Gamma Energy visits the Aperture Science East facility, built after GLaDOS gained sentience. The goal was to create a facility where GLaDOS' research could be examined and tested without harm to employees or other people who actually... mattered, without her knowledge. Pick up a prototype Portal Device and try not to die.

Review RSS Feed Cleverlegs says
10 Cleverlegs

Apr 20th, 2011 5 people agree 2 people don't

Better than the original portal

TacoForPaco says
9 TacoForPaco

Nov 29th, 2010 3 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

Excellent concept and puzzles. Unlike other Portal mods (such as Portal: Prelude), I love how this game was actually puzzle-based, instead of skill/time based. I like a game where you are forced to sit down and think. I completed this game checking the walkthrough only once, so the difficulty was spot-on, in my opinion.

My major complaint comes from the story and glass shooting objectives. While the story concept was brilliant, I feel there is so much potential gone to waste. I didn't completely understand why Chell died (although, I assume she 'self-destructed') and the backstory was underdeveloped. Still good, though. Second, I didn't like the glass shooting objectives because I felt like I was cheating the system. It is okay outside the chambers, but not inside.

All in all, really fun mod. Difficult puzzles keep the game popping, but an underdeveloped story drags it down. I'd highly recommend this mod. One of the best I've played!

Vinivite says
9 Vinivite

Dec 15th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

I really think this is one of the best mods I ever played (and I played almost all Portal mods released here in ModDB).
The chambers here are the most well designed, beautiful and epic chambers I ever seen in a Portal mod. I particularly loved the "Vertigo" chamber. It's so HUGE and cool!

The only item that disappointed me and made me rate Gamma Energy 9 and not 10, is that there's no new storyline. Obviously what happens on the end is different from what happens in Portal, but no custom GLaDOS voice was used, and this is very sad because the rest of the mod is perfect.
The new elements like the explosive barrels and the breakable glass of the observation rooms are lovely and creative.

Everybody that beated Portal at least once must play this mod!

(PS: I had to check the walkthrough two times... O.o)

Hardarm says
10 Hardarm

Nov 10th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I love this you must try it.

pupetman64 says
9 pupetman64

Apr 11th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Really solid for the most part. The puzzles are fairly easy but still a lot of fun to play. It kind of loses it towards the end where you are going through the maintenance areas of the lab, it's kind of confusing and hard to figure out what to do.

Ojo7155 says
10 Ojo7155

Oct 5th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

An awesome mod. But why aren't there any walk-through videos for the advanced chambers? After 2 months, I've finally finished the advanced "Uninsulated Electrical Parts," but there are still ones I'm completely stuck on. Very cool mod.

AD_79 says
5 AD_79

Aug 16th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

While some puzzles are interesting and make you think a bit, the fact that there's not much new here makes this mod not much fun to play. Most test chambers are too simple and require little thought. The story is nonexistent here. Basically, it's a watered-down version of Portal that is not worth playing, unless you are slightly stupid. Don't get me wrong, there are some genuinely fun puzzles, but the majority of them just aren't enjoyable.

JohnSmirnov says
10 JohnSmirnov

Mar 31st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I do not agree that this is better than original Portal, everything have its pros and cons, but yeah, this mod is amazing.

Theevina says
10 Theevina

Mar 3rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

This mod actually made me feel like I was playing Portal for the first time again. There were a few too many chambers that I had to figure out, but overall it was top notch quality and very fun.

Elwood_It says
9 Elwood_It

Feb 27th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best mod for Portal.

Community Rating

Average

9.2

120 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.