Azure Sheep is a single player mod for Half-Life. The player is one of the Barney guards that is on post in one of the entrances of the Black Mesa facility When the chaos starts you realize that Kate, your college, code name 'Azure Sheep' is in the complex and in big dangers. You decide to rescue her... Compatible with Steam. Download links can be found here. The above page also includes a patch to make Azure Sheep more compatible with Steam.

Review RSS Feed DarkShift says
10 DarkShift

Aug 11th, 2012 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

the true Half Life Blue Shift, with so many epic and unique moments. Nuff said.

Dido_o says
10 Dido_o

Apr 3rd, 2012 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

awesome

Aublak says
6 Aublak

Apr 5th, 2014 2 people agree 0 people don't

I was really excited about playing this mod again. Back in 2001 it took me forever to download it. Eventually I got stuck and there was no reliable walkthrough to get me through it. I never finished it back then.

So I decided to replay it. And I regret to say that I am underwhelmed. The levels are very straight forward and linear. There is a ridiculous number of locked doors. I hate locked doors. Having Kate as an ally is more of a hassle than a help.

I find that a good mod/game is best played on the hardest difficultly. This is where the mechanics and maps should really shine and where you can really experience the intelligence and thoughtfulness of the mapper. I didn't feel that way about this mod. At times I was at the end of my rope and at other times I was breezing along. I had to use godmode several times to push through.

Enemy placement was either very good or very poor. I was often being ambushed by Vorts with reliable cover and at other times I was too much in the open, which I though was unfair. I was often exploiting the grunts weakness of extreme range by sniping them with my pistol. The 'Aliens' pulse rifle made the MP5 obsolete. After I got the HEV suit, I should have never got the MP5 in the first place. There were basically no puzzles aside from 'find the button'. The map transitions were also pretty lame.

With that said, I enjoyed the beginning most of all. Headcrabs were always well placed. The part where you had no weapons and had Kate protect you was oddly very fun. I really enjoyed my attempts at distracting a zombie while having Kate shoot him down and at the same time dodging Kate's shots. That would have been fun if that section was drawn out longer. Maybe the player could have only been given a melee weapon for a while longer. The Panthereye battle was a bit of a joke.

I don't know. I feel like there was a lot of lost potential. A lot of effort put into it. I wasn't bad really, but I had higher hopes. Blue Shift was better.

Qwertyus says
10 Qwertyus

Feb 3rd, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best HL mods.

Jonexxx says
9 Jonexxx

Feb 25th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

It doesn't get much better than this mod. Worthy to be it's own game.

flippedoutkyrii says
8 flippedoutkyrii

Jun 11th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

This mod is jam packed with plenty of new content and surprises!

I could tell the level designers had a field day when they began mapping this mod, as many of the levels helped combine all 3 Half-lifes together. You fall out of a ceiling and meet Gordon Freeman as he comes up on a lift with some spiffy shades, you meet a scrawny Adrian Shephard as he tries to find his way back to his friends and en Barney Calhoun makes an appearence! I loved how this mod built upon the Black Mesa we came to love.

The new enemies are fun to fight and plenty of the guns make for interesting firefights.

However, leading Kate around can get irritating at times, but I was surprised to see she could actually hold up her own in firefights and even helped me a few times, so I gotta give DAV some props for that.

Something no fan of half-life should pass up :)

poshgaloo says
10 poshgaloo

Jun 9th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

What blue shift should have been! An awesome classic that is still holding up today. :)

gamefreak42 says
10 gamefreak42

Apr 27th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

1 of the 20 greatest half life mods ever made

HWguy says
8 HWguy

Mar 3rd, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

One of the coolest mods, in this mod you can re-visit areas what are in half-life, such as Black Mesa Inbound, cool mod, i like.

Now im rating:

Enemies: 7
Allies: 8
Weapons: 7
Levels: 8
----------------

Enemies are cool, i like panthereye.
Allies are cool too, the construction worker is best.
Weapons are great, i like the Chumtoad.
Levels are Awesome, my favourite is Black Mesa Inbound.

Loulimi says
6 Loulimi

Mar 29th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

The mapping and the gameplay is repetitive, boring, with lacks of coherence.

Community Rating

Average

9

196 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.