Deterioration is a full conversion for Amnesia: The Dark Descent, featuring an entirely new focus on atmosphere and horror. It focuses less on startling the player and more on immersing the player in a deep, subtle story with psychologically horrifying themes. All item glow has been disabled, so try everything, repeat, EVERYTHING. All items include a description of their use upon interaction, so if you're stuck, try messing around with everything, and think hard about your ultimate goal. This story was inspired by Myst, so the puzzles will feature similar attributes and you will need to use your head often. Play in a dark room with headphones if possible.

Review RSS Feed itwilit says
10 itwilit

Jul 9th, 2012 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

10/10 would bang

Z0D14CS0L says
7 Z0D14CS0L

May 1st, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

This Full Conversion its very promising, you feel really lost from the start couse the takeable items aren't glowing, so that bring back memories from the good old adventure games where you have to touch everything and read their description to make progress.
The Atmosphere is very good, claustrophobic and full of mind shattering paranoid. The efects and events are amazing, very ****** up.
The best part is there is no jumpscares at all

The let down its the big bad bugs that overun this mod, the lack of full on blood-chilling moments, and that the story its a little anti-climatic in the end.
If the developer could re-implement the high points of this mod and add the few things this lacks (and solving the annoying buugss!!!) onto another mod, that one surely be the perfect amnesia mod.

Lazzer6 says
10 Lazzer6

Apr 13th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

So far the best mod I've played. :)

Staminist says
10 Staminist

Oct 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This has to be in my top 3 CS I ever played, and I played pretty much of them!
GREAT work!

rosalexrosalexros says
10 rosalexrosalexros

Sep 16th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

With no doubts my favorite total conversion I've ever played. There is not to much of Amnesia HPL engine total conversions, not mods. But nevertheless the Deterioration is surely the best one at least I believe so. Absolutely unique style of building atmosphere and developing story and characters. Unlike the original game the Deterioration is focused not on the absolute terror with unstoppable monsters hunting you ever forever, but a lot more on the very depressive and gloomy atmosphere. One of the most memorable gaming experience I've ever achieved, cause I do not remember any other game (yes, game, not just mod) that was so tragic and touching, truly deep one story.

Jesterofpain says
7 Jesterofpain

Jul 21st, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Very glitchy, ending is like WHAT THE FLUFFY?!

Humeba says
8 Humeba

Jun 17th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

This was a pretty good custom story. Would like to see some more.

Jane18CZ says
10 Jane18CZ

Jun 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

My favorite CS ever! A lot of details, great story, mapping, VERY ATMOSPHERIC and much more. It's little bit hard because there is less hints, but I love it that way. I can use my brain ;) Deserved 100%!

kuba371 says
10 kuba371

Jun 1st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Zajebiste

Gaviao says
9 Gaviao

May 30th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

everything is perfect! but it don't have mementos to give you hints or help you about something.9/10!!!

Community Rating

Average

8.9

55 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.