In Amnesia: A Coward's Debt, you take the role of Jean, who searches his home for answers. Unlike my previous custom story, The Great Work, which contains in excess of thirty maps, this story contains only three detailed maps, but is full of character drama to make up for it! I will be using assets from The Dark Descent, Justine, and Machine for Pigs, and there will be another brand new custom enemy. Justine and Machine for Pigs will not be required in order to play this Custom Story.

Review RSS Feed ShiningBlader says
10 ShiningBlader

Apr 16th, 2014 4 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

This one made me pant like a little b****

it was nearly perfect

--> It takes place in a mansion which is the kind of setting I like the most (dungeons are overused IMO)

--> The matches can light candles and torches but only for a while. After that, you're in the dark again. I liked that as it leaves you feeling both easy and uneasy (the light gives you more visibility and makes the maps more cosy but for a limited period)

I also liked the matches idea in general. never done before (at least that I know of)

--> The sound effects: I reached the point where I would just run to the nearest closet whenever I heard something. Like I said, panting like a little b****

--> The monster: This story had a very nice warm-up. You don't see the enemy the first 2 times (it might be possible at first but I didn't really understand what it was because it was dark) and the first time the monster appears right beside you I nearly had a heart attack (figuratively of course). It is... swift and unlike anything that I was expecting.

--> The monster spawning sounds: Hearing a guy screaming the moment the enemy appears was, like, GENIUS! I'm going to do that as well in my future CS. I don't know, it really added lots of tension that regular monsters and they grows just don't give anymore. Hearing a woman cry (at least I think it was a woman) in the middle of a dark hallway (because candles don't stay lighted forever!) made me panic and run for my life, because I thought the monster was coming. again, genius!

Honourable mentions:

--> When I discovered that lights don't stay lighted forever and ran to light everything again

--> When I was in the first floor and the music room where you're ambushed for the first time is in complete darkness. I kinda broke here and start laughing

--> The moment the elevator went down instead of up. Awesome "I'm so f***ed!" moment right there. You should see my face xD

Congratulations to the maker! Hope to see more of you

SwedishGames says
10 SwedishGames

Apr 15th, 2014 3 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

SPOILERS BELOW EVERYONE!!!!

Right, played through it again. Yet again, this was just astonishing. Found some new stuff this time though compared to the beta version. Some more flashbacks which then made the story even more understandable. For me, there's basically nothing bad about this custom story, except for one thing.

Pros:

- Great atmosphere
- Scary as f
- Custom content
- Custom monster (freaked the hell out of me)
- Original story

Cons:

- I actually had some problems with the Weeper. Alot actually. For example with the cutscene where Guillaime (probably mispelled) visits
your house and the weeper starts chasing you. I jumped up on the table and eventually the weeper lost interest in me, completely. I threw chairs at him and did everything trying to get his attention, since I was supposed to die after all. It happend the same in that cellar with the Master Bedroom Key. Stood up on a box and the weeper began chasing me again. This time he was chasing me, all the time but instead I think I managed to bug him again, where he now just wanted to attack a box all the time. It didn't matter if I ran away, he would still attack the box.

Summary:

But notify that the weeper problem is acceptable since it technically is the players fault. This was without a doubt one of the most scariest custom stories you can find out there today. You said you wanted to make the most terrifying custom story ever. I can tell you right now, you have succeeded.

10/10 A must play

gustl2 says
10 gustl2

Apr 19th, 2014 2 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Another outstanding mod by Damascus :D

Once again you have outdone yourself. This mod is brilliant in so many ways: the settings, the atmosphere, the story. I really like the fact that there was no dungeon in this mod (heavily overused), just the mansion (my favorite thing). 10/10

Another thing I really liked is rare monster encounters.
Some people will say that there were too little monster encounters, but I say it was enough. Too frequent and this mod wouldn't have been as good as it is. Besides, rare monster encounters gives you a false feeling of security. That way the shock is much greater when you do encounter a monster. Good job there. 10/10

The objects and textures imported from AMFP were a nice touch, as was the match box (something new and fun). The only thing I'd like to say here is: make those objects more interactive (turning the lamp on/off,...). 9/10

The monster was scary. Music helped a lot too to contribute to scariness. The encounters were rare but really nasty and scary. Great work. 10/10

Voice acting was good. Overseer's voice also guided you and offered helpful hints. I liked that. 10/10

Music created that nice atmosphere and warned you when there was danger. 10/10

The story had a nice pace. I usually try to put myself in the role of the character I play. That means that I become physically and mentally that person. That way I can ask myself what were the motives for my actions, why are these things happening to me,... I felt really bad for not helping my wife and cheating my good friend. The thought of eternity scares me but I felt that the punishment I received was just. You know, you really have a talent for writing/creating stories. They really pull the player/reader in and keep them focused and entertained. Pure quality mate. 10/10

Others have covered the bugs, so I won't mention them.


Overall: 10/10.

Thank you for creating this wonderful mod. I hope you continue making brilliant mods like this.


Kind regards,

Aljaz

☣Kaernk☣ says
9 ☣Kaernk☣

Apr 17th, 2014 5 people agree 3 people don't

Positives:

- Scary
- Great level design
- Good scripting
- Intresting story

Negatives:

- I was expecting more "regular" monster encounters
- Annoying bug (read conclusion)
- Framedrop at the elevator
- Very short when you know what to do

Conclusion:

You wanted it to be very scary and you suceeded. I was expecting more regular monster encounters though. The only few times the monster spawned, all he did was pretty much just walking by or killed me instantly.

I managed to glitch through the map by jumping on a table with a lot of bottles on it near a bar. When I died, I respawned under the map and kept dying. I had to start all over again.

When I went into the elevator for the first time, something nearby broke for what ever reason and it was laggy as hell for around 10 seconds.

-----------

It was a really great mod in whole though. Highly recommended.

9/10 - Awesome

dquilon says
10 dquilon

Apr 22nd, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is without a doubt one of the best CS out there...

I love the integration of AMFP and TDD, and that it ran smoothly on my weak notebook.

The monster is an original mix of No-Face and other creatures... very creepy and scary...

I would love to see a second new story, with the same rules... the same punishment

MODLOVER43 says
10 MODLOVER43

Jul 26th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

It seems fitting that after the creation of one masterpiece the second mod is just as good. Though i would still say i prefer the great work that does not mean that this is bad.

This is one of the scariest mods ive played and the second half of the story was probably some of the best pure content in amnesia. The atmosphere and completely gripping and intense story did a great job keeping me hooked until the end.

There are a few small negatives however:
- several bugs throughout the course of the mod
- first 20 minutes or so were kind of boring and that is significant since it was fairly short
- short

I really wish this was a bit longer because it was amazing after the first monster encounter i was glued to my chair the rest of the way(also probably the scariest monster in amnesia) and the great voice acting and use of tension helped make this a great experience

this developer is obviously very talented as he has single handedly created 2 of the best amnesia mods on his own and i really hope he will make a third

Humeba says
8 Humeba

Jul 11th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Pretty scary, could have had more clues as to what to do. Love the story!

GruntPLay says
10 GruntPLay

Jun 26th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

The best custom story for amnesia I've ever played. I wish to play more stories like this. I'm also glad that you used AMFP patch in your story. I want more ! :DD

kenzi2145 says
10 kenzi2145

Jun 18th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Beautiful level design- elements from both Amnesia games included and integrated beautifully. Monster is awesomely horrifying. Beautiful sound track, great voice acting. A couple very minor bugs but all in all fantastic.

RodeonGames says
10 RodeonGames

Jun 16th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

WOW!

Community Rating

Average

9.1

72 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.