A scientist receives a letter from a colleague but their plans are adverted when the plane's engines fail, stranding our protagonist in the wilds of the jungle. Will you survive?

RSS feed KrustiClawn says
6 KrustiClawn

Jan 13th, 2014 5 people agree 2 people don't


- Decent level design
- Good story line (at least to begin with)
- Some unique things


- Huge lack of story
- The only scares in the story are chase scenes pretty much
- The puzzles were most of the times very easy and boring


"Best custom story award".

How?! Okay, it's from 2011 and stories are generally much better nowdays as both the authors and the level editor improves, but still, this one as the best story?

First of all, it feels like you guys made a story line which were decently good, but after just 1-2 maps you completely gave up on it and focused only on the maps and added a chase scene in half of them.

The maps are nothing really special. Most of them are very short, undetaild and just looks pretty bland in generall and the puzzles and most of the scripts are pretty simple and boring.

On a side note, when I saw pictures of a jaguar monster and heard a jaguar sound in the forest map, I kinda expected a custom monster to appear. I was wrong. A bit disapointed but on the other hand you didn't say you added a custom monster.


I do understand why this story is so unique and popular, but to me it's another decent story. It's not bad, but it's not special either.

6/10 - Decent

Groovy_Denzel says
9 Groovy_Denzel

Apr 30th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

Really god, but nothing Extraordinary.

fastrunnin says
9 fastrunnin

Jun 30th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very impressive mod. The atmosphere is excellent, with several very creepy sequences. The storyline and puzzles were also very unique. Ending wasn't the best though, and some concepts were a bit strange. Still, it was a very good mod overall

rumbuli says
8 rumbuli

May 25th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is a great story! It deserves the best custom story award.

Z0D14CS0L says
7 Z0D14CS0L

May 1st, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

This custom story its one of the earliest examples of good map designing and good story. The atmosphere is good, and there are little to no jumpscares and thats very good. The story its extremely well crafted, but could be a little deeper and a lot creepier.
The notes and mementos are fine, the voice acting its interesting.
Were this mods fail is to deliver the eeriness of the so called aztec temple, if the developers could use a little more aztec imagery to reflect the culture, they would have reach a far better mood of dready isolation in a foreing and strange land. The assets are the same as the A:TTD, and this is good, couse it shows that a good story doesn't need for custom content.

Jimbo_Timbo says
9 Jimbo_Timbo

Jan 4th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

There's something about this custom story's atmosphere that really stands out compared to others. It's a custom story that I wish I could relive the experience again.


Jul 29th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

There's reason this mod won the cs contest. Everything about this mod was made with detail and originality.

The voice acting was also very good and the puzzles and maps were good and original. I did find it a bit short though

Really good

ShipinShen says
9 ShipinShen

Apr 26th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I love this one!

ElectricEye says
6 ElectricEye

Mar 19th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

This mod has some pretty good level design and atmosphere, but fails as a story.

The proofreading is nonexistent. First you mix up the Nobel peace and physiology prices. Then we go to "South Africa", where I suppose there is an underground Zulu complex of significant sophistication? You obviously meant to say "South America", but then you throw in Aztecs, which would place the game in Mexico - which is not in South America. Not knowing anything about the subjects of the story you're writing really makes it appear amateurish.

As for the Aztec deity angle, there was no build-up towards a conflict or climax, so it had no tension in itself. I was just getting into the fact that the story was about something deeper than just some medicine, when I'm suddenly told to sacrifice this guy to put a stop to things. But what things exactly? It ended much too quickly. I didn't have time to feel like the deity was even doing anything.

What should have happened was a slowly rising threat from the deity, combined with the need for the player to go towards that threat in order to stop it (which also means that the solution, the Gordon angle, needed stronger integration into the story). As it was, the low tension meant that there could not be a strong resolution, and the sacrfice also felt more like the solving of a side-quest than the final victory. The story as a whole ended up feeling like a five-act play without the third and fourth acts.

I'm still giving this a decent rating because the mapping and atmosphere worked (I don't really have much to say about it, it was competent without being outstanding), even if the story didn't.

spartan9888 says
6 spartan9888

Nov 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Was very dissapointed with this mod. It won an award for best CS so I was very looking forward to palying it. Unfortunatley there was nothing special about it and was only a little suspensful. The brute at the end was also very boring and was just in the way
+Good atmosphere
+Variety of levels
-Not enough scares
-Not supensful
-Although there was different levels a lot of them were pointless
-Monsters were really easy to avoid
All in all this desrves a 6/10

Community Rating



223 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.