In Amnesia: A Coward's Debt, you take the role of Jean, who searches his home for answers. Unlike my previous custom story, The Great Work, which contains in excess of thirty maps, this story contains only three detailed maps, but is full of character drama to make up for it! I will be using assets from The Dark Descent, Justine, and Machine for Pigs, and there will be another brand new custom enemy. Justine and Machine for Pigs will not be required in order to play this Custom Story.

Review RSS Feed ShiningBlader says
10 ShiningBlader

Apr 16th, 2014 4 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This one made me pant like a little b****

it was nearly perfect

--> It takes place in a mansion which is the kind of setting I like the most (dungeons are overused IMO)

--> The matches can light candles and torches but only for a while. After that, you're in the dark again. I liked that as it leaves you feeling both easy and uneasy (the light gives you more visibility and makes the maps more cosy but for a limited period)

I also liked the matches idea in general. never done before (at least that I know of)

--> The sound effects: I reached the point where I would just run to the nearest closet whenever I heard something. Like I said, panting like a little b****

--> The monster: This story had a very nice warm-up. You don't see the enemy the first 2 times (it might be possible at first but I didn't really understand what it was because it was dark) and the first time the monster appears right beside you I nearly had a heart attack (figuratively of course). It is... swift and unlike anything that I was expecting.

--> The monster spawning sounds: Hearing a guy screaming the moment the enemy appears was, like, GENIUS! I'm going to do that as well in my future CS. I don't know, it really added lots of tension that regular monsters and they grows just don't give anymore. Hearing a woman cry (at least I think it was a woman) in the middle of a dark hallway (because candles don't stay lighted forever!) made me panic and run for my life, because I thought the monster was coming. again, genius!

Honourable mentions:

--> When I discovered that lights don't stay lighted forever and ran to light everything again

--> When I was in the first floor and the music room where you're ambushed for the first time is in complete darkness. I kinda broke here and start laughing

--> The moment the elevator went down instead of up. Awesome "I'm so f***ed!" moment right there. You should see my face xD

Congratulations to the maker! Hope to see more of you

SwedishGames says
10 SwedishGames

Apr 15th, 2014 3 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

SPOILERS BELOW EVERYONE!!!!

Right, played through it again. Yet again, this was just astonishing. Found some new stuff this time though compared to the beta version. Some more flashbacks which then made the story even more understandable. For me, there's basically nothing bad about this custom story, except for one thing.

Pros:

- Great atmosphere
- Scary as f
- Custom content
- Custom monster (freaked the hell out of me)
- Original story

Cons:

- I actually had some problems with the Weeper. Alot actually. For example with the cutscene where Guillaime (probably mispelled) visits
your house and the weeper starts chasing you. I jumped up on the table and eventually the weeper lost interest in me, completely. I threw chairs at him and did everything trying to get his attention, since I was supposed to die after all. It happend the same in that cellar with the Master Bedroom Key. Stood up on a box and the weeper began chasing me again. This time he was chasing me, all the time but instead I think I managed to bug him again, where he now just wanted to attack a box all the time. It didn't matter if I ran away, he would still attack the box.

Summary:

But notify that the weeper problem is acceptable since it technically is the players fault. This was without a doubt one of the most scariest custom stories you can find out there today. You said you wanted to make the most terrifying custom story ever. I can tell you right now, you have succeeded.

10/10 A must play

☣Kaernk☣ says
9 ☣Kaernk☣

Apr 17th, 2014 6 people agree 3 people don't

Positives:

- Scary
- Great level design
- Good scripting
- Intresting story

Negatives:

- I was expecting more "regular" monster encounters
- Annoying bug (read conclusion)
- Framedrop at the elevator
- Very short when you know what to do

Conclusion:

You wanted it to be very scary and you suceeded. I was expecting more regular monster encounters though. The only few times the monster spawned, all he did was pretty much just walking by or killed me instantly.

I managed to glitch through the map by jumping on a table with a lot of bottles on it near a bar. When I died, I respawned under the map and kept dying. I had to start all over again.

When I went into the elevator for the first time, something nearby broke for what ever reason and it was laggy as hell for around 10 seconds.

-----------

It was a really great mod in whole though. Highly recommended.

9/10 - Awesome

gustl2 says
10 gustl2

Apr 19th, 2014 2 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Another outstanding mod by Damascus :D

Once again you have outdone yourself. This mod is brilliant in so many ways: the settings, the atmosphere, the story. I really like the fact that there was no dungeon in this mod (heavily overused), just the mansion (my favorite thing). 10/10

Another thing I really liked is rare monster encounters.
Some people will say that there were too little monster encounters, but I say it was enough. Too frequent and this mod wouldn't have been as good as it is. Besides, rare monster encounters gives you a false feeling of security. That way the shock is much greater when you do encounter a monster. Good job there. 10/10

The objects and textures imported from AMFP were a nice touch, as was the match box (something new and fun). The only thing I'd like to say here is: make those objects more interactive (turning the lamp on/off,...). 9/10

The monster was scary. Music helped a lot too to contribute to scariness. The encounters were rare but really nasty and scary. Great work. 10/10

Voice acting was good. Overseer's voice also guided you and offered helpful hints. I liked that. 10/10

Music created that nice atmosphere and warned you when there was danger. 10/10

The story had a nice pace. I usually try to put myself in the role of the character I play. That means that I become physically and mentally that person. That way I can ask myself what were the motives for my actions, why are these things happening to me,... I felt really bad for not helping my wife and cheating my good friend. The thought of eternity scares me but I felt that the punishment I received was just. You know, you really have a talent for writing/creating stories. They really pull the player/reader in and keep them focused and entertained. Pure quality mate. 10/10

Others have covered the bugs, so I won't mention them.


Overall: 10/10.

Thank you for creating this wonderful mod. I hope you continue making brilliant mods like this.


Kind regards,

Aljaz

dquilon says
10 dquilon

Apr 22nd, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is without a doubt one of the best CS out there...

I love the integration of AMFP and TDD, and that it ran smoothly on my weak notebook.

The monster is an original mix of No-Face and other creatures... very creepy and scary...

I would love to see a second new story, with the same rules... the same punishment

cryptid85 says
10 cryptid85

Mar 11th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

I'm pleasantly surprised by how much I loved this mod after hating The Great Work.

The visuals are great. A Coward's Debt uses many assets from Machine for Pigs and resembles the mansion of Mandus from said game. It's a breath of fresh air after seeing the same textures and models from The Dark Descent used to death, furthermore the mansion in A Coward's Debt is wonderfully dark and mysterious. The atmosphere is spot on as well.

Like Machine for Pigs no sanity is lost in darkness, and this is certainly for the better. One of the reasons I hated The Great Work so much is that because of the extremely stingy amount of lantern oil given the player would often run around in the dark and go insane, which was very frustrating. A Coward's Debt uses the darkness to build up tension and atmosphere without frustrating the **** out of the player.

There is one monster in A Coward's Debt and it is completely original. Its visual and audio design is terrifying and the actual NPC has far better AI than the Gatherers from The Dark Descent. The only drawback to A Coward's Debt is the monster encounters. Whenever the player encounters the monster, which doesn't happen very much, they pretty much die instantly. I would have much preferred to have to sneak by an enemy patrol that doesn't despawn, like in Machine for Pigs or the Penumbra games.

Overall it is an amazing mod, easily one of the best I have ever played.

Z0D14CS0L says
10 Z0D14CS0L

Feb 16th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Posibly the best custom story, the new monster is amazing, the concept behind the story is outstanding.
The level desing is superb, the resources from AMFP are used extremely well and add to the mistery of the mansion.
The light mechanics are a little annoying but, after realizing that the light will go out, its add a good twist at last.
The only bad thing, is the little re-play value of it, and that is too short.

SovietMentality says
10 SovietMentality

Jan 3rd, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Truly well done indeed, a love a story of man being tormented by his own guilt and sin, this shows us how bad selfishness can be and that it could lead one to a broken future life. And so on

umbakarna says
10 umbakarna

Oct 25th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Not much to say, one of the scariest mods and considering its length and slow pace it is very good. Great story and voice acting, choice of music, really strange monster... There were some bugs in first versions but who cares, this is great mod.

cav8000 says
10 cav8000

Oct 23rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I usually don't take the time to write reviews but WOW! I have literally played hundreds of Amnesia custom stories and Coward's Debt is the absolute best I have ever played. I have never said that about any other custom story. Coward's Debt is not the same old Amnesia story. I couldn't stop playing it once I started.

The house graphics are incredible and very detailed without causing any issues with frame rate at all. The atmosphere is damn creepy. I got chills up my back in several places in this house. The voice acting is top notch. Monster used is highly creative. The level design is amazing. Puzzles are excellent. Story is highly involving and keeps you interested the entire way through. I just can't say enough about this story and to think the creators were able to keep it a custom story and didn't have to turn into a full mod. Amazing.

I want to thank the creator of this story. I have never enjoyed a custom story as much as this one. I will definitely be replaying this one.

Community Rating

Average

9

83 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.