You escape the unimaginable horror and find yourself in The Old Harman's Castle. You must find Francis Harman, the castle owner to find out what's after you...

Review RSS Feed DnALANGE says
10 DnALANGE

Jun 22nd, 2012 8 people agree 2 people don't

Awesome Cs!
I was really impressed!
Play my mod Premonition!
I am curious what YOU think of my CS!
Cause this was SOO good!
10\10

Greets Lange.

Ragendar says
9 Ragendar

Apr 1st, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

I was impressed with this particular custom story. I'll be hitting points in order of story, level design, sound, conflict, and conclusion.

The story began in an ordinary way, running from a monster is always a good way of getting a story started, but several things struck me as strange. First, the protagonist's wife is slaughtered, and he doesn't really show any reaction or emotion which is necessary when you begin a story with a tragedy. Next, the protagonist's motivation is not always clear. He doesn't recognize the monster to be set exclusively on him, and yet he chooses to stay within Harman's castle chasing after the group who supposedly brought him inside, left him a note, and then went on an expedition to the other side of the castle. Overall I like the story, but these points could have used clearing up.

Level design was pretty damn good. I was very happy with fairly clear directions of where I needed to go, or where I needed to be, and got lost very little. I thought it was amusing how I would grab an item, be chased out of a room through the opposite side, and then the door would slam shut and lock behind me. I appreciate how this prevents worry of having missed something. Elements of the rooms were well placed, believable, and useful.

Sound was pretty standard in my opinion. I mean that in a neutral way, in that it was chosen well enough, but there was nothing particularly impressive about it.

The conflict of the story was set up well with the brute acting as the main antagonist, grunts acting as secondary antagonists along with water monsters. The brute's entrances were well set, and made significant by the character's observations, giving the player a reason to fear him a bit more than the others. The bane of my Amnesia existance has always been water monsters. So when I had to go through the excruciatingly long water area towards the end of chapter one, I had a heart attack.

The conclusion (of chapter one) was short and abrupt, as is this section

TheKingCreep says
10 TheKingCreep

Apr 13th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Epic!

Killermark says
10 Killermark

Apr 12th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

It was an awesome 2 hours I spent playing this cs.
It's a little short tough, but awesome, quality over quantity.

I like the first chapter's second map.I was going, then ambiance, going and again some sound from a distance, it's one of the few cs's that I had to quit because of the atmosphere.

Every monster and every scare are placed perfectly. Especially the water lurker.You gave me back the old Amnesia feeling...

The puzzles were simple, I didn't had to **** with a puzzle for hours.I seriously hate those.

And now my favorite:the atmosphere.
I already wrote down how good is the atmosphere is, but the feeling on the last few maps in chapter 2.God, I really felt like something is chasing me.

Stuntovic says
6 Stuntovic

Mar 15th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

How is 70% of the people giving this Custom story a 10/10... Its not bad but it is certain no masterpiece. It seems we have a lot of people who appriciate fast action, simple puzzles and lots of monsters.. Maybe its because of my personel preferences. I also played THE GREAT WORK before this one. So maybe thats why im a bit dissapointed with this one. Because Chapter 1 + 2 is like one of the 7 chapters The Great Work has to offer.
I care more about a good story and lengty gameplay, than constant action pumped runalong. Dont get me wrong, this custom story isnt bad at all. But compared to other CS its a bit short imo. Although I do believe there is a lot of work on it. I enjoyed chapter 2 more than I did 1. The story is qutie thin and the voice acting not that great. It improved in the second part.

Conclusion:
Chapter one: 5
Chapter two: 7
Gives us a 6.

Xn0x0neX says
9 Xn0x0neX

Mar 6th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Liked chapter 1 about to start chapter 2. I do hope in the future you make them a lil bit longer. Other than that it was fun.

insanecomeinpeace says
10 insanecomeinpeace

Nov 14th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This is Awesome :D

DevanMist says
5 DevanMist

Oct 30th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

This custom story was fun to play though, but it didn't feature anything too extraordinary in my opinion. The level design was really good. Voice acting was okay, the person's voice started to annoy me after a while, but it did feature voice acting, which is more than a lot of other custom stories. The story wasn't too in depth, and the entire custom story was really short, or it seemed like it at least. It's good, but I don't think it deserves the extremely high ratings that it has.

jordanrhobson says
9 jordanrhobson

Sep 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Was really good a specially chapter 2.

beg4mercy says
10 beg4mercy

Aug 25th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

ERMEHGERD that ish all

Community Rating

Average

9.4

309 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.