2097 AD. Secret agent called Snake is sent to Phobos, which was terraformed and turned into a green paradise and citadel of Galatex Corporation, the largest corporation of the solar system. Now this fortress was attacked by some Dancer, who turned a satellite of Mars into a bloody hell. Moving to a single purpose known to his own, he has left behind only corpses. Commanders of Snake don't care for Galatex, but they really want to know - what exactly Dancer hunts for?

Review RSS Feed ytsgames says
10 ytsgames

Aug 22nd, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Awesome work!!! Good job!

UJIbU4 says
10 UJIbU4

Oct 1st, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Overall, the mod is great. Playing it is much more interesting than far cry.
Excellent story, but a bit hard to understand for those who didn't play any metal gear.
The voice work and the voice script are perfect for a mod, very close to a commercial game. You need to know russian though.
Cutscenes and communication scenes (portrait of the main character and his interlocutor) are made very good.
The levels are huge with a good design and this is the best and longest far cry mod (didn't play all of them but i'm sure it is), longer than many games.
The gameplay though is not very pleasant in some parts.
The priest level in the beginning of the game was impossible for me so I played with god mode starting from it, which however didn't affect on the amount of pleasure I had playing the mod.
Some bugs still present after patching to the latest version, like weird enemy death physics, never opening doors - and you have to noclip through (example - silent hill level door to the 4th floor after you put 2 items on pedestals).
The mod lacks checkpoints in certain levels and the mission objectives on most of them (both in the objective list and as a radar blip). Actions during checkpoint save can break the level script or something else, example - first level, on the start I could move only crouched by default.
Certain enemies are very hard to beat (2 legged robots in front of the galatex building) even with cheats, there must be a weak point but again, those who didn't play metal gear doesn't know about it and it (the weak point) should've been announced by someone in game.
Almost everything was made by only one person (as the credits told) which is unusual for this level of quality and mod size. Even with using 3rd party mods/models/sounds/etc. the amount of work was tremendous, so it's definitely 10/10.
Waiting for a sequel. Also read this great review: Indiestatik.com

dave_5430 says
1 dave_5430

Jan 26th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

.... Really?

You want me to explain why?

modsuki says
9 modsuki

Aug 10th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is one of the best Farcry Mod. Long mission, many original setting & maps (you will surprise), many cutscenes, many dialogs. Difficulty of some missions are high (bad balance or puzzle), but I think most people can clear.

Didjay says
10 Didjay

Aug 10th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

an incredibly good job of mod style! obsolument to try!

Montaigne says
4 Montaigne

Jun 1st, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Fun at first, but some areas (Alien Massive, I am looking at you) are far too poorly laid out and more an exercise in frustration than game-play. Good effort, smooth coding, bad execution.

flippedoutkyrii says
2 flippedoutkyrii

Dec 17th, 2011 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Ugh...

Well, if there was an award for a mod that has sent me into more fit's of F-bombs, Massive Attack would take the grand prize... yay...

Yes, the mod can be beautiful at times, yes, it's a nice break from a tropical island, yes, some of the maps have great action sequences and great scripting... but it's just so damn frustrating and obnoxious.

For starters, the mod jumps from Metal Gear Solid to AVP, Far Cry to Land of the Dead and hell, even Terminator makes a grand entrance. The story is hard to follow (Then again, the Metal Gear series have such absurd story lines I suppose it makes sense) and the cut-scenes are boring and incredibly long and tedious. And for every good level (I enjoyed the zombie and horror levels, especially the scene with the black ooze engulfing the hallway) there was a stupid, horribly built level.

Even with the patches that address the worst issues with the game, was that underwater maze level REALLY necessary? And many of the boss fights are incredibly one sided and punishingly difficult.

All the levels, good or bad, always revolve around key-finding. I gave up several times and just no-clipped my way through unlocked doors just so I could end this mess.

Many times I jumped from rating to rating, as some of the levels were well done, but in order to get to them you have to get through a swamp of terrible gameplay.
But considering all the pro's for this game, it's simply too frustrating for me to give it any more then a 2.

Don't bother.

maistrenko says
10 maistrenko

Sep 21st, 2014

No review provided

Marek33 says
7 Marek33

Oct 26th, 2013

No review provided

qwerfghjklm says
8 qwerfghjklm

Mar 7th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

7.8

21 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.