A scientist receives a letter from a colleague but their plans are adverted when the plane's engines fail, stranding our protagonist in the wilds of the jungle. Will you survive?

Review RSS Feed ☣Kaernk☣ says
6 ☣Kaernk☣

Jan 13th, 2014 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

Positives:

- Decent level design
- Good story line (at least to begin with)
- Some unique things

Negatives:

- Huge lack of story
- The only scares in the story are chase scenes pretty much
- The puzzles were most of the times very easy and boring

Conclusion:

"Best custom story award".

How?! Okay, it's from 2011 and stories are generally much better nowdays as both the authors and the level editor improves, but still, this one as the best story?

First of all, it feels like you guys made a story line which were decently good, but after just 1-2 maps you completely gave up on it and focused only on the maps and added a chase scene in half of them.

The maps are nothing really special. Most of them are very short, undetaild and just looks pretty bland in generall and the puzzles and most of the scripts are pretty simple and boring.

On a side note, when I saw pictures of a jaguar monster and heard a jaguar sound in the forest map, I kinda expected a custom monster to appear. I was wrong. A bit disapointed but on the other hand you didn't say you added a custom monster.

-----

I do understand why this story is so unique and popular, but to me it's another decent story. It's not bad, but it's not special either.

6/10 - Decent

Groovy_Denzel says
9 Groovy_Denzel

Apr 30th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Really god, but nothing Extraordinary.

MODLOVER43 says
9 MODLOVER43

Jul 29th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

There's reason this mod won the cs contest. Everything about this mod was made with detail and originality. This story really got my immersed in the story.

The voice acting was also very good and the puzzles and maps were good and original. I did find it a bit short though

Really good

ShipinShen says
9 ShipinShen

Apr 26th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I love this one!

ElectricEye says
6 ElectricEye

Mar 19th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This mod has some pretty good level design and atmosphere, but fails as a story.

The proofreading is nonexistent. First you mix up the Nobel peace and physiology prices. Then we go to "South Africa", where I suppose there is an underground Zulu complex of significant sophistication? You obviously meant to say "South America", but then you throw in Aztecs, which would place the game in Mexico - which is not in South America. Not knowing anything about the subjects of the story you're writing really makes it appear amateurish.

As for the Aztec deity angle, there was no build-up towards a conflict or climax, so it had no tension in itself. I was just getting into the fact that the story was about something deeper than just some medicine, when I'm suddenly told to sacrifice this guy to put a stop to things. But what things exactly? It ended much too quickly. I didn't have time to feel like the deity was even doing anything.

What should have happened was a slowly rising threat from the deity, combined with the need for the player to go towards that threat in order to stop it (which also means that the solution, the Gordon angle, needed stronger integration into the story). As it was, the low tension meant that there could not be a strong resolution, and the sacrfice also felt more like the solving of a side-quest than the final victory. The story as a whole ended up feeling like a five-act play without the third and fourth acts.

I'm still giving this a decent rating because the mapping and atmosphere worked (I don't really have much to say about it, it was competent without being outstanding), even if the story didn't.

spartan9888 says
6 spartan9888

Nov 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Was very dissapointed with this mod. It won an award for best CS so I was very looking forward to palying it. Unfortunatley there was nothing special about it and was only a little suspensful. The brute at the end was also very boring and was just in the way
Positives
+Good atmosphere
+Variety of levels
Negatives
-Boring
-Not enough scares
-Not supensful
-Although there was different levels a lot of them were pointless
-Monsters were really easy to avoid
All in all this desrves a 6/10

DevanMist says
8 DevanMist

Oct 31st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This was a well developed custom story, but I have to knock off some points for the bad voice acting. Other than Gordon, the other two voice actors weren't that great. The male voice actor was very monotone, and the female voice actor was obviously having some troubles reading the script, as well as having mic issues. Adding voice acting into your story can really set it above the others, but bad voice acting can annoy the player and take away from the atmosphere of the story. You have to make sure your voice actors can display the feel of the story through their voice. After seeing screenshots for "The Phanter", I was kind of let down that I didn't actually see the character during the play through at all. Excluding the things listed above, the story was very original and well made. I often found myself running out of oil, but then finding oil within the minute or so, the item placement was very well thought out.

Developer feedback: I would shorten the section where you see the pile of bones, and then you are stuck in a loop. I only had to run around it once to realize I was in a loop, then was completely bored while running around the loop waiting for something to trigger and set me back into the playable game. I would also play more on the spores. I feel like they are a good idea that you could have implemented into more scenes instead of just that one.

Feanor`s says
10 Feanor`s

Sep 22nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

this was best custom story i ever played! Best scenario and best effects. Everything was best! Love it!

MXDash says
7 MXDash

Aug 24th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great atmosphere. Good map layout but the level design was kinda okay. voice acting was ok too (but with some bad microphones). Ultimately: A good CS for anyone who is new at playing Amnesia.

kjah4201 says
8 kjah4201

Aug 17th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very well thought out custom story! Great puzzles. Great scares. Really fun custom story, so good i played the whole way without stoping.

Community Rating

Average

8.8

213 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.