this mod. I will be tracking the developer to know when the next mod is released. Keep up the good work!

PuerNomine says
8 PuerNomine

Mar 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I loved how minimalistic this mod was. It really pushes the artistic elements of Amnesia, making for an incredibly engrossing experience. I think a lot of other reviewers are missing the point of the original game, which was not to play to win but to put yourself into an environment, and this mod captures that almost perfectly. The atmosphere was stunning - the beginning establishes that you were in the freezing cold, an element I never lost over the long course of the game. The empty rooms, vacant buildings, and icy landscapes were all incredibly creepy, and searching for items in these gigantic environments was actually quite fun. Kind of like an old "I Spy Spooky Mansion" computer game I used to play, but with monsters who will kill you. I've seen other complaints, but I thought the pacing here was masterful. The dog was awesome, as was the final environment. Basically a super-long buildup for a great ending. Personally, I thought it was really cheap having the narrator collapse towards the end without any real explanation and the game transferring from sneaking around in dark corners to a generic escape and then the usual "I've been expecting you" nonsense. The biggest problem, by far, though, was that I had to start over near the very end. I never got the hammer (and didn't even know there was one) and then got stuck in the cell where the hammer was needed to escape. I don't know if anyone else had this problem, but this game needs to be updated to either add a second way to escape the cell or make getting the hammer mandatory to move on at an earlier stage.

ShiningBlader says
10 ShiningBlader

Mar 24th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Greatly improved in the 1.1 version. The beginning was kinda slow but the end definitely makes up for it. The ending was kinda sad though...

The mansion was really creepy. Those custom sounds really made me shout "SHUT UP!" for over half an hour. Brilliant I must say.

Some silent monsters here and there where great as well

I also liked the monsters puzzles such as the one where you wait for the monster to open the gate and the other where you have to attract one of the enemies into a bridge. Very cool and well done, except for the former: I thought it was too dark and when I've noticed, I was already being chased by the dog. Took me forever though...

But in the end... brilliant CS. Really enjoyed :)

FoxfyreRecluse says
7 FoxfyreRecluse

Mar 24th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This was a story that had a very slow and boring beginning, but had an ending that was pretty stunning.

Observations:
-It was a pretty long custom story.
-There was a variety of monsters and a story to back the variety.
-It has a 3 ending choice system, (I played the hero ending).
-I was playing with a friend, and there was a point where I got really far ahead of him by touching an orb. This was as soon as I got to the top floor of the grand hall. I went on to get captured, while my friend was finding keys and unlocking doors I had never heard of. Is this part of the ending split, or did I just skip a portion of the story?

Good things:
-One of the few custom stories that has a solid plot line that is easy to follow.
-The hell environments were really cool and unique.
-No stupid jump scares, but instead some naturally startling events.
-Hero ending chase sequence was fun.

Suggestions:
-The beginning was meant to be fast paced, but stacking boxes simply kills the pace.
-Earlier maps were very empty and boring.
-Puzzles were just finding keys, (I don't really like maps that just go from room to room finding keys, but I know you are aware that this is the kind of story you've made since you comment about it in the description and mention it in the story itself).
-Clipping textures.
-It is quite clear that you had great ideas for the ending, but the beginning is just simply filler and story build up.
-Items weren't spread out well. I ended up having a ton of laudanum and sanity potions by the end. There were points where oil was very scarce and other part where there was lots of oil to spare.

Zerenity says
10 Zerenity

Mar 18th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

In my opinion it was ONE of the best/most enjoyable custom stories ive played and ive played probably all of the best ones so yeah :) Good job.

LordAmbler says
6 LordAmbler

Mar 13th, 2013 0 people agree 2 people don't

Giving it a 6 as well.

As said by other people, the rooms are pretty empty, the gameplay is just search key->door.
I did not get scared once and got bored way before the end. I was when it was finished.
Minimalist story.

But there has been some work, it's kinda long too, therefore it deserves above the average.

HumiliatioN says
6 HumiliatioN

Mar 11th, 2013 0 people agree 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Okay finished it, pretty long, but really have many flaws why I rated it six.

Here it is I have to be completely honest now:

First of all: Starting was promising and liked escape sequences always. Later on walking through the forests.. scary noises cool.. 20 minutes later cellar parts was pretty boring repetitive, key puzzles.
Went forward and then again.. key puzzles.. that mansion is really back and forth with only hunting keys. Really repetitive, poor and boring, I almost quited when I have to only search keys, needles, keys those mansion parts.

When I managed to get the outside and that dog chasing me was quite scary.. and I was little terrified already. In the end those 3 endings I went through slowly and watch all of them. It was nice, but not so great.

After I finished.. I have mixed feelings I think you really tried to make it good, but I can't say you succeeded. It was really good try and enjoyed some parts like that begin, machinery maps and that large mansion where you have to climb outside that was pretty good one.

Now for the bugs: I find couple of them and some parts where no items are needed. That map where is "boxed and chests blocking you're way you can skip it just walking and jumping left side and go through it. So hammer is not needed anymore. There are couple clipping textures and I can see outside of the map in some maps, there are only few so that is not so critical. I don't member any other bugs what I noticed.

Overall this was average trip what you need to improve honestly:

- Mapping, many maps are so dark and some rooms are really empty
- Less monster encounters I noticed there are many and completely ruins the atmosphere.
- Billboards some ones are just copied to the another window and someones are dull looking ones and poor, improve them make it more realistic and spent time for that
- Lastly you need to add some oil because sometimes I have to wonder in the darkness like an hour and that was really frustrating / annoying.

Community Rating

Average

7.5

39 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.