A realistic adventure with a focus on puzzles and logical thinking, based in a fictional lodge. You must uncover the secrets the place holds, all the while fighting for your life in the bitter cold of the Northern Rocky Mountains...

Review RSS Feed ☣Kaernk☣ says
10 ☣Kaernk☣

Apr 28th, 2013 4 people agree 0 people don't

I think this story is amazing! The house itself is so extremly well detaild and the layout is just epic!

The story is good and for once not original, which in my opinion is a good thing. I also love the scares! There are pretty few scares, but due to the fact that the wolf can sneak by on you at anytime in more or less every room is so spooky and is keeping you on the guard during the whole gameplay more or less. I even accidently ran right on to the wolf once. He took the way at the kitchen and I didn't hear him so I ran right on him :p

I also loved your cassettes and the fact that you can combine them and listen to them how many times as you like. I also loved the puzzles! I admit, some of them are a bit hard to solve. Almost too hard. I do like challanges thought.

And I agree with the others, add subtitles. I understood mostly everything, but I know alot of people don't

Not much bad I can say about it actually. A bit hard to solve some of the puzzles and subtitles should be added. Oh, and the wolf upstairs can spawn over and over again which is pretty annyoing to be honest and the story could sometimes lagg, otherwise awesome!

10/10 - Masterpiece

chronogyros says
10 chronogyros

Feb 26th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The attention to detail in this mod was admittedly overwhelming at first, but quickly became incredibly respected and adored. Not only that, but the story was well thought out, and executed perfectly. The tapes gave cryptic and at times comical advice, always trying to steer you in multiple ways. This mod had me running in circles for hours, but I never seemed to mind. The prospect of continuing the story drove me to keep going. Props to the developer for making this polished full conversion mod a reality.

10/10 Excellent.

hypershadic88 says
10 hypershadic88

Jul 4th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Still my favorite custom story, this one actually makes you think!
the ambiance and maps are truly perfect, what made this custom story
more tense and scary was the fact that it was completely grounded in reality, it could have happened! The use of wolves as the threat was
excellent, you even went as far as to have holes in the walls here and there to show how the wolves were able to enter the building. Another thing that is a testament to your amazing dedication to the custom story was that some people may not even know about the "night" portion, you can finish the entire custom story with-out suffering from one of the falls. I played through it a second time immediately to see if you could beat it during the day, and you can!

the pros:
The voice acting was superb, probably the best I've heard.
The cassette hunt puzzle was fresh and actually made you think.
The ambiance, oh my god the ambiance, this is where Bitterwood peak truly shined.
The story was amazing, finding out the truth of what happened in the lodge, it was an adventure to say the least.

the cons:
There was but one little hindrance, as I have absolutely no musical bone in my body and am probably tone death, the puzzle with the piano was the only part I looked up how to do, while I'll admit this isn't the game's fault, the music that plays during the game should have went away when you were next to the piano, because you have a hard time hearing what to play on the piano on account of the background music overlapping the cassette's audio.

Overall, this is a truly perfect custom story, that offers an original experience that no other has. 10/10

ElectricEye says
8 ElectricEye

Mar 26th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Cool (no pun intended) and unusual concept, with an interesting backstory. What could have been stronger was an overarching conflict or purpose. I wasn't sure what my goal was - to keep warm, contact for help, "escape", or what? You basically solve puzzles and listen to tapes because they're there, not because you have a story-based reason to go somewhere (the ending could have been a more anchored goal, although it's hinted at in the notes). The puzzles were pretty good though. You're the only one I can think of who correctly identified the Amnesia hammer as a mallet, a tool which is extremely impractical for its typical use of breaking boards in this game. Glad to see something make sense for a change.

There's no real horror atmosphere, but that's probably not the intention either. It's more about the wilderness closing in on you, held at bay only by walls and windows - and those have collapsed. This is a concept I'm personally very interested in, and it works well here. As you run back and forth in the residence, you can never be sure another "wolf" has not broken through. Penumbra dogs of course look bad and move awkwardly, but that's not the mod creator's fault. What perhaps could have been better is the danger factor. Avoiding the enemies is very easy, to the point of being a non-issue unless you let yourself get trapped in a corner.

The warmth gimmick doesn't come into play much, though that doesn't really matter. At least I'm not hearing chattering teeth. The music is quite tedious. It's not BAD by any means, it's just that it's the same thing over and over and over and over. Well, at least I'm not hearing chattering teeth.

There's also the unfair jumping part. You're more likely to fall down (and trigger the darkness) because the camera unexpectedly jerks you around than because you actually miss the jump. Just thought I'd mention that, because there's quite a big difference between light and darkness.

Anyway, a really good conversion.

russianred90 says
8 russianred90

Dec 1st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Fantastic story! This custom story had me searching on my feet for hours. Great story, great environment, and perfect use of horror. The feeling of being stuck in a lodge in the middle of a snow dense forrest. It just gave me chills. I couldn't stop playing this. I'm giving a 8/10. Everything about this was amazing. The only reason I'm not giving it a 10/10 is that I think it could have been a bit longer. Possibly more rooms and more puzzle within the house? I really enjoyed the puzzle tapes and was actually sad once it ended. I also felt as though once you reached the basement, I had a feeling the story would end soon. Maybe due to not much to do down there?

Grats on the great story man.

Rueppells-Fox says
10 Rueppells-Fox

Oct 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This TC is absolutely amazing and I'm finding it very difficult to even find flaws!

The level design for each area was really intriguing and your use of the standard ATDD models (and all those custom models) was interesting and really enhanced the gameplay. I enjoyed having the interior of the house in (mostly) one main piece - it made the whole aspect feel much more realistic. It's a shame that the highest level of detail comes at the cost of optimization (I have a slow computer), but it was a very immersive and detailed game even without the extra bits!

I can't think of anything to criticize since the only things I can think of a stylistic choices and not genuine criticism (such as the method you used for time transitions - showing the gradual change in darkness might cause more anticipation fear respones). But I'm not complaining (much) since these are really minor things and they didn't have a huge effect on my enjoyment.

Overall, I'm definitely giving this a 10/10 - you definitely deserve it!

GoodGamePlayer says
10 GoodGamePlayer

May 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Awesome! I liked especially the level design. Well done!

Army111 says
1 Army111

May 12th, 2013 0 people agree 6 people don't

total conversion totally without keys and mechanism of open button or kinda.

NightSshadeGaming says
9 NightSshadeGaming

May 7th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Not sure if I'm super dumb or the puzzles are really complicated. The game has it's atmosphere as scary as Amnesia The Dark Descent can be. The lack of sounds makes this hunter's lodge an amazingly scary place to be in. I love how you detailed every single bit of the story. Like, if you fall down the sky turns dark, and if you decide to try and leave this place while it's dark, wolves spawn and kill you. The custom models are amazing as well! The whole detailing and level design is on top level. That's one of the biggest pros. The cons however are there as well. The house is really big, so it might become really confusing where you have to go. It's hard already with these riddles, and the lack of subtitles does not help. I seriously think you should put some subtitles while the tapes are playing, since even though the voice acting is good, it might still be not understandable or clear. What I disliked mostly was the ending of the story. From ever since you got out of the house, the ending is far too long to be considered 'climatic'. Shorten the ending scenes, since you lose the viewers interest with that long final scenes. First you get out, then you pass out, then you run and fall down somewhere, then you wake up and run again, then you run and run and in the end you die... Really long. Although everything else seems epic, the ending really didn't manage to impress me.
Rating would go 9/10 for now, since with that kind of design and custom items, and with that scary atmosphere I cannot give it a lower rating. A really great story!

VeteranGhillie says
10 VeteranGhillie

May 5th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing, is the only way to describe this XD

Community Rating

Average

8.9

37 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.