You woke up in an apartment high-rise building. You don't remember anything, even your name. You have deep cuts all over your body... you are bleeding heavily. On the floor and walls is lot of blood, obviously, not only yours. You need to find something to sew up the wounds, and then try to understand why this nightmare is going on...

Review RSS Feed Vcc2cc says
5 Vcc2cc

Feb 20th, 2011 5 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

*******
Cons
*******
Obviously the translations are horrible, but you get the drift.

The obnoxious screen hit/flinching gave me a headache and wasn't stressful or tense, it was just annoying. I'd seriously consider reducing that screen overlay or whatever to be less frequent and severe. If you wanted to make it tense you could add some low, but urgent music as a replacement.

The color correction was bland. A simple gray tint to the game would have been just as good, probably better.

The level layout was done nicely, but you need better texture choice, and alignment. Not to mention a load of detail (decals and overlays) since your furniture was so scarce due to the item hunting in the mod. Also, clip the outside of the building, as you can fall and land on the ledge below.

The only obvious parts of the game are when you're given a gun, and when a blood smear actually tells you A+B=C. I got stuck on the door handle thing. It's a metal handle bar from a door, placed onto a piece of wood. It seemed obvious that it belonged to one of the locked doors, yet for some reason it connected onto the metal window and allowed you to open it. Most of the mod was like this, but its seriously 5 minutes long and didn't offer enough time for players to get use to the "check everywhere" method.

*******
Pros
*******
The slow-motion effect was nice (but why would SWAT be using grenades?) and the weapon models were beautiful.

Needs a lot of work but you are on to something.

Held says
9 Held

Feb 5th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

Comatose is a well made, professional looking mod. The beginning is a little bit weird and I' ve needed more then one try coming trough the mod. But I was never at the point to give up. After all I made it to the end and I'm glad to see a sequel.

Don't forsake, activate your brain and enjoy!

majorD2 says
8 majorD2

Feb 4th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

The plot is this:
You wake up in a pool of blood, not knowing who you are. You try to escape the building to find a corpse. You find a key and a gun, and go down stairs. You run in with the SWAT. You have two choices. Resist, or be arrested.

I had fun playing this game. However this has more puzzles then combat. You need to find hidden items. I will give you a hint. Press E on the paintings. I had to load a lot of saves throughout the game.
I think that the creator of this game put a lot of effort in this game.
That effort paid off. This is not for people who suck at finding keys though. The design of the buildings are meh, but the inside the building is pretty cool. I suggest you play this.

Hezus says
8 Hezus

Feb 6th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

I found the mod very interesting :) Nice visual effects and the setting was pretty original. The different endings and the comics were a nice twist to the story. The fact that you are slowly losing health makes the puzzles more thrilling, but it would have been nice if there were more to it than just searching for ways to open a door.

And it wouldn't hurt to let someone check your spelling. My English is also far from perfect, but the mod would be more polished that way. While on the subject: getting a voice actor would be even cooler than subtitles :)

Overall: nice mod, cool art style. Next episode could use some more variation in puzzles. Looking forward to it!

stelthalo says
10 stelthalo

May 30th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Just plain amazing. Cant wait for the seccond one!!

Teh-Critic says
8 Teh-Critic

Feb 9th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Although short, it sets the player to panic, since no one wants do die while playing the character. Interesting and similar to the fustration of playing Portal, those levels that start driving regular players to the point where it causes the player to either skip the level or stop playing. The use of Left 4 Dead 2, Half Life 2, and Counter Strike: Source adds some character to the game itself. The fact that more is to come, hopefully, it wil be long, more action packed, and possibly still having those irritating puzzle parts for finding keys, items, etc. Also love the ending credit music. Good choice of music, intriguing puzzles, and a short, yet intence combat section.

Rokth says
9 Rokth

Jan 18th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This was a very good mod. The game starts off with the player being thrown into a situation they have to think through quickly without hesitating.

TheLegendofRJay says
4 TheLegendofRJay

Apr 27th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Eh needs checkpoints

DarkShift says
7 DarkShift

Aug 20th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

short but good elements.

bananaman954 says
8 bananaman954

May 18th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

great!

Community Rating

Average

7.6

208 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.