Claustrophobia is an Action/Adventure/Puzzle type mod in which you play a rebel in the Half-Life 2 universe fighting and solving his way through areas to get to safety.

Review RSS Feed SPY-maps says
5 SPY-maps

Feb 6th, 2014 6 people agree 0 people don't

It really amazes me that so many people give this mod a 8 to 10, i really can't give more then a 5/10.

I noticed quit a few errors, missing models, textures, sounds and scripts, (that is what the console said at least).

Then, the level layout was sometimes really good and in other places a real mess, sorry but i simply can't say it better. It really looked like the mapper really liked mapping on the first levels, but the further he went in to the project the worst the levels looked. Specially in the last few levels there were many rooms and hallways that simply had 1 texture, for floor, walls and ceiling!! And these places were filled with as it looked random placed models.
The back tracking was awfull, every puzzel i had to walk around and around, simply to see if there was a door opend somewere. Most puzzels didn't make sence anyway. And some didn't work. There were rooms filled with ammo and weapons, that i only could find after noclipping. Why these rooms were there was a real mistery to me, because the player couldn't get in there. At the end the mod crashed and i had to restarted my pc through the on/off button!!

So, all in all i think a 5 is even a bit high for this one.
What did surprice me most is that it seems that this one was already released 2 years ago or so. ANd now the mapper did go over all levels and fixed a lot of stuff. Does me wonder how they looked then back 2 years ago.

So, sorry. I do see you did put in a lot of time in some places. But in the same amount of places it really looked like you tried to get this one as quit released as possible.

a fellow mapper/modder,
Leon

dcf-joe says
10 dcf-joe

Feb 11th, 2011 5 people agree 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This review will not contain a traditional pro/con review, but rather just a semi-length text review. It also contains spoilers.

At first glance, you will notice that the download size of this mod is not that large. But, thinking that this mod is short because of the download size is extremely erroneous. This mod is best classified as a puzzle solving one. A majority of your time playing through this mod will be spent by backtracking once you gather something in order to move on to the next puzzle. Let me say this now, the mod creator definitely loves his keys LOL.

In order for the backtracking to work, one has to spend time thinking about how they are going to make their maps work with backtracking. The creator of this mod definitely thought out the maps. The maps themselves are traversed logically. The puzzles can be solved. I did have to read the included walkthrough more than once, but never did I have to noclip out of someplace.

You will also notice that concepts and assets are taken from a majority of the official Half-Life games, to include Half-Life 1 and its expansions. I noticed that the keys were probably taken from a Half-Life 1 mod. Some of the sounds were Half-Life 1. The tram was taken from Half-Life 1, btw I LOVED the fact that the creator included the tram sequence. A tram sequence was also taken from a Half-Life 1 level, where you are on the tram and there are guards, elevated, on your left and right. The antlion from Half-Life 2 is present, and you know when it is going to come. Enemies from Episode 2 are also present. The ending text was taken from Blue Shift when Barney Calhoun was also considered OUT OF RANGE.

I love that the Episode 2 engine was used. You can definitely tell that the lighting and overall graphical appearance is better and sharper, respectively.

Since you are underground a majority of the time, you will cherish your time aboveground. The funny thing is, the only thing that scared me, appeared aboveground. LOL.

<3 the mod.

JoshZemlinsky says
8 JoshZemlinsky

Feb 12th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Ah yes, i've been waiting for this mod around 1 year now i believe. And finally, it was released!
First of i would like to thank the creators for making such a great mod. It has somehow been the wait worth, and on some points not.
There is both good things and bad things about the mod.
Down sides might be that often i end up running in circles looking for the keys that you have to collect. And after collecting them i end up running around more looking for the door it fits.
After all that is probaly what makes the mod take so long to beat. Also that you have no crosshair (or atleast in my version) makes it all abit weird.
Otherwise, i love the map design great looking levels. Not missing anything, i havn't come across any bugs yet. And for once a mod that doesn't spam you with ammo and health! thats for one thing, something i enjoy about this.
In the end, 8/10 and good work.

-Josh

twolfe says
3 twolfe

Jun 13th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Parts felt unfinished. Had a difficult time, even on medium. Had to use noclip twice because of no possible way to get through two parts (not fighting, but just area navigation). Key system didn't work too well because it is hard to see the keys. One part was impossible to solve until I looked online how to solve it. Otherwise, it felt like it could have been a potential game.

LTChaosLT says
6 LTChaosLT

May 28th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

well this mod is hard , it seems that i always skip something and i have to go back and look around for half hour and than by pure acident find something that i need to progress

SolidFake says
8 SolidFake

May 3rd, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Like Philip already mentioned, the mod includes a lot of switches in terms of quality.
Nethertheless this mod makes many things great, nice areas where you can really see that the author put some thoughts into the mapping.
Also this mod includes so many good ideas, simple things like the wood that blocks the door.
Or that funny part with the dispenser which explodes after you got the nade from it ^^
Still, there are some things that I missed, some sort of ectase in combat, the levels are mostly the same, the enemies are placed very well, but you keep fighting the same ones, only in the last one you meet a bunch of new enemies.
Also the keys are so goddamn hard to see, just making the key red or yellow can't really be that hard.

Anyway, I give it a 8 cause of the funny and good ideas, and the very high quality of the map layouts.

danielsangeo says
9 danielsangeo

Mar 6th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

This is an excellent and very long mod for Half Life 2. I spent ages getting lost in some levels. It was really great.

My only gripe (and why it doesn't get a 10/10) is that many of the "keys" are nearly invisible unless you're looking directly at them with your flashlight shining and some of the other things necessary to open doors (such as access cards and their associated readers) looked rather out of place.

For example: in a brick wall, during one part of the game, is a "card reader" which appears to be simply four rectangles with "Combine Metal" textures and a "Combine Forcefield" inside the rectangle. It was a little...off.

Otherwise, though, superb level editing and very engrossing. I loved it. :)

Meki says
7 Meki

Apr 22nd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This was very long and that's the good thing. Some puzzles were not quite obvious or I had to watch a walkthrough to see where to go next etc.
Also there were bugs like the big red ERROR models and the game was crashing in two or three places so I just had to noclip past that area :(
Many of the parts would be great to add little detail into, it felt sometimes like too plain. Overall I would recommend this mod, I had fun playing it.

BIWDC says
10 BIWDC

Apr 15th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Very Well Done mod Play it!

L.A.S.11 says
5 L.A.S.11

Feb 16th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Типичный мод от человека, который только-только освоил Source SDK. Амбиций выше крыши, а толку - никакого. Геймплей родом из 90-х (хождения по полупустым коридорам с нудным отстрелом зомбарей в поисках сотни ключей - мне казалось, что это прошлый век), дизайн уровней на тройку (но зато здесь просто НЕМЕРЕННОЕ КОЛИЧЕСТВО СРАНЫХ ВЕНТИЛЯЦИОННЫХ ШАХТ, ПО КОТОРЫМ НУЖНО ПОСТОЯННО ЛАЗИТЬ! После этого мода начинаешь их действительно ненавидеть.) Проходняк, одним словом.

Community Rating

Average

7.5

47 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.